Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Surf Hotel

100 Hotel Road, Bentota, Bentota, Sri Lanka 80500 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Surf Hotel Bentota - Dining The Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior room The Surf Hotel Bentota - Dine by the Pool Side The Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior room The Surf Hotel Bentota - Restaurant The Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior room The Surf Hotel Bentota - Dining Room The Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior room The Surf Hotel Bentota - Lounge Area The Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior room The Surf Hotel Bentota - Lobby Relaxing Area The Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior room The Surf Hotel Bentota - Beach View The Surf Hotel Bentota - Deluxe room The Surf Hotel Bentota - Exterior View The Surf Hotel Bentota - Deluxe room
The Surf Hotel Bentota - Swimming Pool The Surf Hotel Bentota - Bathroom The Surf Hotel Bentota - Swimming Pool The Surf Hotel Bentota - Restaurant The Surf Hotel Bentota - Beach View from the Hotel The Surf Hotel Bentota - Restaurant The Surf Hotel Bentota - On The Beach The Surf Hotel Bentota - Restaurant The Surf Hotel Bentota - Hotel Exterior View The Surf Hotel Bentota - Restaurant The Surf Hotel Bentota - Restaurant The Surf Hotel Bentota - Restaurant
Area: Bentota Number of Rooms: 100
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

from 109 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (109)
Sort by:
Ahmed A. Couples Oman, August 15, 2015
Bad hotel

The Surf Hotel
5.3
Bad
Report this review
Pressia A. Business travelers Philippines, August 9, 2015
Good location, bad food

Location, room size, accessibility
4.3
Ok. More of a three star hotel. Service is unattentive, bathroom amenities incomplete, wifi is not working in the room. Food was a great disappointment - made for traveling masses on a low budget, not for customers who should come back.
Report this review
Sumaiya C. Couples United States of America, August 9, 2015
Assaulted by the F&B Manager over Water; Danger
2.3
I WAS PHYSICALLY ASSAULTED BY THE F&B MANAGER AT THIS HOTEL FOR CARRYING A BOTTLE OF WATER FROM BREAKFAST!! THIS IS A DANGEROUS HOTEL WITH SERIOUS EMPLOYEE ISSUES AND SHOULD BE BANNED FROM AGODA!! I received my money back for a 2-night stay at this hotel in August after I had to repeatedly complain to Agoda about checking out early b/c of a physical altercation with the F&B Manager on August 8/8. He grabbed my hand, which was carrying a bottle of water that he thought I had refilled in the restaraunt but did not. WATER!! My husband had to grab his shirt from touching me -- in front of Arab families no less -- and scream at him that he cannot touch ANY woman in this hotel that way! Then he threatened to call the police -- ON PAYING CUSTOMERS!! Needless to say, we screamed at the manager -- who assured us that this was unprecedented and that we would get our money back from the hotel for leaving early. Of course, he did not do so, and then denied any altercation at the hotel, or allowing us to view the security cameras. When Agoda asked him what happened, he denied everything. THIS IS THE WORST EXPERIENCE -- AND A PHYSICAL DANGEROUS ONE AT THAT -- I'VE EVER HAD AT A HOTEL, ESPECIALLY AS A FEMALE TRAVELLER IN SOUTH/EAST ASIA. I DON'T WANT EMPLOYEES MANHANDLING ME WHEN I AM PAYING PREMIUM PRICES TO BE AT THEIR HOTEL. In Sum, if you go to this hotel, you risk being physically assaulted by their employees as a result of the lax culture that the General Manager has extolled onto them. THIS HOTEL CREEPS ME OUT.
Report this review
Abdullah A. Families with young children Saudi Arabia, July 29, 2015
Beach for Each

beach, room size, swimming pool
9.7
Fantastic
Report this review
Urmila J. Couples United Kingdom, June 24, 2015
excellent location

clean, beautiful location and good food
8.7
Report this review
Abdullah A. Families with young children Saudi Arabia, June 8, 2015
Decent hotel and value for money

Pool and view
7.3
Decent hotel with large rooms, however, it's old and required re-innovation also a lot of intersects at the ground floor halls. About 20-30 min away from Colombo depends on traffic. Staff are friendly and helpful. Overall, we had enjoyed and kids like it.
Report this review
Anandh S. Couples India, April 15, 2015
Couple stay for 5 nights

Friendly and helpful staff. Awesome breakfast. great rooms and family atmosphere without all the crowds given the private beach for the hotel.
9.7
It was good in all aspects espl the friendly and eversmiling staff. For vegetarian non egg consuming Indians like us the mostly continental cuisine let to us having soup bread and fruits for dinner most days but this is due to the general tourist profile in Bentota. Otherwise worth the price although one could be better off booking a week before the trip to benefit from hotel discounts on the site.
Report this review
Brock H. Families with older children United States of America, December 17, 2014
Enjoyed out stay

Location (right on the beach), quality of dining was good, staff was helpful
8
Good stay at The Surf Hotel in Bentota. Location is right on the beach and the activity area (large green space) on the beach front was enjoyable for sporting activities. The pool attendants and outdoor activity coordinators were very good. The reception staff and a few in the restaurant (only the female attendants for some reason) could use some training and 'behavioural adjustment', but aside from that, a very enjoyable stay for our family of 5.
Report this review
Poornima K. Couples India, December 14, 2014
awesome location perfect view of the beach

rooms facing the beach
7.7
Report this review
Charanjit S. Couples India, November 25, 2014
Amazing Location. Value for money

Location. Efficient Staff. Value for Money
9.7
Very comfortable and enjoyable Stay. Location of the Hotel ans view from the room is amazing. Staff is very helpfùl and efficient. Ala carte menu needs a great deal of improvement as having buffet every day is not desirable
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Surf Hotel BentotaThe Surf Hotel Bentota - DiningThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior roomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Dine by the Pool SideThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior roomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior roomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Dining RoomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior roomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Lounge AreaThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior roomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Lobby Relaxing AreaThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Superior roomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Beach ViewThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Deluxe roomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Exterior ViewThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Deluxe roomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Swimming PoolThe Surf Hotel Bentota - BathroomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Swimming PoolThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Beach View from the HotelThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - On The BeachThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Hotel Exterior ViewThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - LobbyThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Swimming PoolThe Surf Hotel Bentota - LobbyThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - View From The BeachThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Food and BeveragesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - View from the Deluxe roomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Hotel at NightThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Guest RoomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - BeachThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - BeachThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Swimming PoolThe Surf Hotel Bentota - BeachThe Surf Hotel Bentota - SpaThe Surf Hotel Bentota - BathroomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Food and BeveragesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - SpaThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Food and BeveragesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - InteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - BeachThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Food and BeveragesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - BathroomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - BeachThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ViewThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Guest RoomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Food and BeveragesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Business CenterThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Food and BeveragesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ViewThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - InteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - BeachThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ViewThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - FacilitiesThe Surf Hotel Bentota - ExteriorThe Surf Hotel Bentota - RestaurantThe Surf Hotel Bentota - SpaThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Meeting RoomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Meeting RoomThe Surf Hotel Bentota - Entrance


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05