Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Sungu Resort & Spa

Jl. Raya Penestanan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

8.0

based on
214 reviews

123 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (214)
Sort by:
Sue W. Couples Malaysia, November 22, 2015
Absolutely beautiful

The room, decor, attention to detail were great. Classy, clean and comfortable.
9.3
Report this review
Jenni L. Couples Australia, September 30, 2015
We're not 'a-go-da' here again!

Free shuttle (despite disorganisation!), free rice fields trek, private pool.
5
We felt quite disappointed by the high cost and standards that didn't match. The hotel was quite rundown including the supplies (linen etc). The double bed was actually two singles pushed together! Although the private pool was lovely there was no shade for the day bed. The bathroom was nice and modern. Breakfast was delivered and we ate it next to the pool which was lovely. Though attentive, the staff were disorganised and didn't communicate with each other as evidenced by shuttle drivers not knowing the location of several venues we'd pre booked transport to. Many of the TV stations weren't accessible. We would consider staying at the Sungu again only if the room price was more reasonable.
Report this review
Bryan L. Families with young children Malaysia, September 24, 2015
property require upgrading

staff are friendly, hotel design is nice and free shuttle
7
it's acceptable this property require upgrading as many timber joinery, sanitary wares & fittings looks old, some metal elements rusted.
Report this review
Nattakorn T. Couples Thailand, September 19, 2015
Bedroom is ok but bathroom is dirty.

Hotel has a car to service to ubud city center which is good.
4
Bathroom really need to be improve. Bathroom is very old and dirty. We feel uncomfortable with this.
Report this review
Phillip W. Couples Australia, September 9, 2015
Quiet & Beautiful

Big Bed, Outdoor Bathroom, Staff & Free Shuttle on demand
9.3
Very Comfortable, no mosquito's at the time (September), close good restaurants & yoga. Caring Staff and the free shuttle to Ubud was very convenient as you could choose to go and be picked up when you wanted.
Report this review
Nathan R. Couples Australia, April 27, 2015
Noisy and expensive

The pool, free shuttle bus to town
4.3
Simply not worth the money. And it is not 4 star - it should be 2.5. On our first day we were awoken at 8am to lawn mowing outside our room, after a night of bad sleep due to voices from outside (not sure if staff or another guest). The breakfast was just ok... not great. Some of the staff were friendly but others were hopeless and just ignored us. The rooms were basic and did not have TVs or a sitting area... which i would expect for this type of hotel.
Report this review
Vasana T. Families with young children United States of America, April 6, 2015
Excellent start to our Bali Break!

Excellent Service , Privacy and proximity to down town Ubud
9.3
We arrived in Bali at 9PM and had no difficulty in finding our hotel arranged transport; It was past 10PM when we checked in but the front office staff handled the business smoothly and swiftly. We spent three days (2 nights) with our 6 and 4yr old kids in a duplex Villa which was amazing, very spacious with a large (king size i think) bed in the master bedroom and a queen size day bed on the ground level opening out to a private garden and alfresco dinning area. The villa was stand along and very private. Breakfast was served in our villa on request and the staff were very accomodating to go the extra mile to make our stay very relaxing. The free shuttle on demand can be arranged and the drivers are very accommodating to drop guests off anywhere within the Ubud down town area but if your up for a walk, the villa is about 15 minutes walk away from the Bali Palace and away from the hustle and bustle. We really enjoyed our stay in the hills and Sungu Resort delivered a great start to our Bali break!.
Report this review
Jongin C. Families with older children South Korea, February 21, 2015
Good experince

Kind staff
9.3
Staffs are really kind, great. Resort also very nice, can feel very Bali's feels. Also the food in resort is great..
Report this review
Andreas W. Couples Austria, February 19, 2015
Simply great!

The Sungu offers a marvellous breakfast and a complimentary tea or coffee in the afternoon. Their staff is most accommodating and very helpful. Free transport is also provided.
9
I had sprained my ankle and staff was most sympathetic and supportive. The Sungu is most tastefully decorated and provides a suitable retreat for the weary traveller. Highly recommended.
Report this review
Ferdolin F. Couples Malaysia, January 21, 2015
Nice little resort

Cosy, Nature and Peaceful
8.3
Overall stay was good, especially the room, spacious, cosy and peaceful and blend with nature. There was a cute little fatty frog sharing our open shower area. At night, there was a squeaking sound heard on the roof of our room possibly from a gecko, which was cool. Staff was friendly and hotel deco was uniquely traditional. Restaurant served decent food, but quite empty during our stay there and limited choices, especially breakfast.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 123 reviews Next page
The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Spa Building (outdoor)The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - The Sungu RestaurantThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - New Main Swimming poolThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Superior SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Deluxe SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Day Bed down stair (Duplex Sungu)The Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Deluxe SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Superior SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Main EntranceThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Lobby LoungeThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Ganesh & WaterThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Traditional Painting lessonThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Bathroom Pool Villa SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Duplex Villa SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Day Bed Duplex Villa SunguThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - LobbyThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - LobbyThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SurroundingsThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Sports and ActivitiesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Executive LoungeThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Evening RestaurantThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - GardenThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SurroundingsThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SurroundingsThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SurroundingsThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - ExteriorThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Pineapple Prown CocktailThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Green Sanka Fried RiceThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Beef SaladThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Food and BeveragesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Food and BeveragesThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - RestaurantThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - RestaurantThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - RestaurantThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Tenderloin SteakThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - SpaThe Sungu Resort & Spa Bali - Balcony/Terrace


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01