or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Strand Hotel

92 Strand Road, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

The Strand Hotel Yangon - Lobby The Strand Hotel Yangon - Lobby The Strand Hotel Yangon - Interior The Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite Room The Strand Hotel Yangon - Bathroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Bar The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Grill The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Grill
The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Cafe The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Hall The Strand Hotel Yangon - Ballroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - Ballroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - Shops The Strand Hotel Yangon - Discover The Strands famous Afternoon Tea as part of your Tailor-Made holiday in Myanmar. The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and Beverages The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and Beverages
Area: Downtown Yangon Number of Rooms: 31
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.7

based on
178 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.3
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (178)
Sort by:
Jean B. Business travelers France, March 29, 2015
As expected

The hotel,the staff & old colonial charm
9.7
Marisa D. Couples Canada, March 28, 2015
An Oasis

Atmosphere, butler service, unlimited tea,
9.3
Robyn L. Couples Australia, March 22, 2015
Gracious Old World Charm and Comfort

Wonderful room, colonial ambience, friendly staff
10
A great experience. Love the heritage building. Good location. Delighted to be upgraded to a fabulous suite free of charge.
Rowena E. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 19, 2015
Yangon - The Strand

sympathetically restored
5.7
Honestly, its like staying in a morgue. The main restaurant was empty which is understandable since the food is grossly overpriced for what it is. The bar has all the atmosphere of an airport lounge. Staff were polite but kept trying to put me down as 2 persons despite I was clearly checked in and reserved as one person. The lack of any form of courtyard or pool area to relax outdoors with a wine or tea is a big problem and frankly would be why I would not recommend this hotel.
Donald D. Solo travelers Australia, March 15, 2015
MORE THAN GOOD BUT NOT A GREAT HOTEL

LOCATION, HISTORY, SPACE
9.3
This was a tick on the bucket list. I have stayed at all the other Sarkies Brothers hotels - Peninsular, E&O, Raffles, Oriental, and now the Strand. I was not disappointed with the ambiance, the history or the rooms....mine was so huge I got lost. Wonderful service, staff were great, all the makings of a grand hotel in the old style. EXCEPT....the elevator was not working the two days I was there and although I could manage it, older people would have found it very difficult to climb the stairs to their rooms. But a nice bottle of quality French wine soothed my ruffled feathers!!!!
Rebecca R. Families with older children United States of America, January 1, 2015
Family feedback

history, room size, staff
8.3
Lovely.
Swee N. Couples Malaysia, December 16, 2014
The Strand Revisited

The high ceiling and spacious room, friendly staff, the beautiful historical layout and wood panelling
9.7
Visited in 1983 when it was not restored. It was lovely to see how they have restored The Strand back to its glory and in such pristine condition.
Elizabeth E. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 18, 2014
Yangon in Style

I love the colonial grandeur, something of days gone by, with a sense of the history of that period in Yangon. Very comfortable. A good place to relax.
9.7
I stayed only one night but wished I had longer (partly because there was more that I wanted to see in Yangon). This hotel is expensive but it is value for money. The room was very spacious, beautifully decorated with antique furniture. It gives a real sense of the colonial history of the place. Great spa - I had an Asian Foot Massage (better than I have had in Singapore). Good Myanmar food both for dinner and breakfast. Close to the Chinese area and also the wharf where a lot of the produce comes in, so still close to the action and places of interest. I was there on the second full moon night and Chinatown was full of good street food and monk led mediation. Its a good time to be in Yangon.
Wirote R. Business travelers Thailand, October 16, 2014
good hotel but nothing any around there

food are very nices
6.7
good services except the location are nothing
Kristian N. Families with young children Denmark, October 6, 2014
Nice but not and experience i was expecting

staff
5.7
For the money we paid i expected and extraordinar experience and it was not... The rooms are nice but not well maintained - e.g chair a the desk had been broken and was not properly fixed ... the hair dryer did not work... The bar was freezing cold ..... It was an experience becuase of the history of the place but i would not go back...

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel Main PhotoThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - InteriorThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite RoomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BathroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand BarThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand CafeThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand HallThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BallroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BallroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - ShopsThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Discover The Strands famous Afternoon Tea as part of your Tailor-Made holiday in Myanmar.The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite BathroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Executive SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Sitting AreaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Sitting AreaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa


AS-AGWEB-3C06