Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Sultan Hotel

Jl. Jend.Gatot Subroto Po Box 3315, Senayan, Jakarta, Indonesia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.3

based on
1561 reviews

1083 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (1561)
Sort by:
Adelyn L. Business travelers Vietnam, January 31, 2013
not up to standard

good location
5.7
- Sultan hotel was belonged to Hitton hotel, however, now it's not really up to standard of 5 stars hotel - Service is slow, and lousy, even staff are quite friendly (mostly Indonesian are very friendly and helpful) - It's not my first time staying here, but I have the same comments over the time on poor service and poor facility - There is no iron in the room, there are only 5 irons over thousands of room here. Hence when I request iron to the room it takes very long time. And early in the next morning (before 7), housekeeping already keeps ringing the room to ask for iron back, regardless, you are sleeping or in the toilet, they still open your room - Phone line is out of order totally during my stay. For any small request, and even order food room services, I needed to bring the menu downstairs and ask receptionist. - There are always mosquitoes in the hotel, especially in the restaurants and in the lobby.
Report this review
Sanghoon L. Business travelers South Korea, January 31, 2013
Solid hotel in a central location

Decent value with friendly staff
7.7
the sultan is a solid hotel with a very solid location, especially if you have business on the southern side of jakarta. the hotel is nicely kept and maintained, but you can feel the need for a full renovation is coming up to update its old image.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Very close to all the Senayan points of interest and souther Jakarta.
Report this review
Nicholas S. Business travelers Australia, January 30, 2013
the phone system was down but the room was nice

room was good
7
executive floor was nice and cosy, good for a small group of business people travellign together
Travel tip: NA
Report this review
Lee K. Business travelers Malaysia, January 30, 2013
Large rooms

Strategic location
7
Quite well-maintained, but something wrong with the phone system. Guests are asked to use mobile phone to contact the hotel main line to get services or for any inquiries. Buffet breakfast really disappointing !
Report this review
Joel H. Business travelers United States of America, January 29, 2013
Great Jakarta hotel

Spa, fitness center and Executive lounge
7.3
I was quite pleased with my stay, however, there was a fire in the hotel recently and the service was not as it usually is.
Travel tip: At the Sultan Hotel, you absolutely need to schedule a facial, neck and shoulder appointment.
Report this review
Simon B. Business travelers United Kingdom, January 18, 2013
Grand grounds lobby and entrance - but aged

big rooms, quiet, nice swimming pool, good gym facilities
7
The rooms are nice and big and everything was clean. The place has a very old fashioned feel in general and some features are dated. The facilities are good as was the food and service is very good as you would expect. The need to get more taxi's coming to the lobby.
Report this review
Robert C. Business travelers United States of America, January 18, 2013
Read this review carefully before booking!

Near the Highway
3
The best wat to describe this hotel is to say that it looks like a homeless person wearing a fur coat and a Gucci bag. The experience from the moment I walked through the door when the staff completely ignored me and my bags to the long and disoriented check in procedure due to untrained staff was the worste experience of any hotel I have ever stayed anywhere in the world! I live in hotels 10 months out of the year so I think I am qualified to say this. The first room that was asigned to me had dirt stains all over the peeling wallpaper and disgusting mold in all the tile joints in the bathroom. The bed was literally a block of cheap foam. Not even a real mattress. When I called to complain the assistant manager came to the room to move me. I tried to show him the problems in the room but he was completely uninterested in listening to me. He told me I was in the older wing and then moved me to a newer renovated wing. It was absolutely the same room with the same peeling wallpaper and the same cheap mattress. He told me that was the best he could do. He came back 20 minutes later and moved me to a larger suite room. At least this room had a real Mattress on the bed. The rest of the room was still falling apart and the bathrrom was full of discusting mold. It was a good thing that I moved to the other wing because the next night there was an electrical fire in that wing that was bad enough to close it down including the restaurant that served the breakfast. They made a half hearted attempt to serve a breakfast in a make shift meeting room but that was below standard also. For the price of this hotel there are much better choices in Jakarta.
Report this review
Kam W. Business travelers Malaysia, January 18, 2013
Totally Disappointed

Central location
5
The first night was quite ok. But the second night was miserable. The old and aging hotel caught fire at 1am. The staff went to each floor to alert guests. All they said is emergency and didn't escort and ensure each guest to gather at lobby. At lobby, hotel staff never update guests about the situation. Never make sure each guest is accountable for. Very poor crisis management. The only consolation is they give towel and water. Until 6-7 am guests still not able to go back to their room. The hotel not taking any initiative to compensate the guests. Guest who ask for it then they offer free taxi ride. But they never tell the guests it is capped at 3USD. I will never go back to this hotel nor recommend to anyone. What a nightmare to be there, first time in life.
Report this review
Jos V. Couples Netherlands, January 17, 2013
Central location

Easy access from the tol road
6.3
We have been staying here already several times, rooms are spacious and after a busy day we can have a good rest. Plenty of choice at several restaurants or you can even order room service if you are to tired to get down. Nice breakfast with plenty of choice for everybody's mouth. Although the hotel and rooms are a bit dated i will certainly come back on my next trip to Jakarta.
Report this review
Mohd Z. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 16, 2013
old hotel

huge hotel
4.7
its an old hotel with old matress, unappealing bathroom and low quality towels. i compare this hotel against Mulia Hotel that I have stayed the previous week . rate at Mulia is the same but I have crispy duvet and good matress bed. wont stay at Sultan ever again
Hotel Feature Tip: please dont get mislead by the photos you see in the internet. most of the time you will get nothing similar to the photo
Report this review
Previous page 491 - 500 of 1083 reviews Next page
The Sultan Hotel Jakarta - ExteriorThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Deluxe RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Grand Deluxe RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - BathroomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Executive RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Junior SuitesThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Lagoon CafeThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Swimming poolThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - BallroomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - BallroomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Deluxe Room The Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Grand Deluxe RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Grand Deluxe bathroomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Executive Floor RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Lagoon CafeThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Asean RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Royal Suite JacuzziThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Penthouse RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Penthouse Living roomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Penthouse BathroomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Royal Suite RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Executive Meeting RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Royal Suite Living RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Nippon KanThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Outdoor Swimming PoolThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - BallroomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Junior SuiteThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Grand Deluxe RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Deluxe RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Junior Suite RoomThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - ReceptionThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Lagoon LobbyThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Lagoon LoungeThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - ExteriorThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - ExteriorThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - InformationThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - ExteriorThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Mini MartThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Mini MartThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Deluxe The Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Grand DeluxeThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Executive FloorThe Sultan Hotel Jakarta - Junior Suite


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07