or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Strand Hotel

92 Strand Road, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

The Strand Hotel Yangon - Lobby The Strand Hotel Yangon - Lobby The Strand Hotel Yangon - Interior The Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite Room The Strand Hotel Yangon - Bathroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Bar The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Grill The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Grill
The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Cafe The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Hall The Strand Hotel Yangon - Ballroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - Ballroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - Shops The Strand Hotel Yangon - Discover The Strands famous Afternoon Tea as part of your Tailor-Made holiday in Myanmar. The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and Beverages The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and Beverages
Area: Downtown Yangon Number of Rooms: 31
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.7

based on
144 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.3
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (144)
Sort by:
Febrina S. Couples United Kingdom, July 15, 2014
Nice colonial hotel

Deco, staffs, breakfast
6.7
Very nice
Suchada M. Business travelers Thailand, July 14, 2014
perfect!!!

clean, good mind service staff, excellent
9.7
i'm very happy to stay at The strand hotel. All staffs are good service mind. Recommend!!!
Viktoriya K. Groups Italy, June 25, 2014
Fantastic!

Once you are in Yangon , you should stay at this colonial style hotel , for feeling the atmosphere of the country! It's worth it!
9.7
If you want to be in a calm place with a high quality service, big comfort rooms , The Strand is for you! Very Attentive personal!!! Thanks to Lily who was so professional and helped me with problems with visa before my arrival! If not her help , I wouldn't come over!!!
Tamilia C. Couples United States of America, June 11, 2014
Old world charm

Very roomy, good staff and butler service
9.3
Excellent time.
Lambertus Z. Couples New Zealand, June 1, 2014
Truly one of the Grande Dames of Asian Hotels

1) Colonial charm/ambience 2) Excellent staff 3) Great food
9.3
Wonderful! Did not want to leave!
Lyn C. Business travelers United States of America, May 11, 2014
Quality and historic hotel

Attentive and helpful staff, relaxed colonial ambiance, good restaurants and bar
9
The Strand is an outstanding hotel with nice large rooms, good high speed WiFi and a highly efficient, attentive and very responsive staff. The atmosphere is excellent and it exudes history. The restaurants are very nice and the food delicious. The bar is well stocked, professionally staffed and a popular gathering place, especially on Fridays. This was my second stay at the Strand and I will definitely return. I highly recommend the Strand to both business travelers and tourists interested in staying in a bit of history.
Lars B. Families with older children Sweden, May 3, 2014
A colonial gem well worth a stay

The historic building, the staff, the location
9
This is a great hotel if you like old colonial hotels and a high level of personal service. My family and I stayed here for four nights in early May, 2014, during a tourist visit to Yangon. Our stay was great from start to finish. We booked airport pickup from the hotel and it worked fine and check in was quick and easy. The hotel has only a handful of rooms and each floor is looked after by a butler. The staff are curteous and friendly and quick to respond. The rooms are huge. Breakfast is served at the table and, naturally, there are fewer choices than from a buffet. However, the food was delicious and being waited on at the table is more civilized than a buffet. The hotel bar is great with good drinks and friendly staff; lots of expats on Fridays. This is a great hotel but don't choose it if you're looking for value for money or modern facilities (the building is 100+ years and plumbing, and so forth are not entirely up to date) or a swimmingpool (there is none). Do choose it if you want a piece of history and old-fashioned, excellent personal service.
Janet B. Couples United Kingdom, April 7, 2014
Wonderful historic hotel

size of rooms, butler service, restaurant
9
Raymond L. Couples United Kingdom, April 2, 2014
great experience

service,history,the property
10
wonderful
Donall B. Couples United States of America, March 6, 2014
a historic gem that's earned back 5-star status

1) historic charm, 2) attentive service, 3) super-central yangon location
9.3
a stunningly restored taste of colonial rangoon, the strand offers old world charm *and* world-class service. we had read complaints that the operation did not live up to the potential and history of the property, that rooms were tired, that staff were so-so, etc. we found none of this to be true: the strand is surely on the list of the top historic luxury hotels in the world. our room was nearly the size of our new york city apartment, with high ceilings, dark-wood floors and a huge bathroom that retains some historic fixtures but has clearly been recently renovated. contrary to what we read in lonely planet, there were both a flat-screen television and fast internet access in the room. we were staying on the third floor on the west side of the building, which meant the room was flooded with light in the late afternoon/early evening, as the sun descended. we spent lovely interludes in the room during this time, a wonderful respite from the wonderful chaos of central yangon just outside. another tip: we adored the traditional myanmar dishes during the generous breakfast service, the only time during our trip such dishes were on the menu. others here have complained about the strand's location, that it's in the hurly-burly of city and directly adjacent to traffic and crowds. that's the biggest reason we loved it here! there are leafy districts of yangon and luxury hotels aplenty there, but none where you can walk out of historic opulence and into the busy, teeming, wonderfully alive streets of this fantastic city. and yes, the hotel is expensive, but so are most other hotels in the country (for now, with such a limited supply of them). we felt we got more than our money's worth for the premium we paid here (as opposed to 2- or 3-star hotels charging 4- or 5-star prices in bagan, for example). we could not have enjoyed our two-night stay at the strand more! i look forward to seeing it appear on more world's-best lists as visitors continue to flock to myanmar.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel Main PhotoThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - InteriorThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite RoomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BathroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand BarThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand CafeThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand HallThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BallroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BallroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - ShopsThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Discover The Strands famous Afternoon Tea as part of your Tailor-Made holiday in Myanmar.The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and Beverages


AS-AGWEB-3B05