or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Sungu Resort & Spa

Jl. Raya Penestanan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Waka Namya Resort & Spa
The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - The Sungu Restaurant The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - The Kid activities The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Deluxe Villa or Garden Villa Balcony The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - New Main Swimming pool The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Superior Sungu The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Deluxe Sungu The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Duplex Sungu The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Day Bed down stair (Duplex Sungu) The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Deluxe Sungu The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Superior Sungu The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Main Entrance The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Lobby Lounge The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Ganesh & Water The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Traditional Painting lesson The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Interior The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Pool Villa Bedroom
The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Pool Villa Bathroom The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Bathroom Pool Villa Sungu The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Duplex Villa Sungu The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Day Bed Duplex Villa Sungu The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and Activities The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Exterior The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and Activities The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Lobby The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Lobby The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Lobby The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and Activities The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and Activities
Area: Ubud Number of Rooms: 15
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
185 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (185)
Sort by:
Andrew D. Couples Australia, August 19, 2014
Exceptional service

staff, service, attention to detail
8.7
Beautifully Balinese designed resort in a very convenient location out of the main hustle and bustle. A ten minute walk into town or the staff will drop you down and pick you up anytime you want. The service was truly exceptional with a genuine desire to be helpful and make your stay perfect. The spa and pool were beautiful and we enjoyed the complimentary inclusions including a 30 min massage (which was a very good one), guided rice paddy trekking (just behind the resort) before breakfast (which was also a well cooked choice of numerous menus)and afternoon tea with some really interesting, beautifully presented Balinese cakes. We had booked the superior Sungu which was a large room but ours was close to reception and a little noisy with some road as well as reception noise. It was not such a problem that we would have said anything but when the staff asked at breakfast on the first morning how our room was, we mentioned the noise (very casually) and without any prompt, they switched us to an upgraded pool-side Villa free of charge. Unexpected and not even asked for but very much appreciated. The two storey villa was far superior to the other room and probably well worth booking if you are able to, the additional cost would be worth it. We had a lovely stay and if you really want to feel looked after in a small, exclusive feeling place with easy access to everything without being in the middle of it, this is the one!
Michael M. Couples United States of America, July 18, 2014
The pictures are realistic. The gardens were well.

The outdoor bathroom, English speaking staff, breakfast
5.3
It was a bit tough hearing the 2 family and kids screaming at the pool at 8 am. The internet the entire we were there
Henry O. Families with young children Indonesia, June 25, 2014
Staffs attention was very good

Nice design hotel. Good swimming pool. Padi field tracking offers good experience
7.7
Very pleasant and relaxing. Staff was very attentive.
Robertaccio B. Families with young children United States of America, June 24, 2014
The Sungu was beautiful.

Room design, friendly staff, nice location
9.7
The Sungu Resort and Spa was perfect for our family. The villa where we stayed had a beautiful upstairs room and downstairs room that accommodated myself, my wife, my 15 month old, and my mother perfectly. The villa compound is nicely designed. The villa is within walking distance to town (if you like to walk) but there is a shuttle that takes you back and forth to town that is easily arranged with the villa staff.
Angela K. Couples United States of America, June 22, 2014
Beautiful setting

I love the pool - they use salt instead of chlorine and it feels so much better on the skin!
8.7
Oliver N. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 17, 2014
Excellent get-away

The staff got the balance between been attentive and un-intrusive just right.
9
Amy S. Solo travelers United States of America, May 30, 2014
Absolutely amazing! Especially staff.

Private pool Staff Breakfast
8.7
I would highly recommend this hotel. It's quiet, beautiful and very Balinese. It's a bit away from the city center but they offer a shuttle into town that was extraordinarily convenient. The staff really put the hotel over the top on my satisfaction. Great advice and help answering questions about local culture. My only caution... don't run around the private pool while wet. The tiles are slippery... but I'm also clumsy, so, probably my fault anyway.
Paul B. Groups United Kingdom, May 14, 2014
Relaxing stay, close to Ubud, ace staff

big rooms, helpful staff. peaceful surroundings
8
Our impression of the staff was very positive from check-in to check-out. Always on hand to drive us the short distance into the town, to offer advice on where to go and what to see, where to eat etc. On our late evening arrival, they managed to deliver a very good light meal to our room, despite the fact that the kitchen had already closed. So - full marks there. Take your choice of breakfast from the menu, which can be western, continental or local. All are accompanied by fruit juices and fresh fruit. Any special requests are willingly provided where possible. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings (we were sampling the many places in Ubud), but we heard from others that the food was good. The hotel itself is a series of units arranged around two swimming pools, in well tended gardens. The whole place was neat and tidy, with lots of local artwork scattered round the public areas. Rooms were kept clean and tidy, and any needs were quickly provided. Ubud is a 5 minute drive away, and the hotel provides a free service on request. Ask at reception, or phone from Ubud and the car is usually available within minutes. There are also plenty of private taxis near the hotel and in town at very reasonable prices to get you there and back. Top tip: get one of the local taxi drivers to take you to the Danau Batur (volcano & lake) or to Danau Beratan and the waterfalls for a good day out. You will see rice paddies, temples and Bali life that you won't see near the beach resorts. Check your driver is licensed and that his car is in good condition, and can communicate with you (English is generally no problem). Expect to pay about 40-50 USD per whole day. Enjoy.
Chi V. Couples Vietnam, May 3, 2014
We had a really good time at Sungu hotel.

Super attentive staff. Rooms we're clean and gave an authentic Ubud experience. Shuttle service
9
Carly C. Couples United Kingdom, May 3, 2014
Pleasant and quite good value hotel

The room and the pool
8
We enjoyed our stay at The Sungu Resort, the room was very nice and the staff were friendly. The only bad points were the lunch and dinner menu was very limited (although the breakfast was quite good) and the shuttle bus service was sometimes a bit slow later in the evening. I would recommend using it to get to Ubud before 6.30pm otherwise there was often a bit of a wait for it.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Spa Building (outdoor)The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - The Sungu RestaurantThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - The Kid activitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Deluxe Villa or Garden Villa BalconyThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - New Main Swimming poolThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Superior SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Deluxe SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Duplex SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Day Bed down stair (Duplex Sungu)The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Deluxe SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Superior SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Main EntranceThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Lobby LoungeThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Ganesh & WaterThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Traditional Painting lessonThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - InteriorThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Pool Villa BedroomThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Pool Villa BathroomThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Bathroom Pool Villa SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Duplex Villa SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Day Bed Duplex Villa SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - ExteriorThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - LobbyThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - LobbyThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - LobbyThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SurroundingsThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Executive LoungeThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Day RestaurantThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Evening RestaurantThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - GardenThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SurroundingsThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SurroundingsThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SurroundingsThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - ExteriorThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Swimming Pool


AS-AGWEB-3A04