Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Sylvia Hotel

1154 Gilford Street, West End, Vancouver (BC), Canada (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: West End Number of Rooms: 120

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Very Good


based on
20 reviews

19 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (20)
Sort by:
Miles E. Couples United States of America, April 12, 2015

Location. Ambience. Friendly staff.
Room was less elegant than I would've expected.
Report this review
Alan H. Couples Canada, April 3, 2015
A classic retro hotel, in a magnificent location

Location, price, service,
The hotel is accessible by public transport from the airport (train/bus); no car or taxi necessary. It is right on the ocean, close to Stanley Park and within easy walking distance of restaurants and any other service a traveler could require. Bicycle rental establishments are sprinkled all over, and the cycle trails are well marked and often separated physically from traffic. For us, the stay was perfect.
Report this review
Clint H. Solo travelers United States of America, February 27, 2015
Poor customer service, bad attitudes

The location and the historic nature of the hotel are great. Convenient bar and restaurant located within. Easy to find.
The showers are poor quality- taking a long time to heat up and thereby wasting water. There was a mouse in my room. The hotel staff moved me to a new room but did nothing else to convince me they were concerned with my experience at their hotel. In general they handled the situation poorly: making promises they never kept. In general the from desk was rude and did not seem as if they wanted to help.
Report this review
Yiren Z. Families with young children China, July 12, 2014
The good location hotel

Location big good view
I can see the young man surfing in the sea,and can see the sun rise and sun set,it's so wonderful,
Report this review
Peter R. Couples Netherlands, June 30, 2014
1950's Hotel centrally located, value for money

Location, surprisingly quiet and value for money
Report this review
Glyn J. Couples Australia, June 10, 2014
Very nice hotel

Convenient location to Restaurants, parks and shopping
Very nice
Report this review
Shu L. Families with young children China, May 15, 2014
great place to stay, warm and clean!

Good location, beautiful building,good service.
Everything is awesome in here,nice place,lovely outdoor landscape!
Report this review
Jesse H. Couples Australia, March 2, 2014
The staff were great very helpful

The staff.
Report this review
Stevanie A. Solo travelers Indonesia, February 8, 2014
Friendly and clean hotel

the location, its staffs and cleaness
IT was a wonderful short stay in Sylvia. I can easily walk to the beach get lost and found myself back again where I start. I like taking pictures, so I sometimes I stared very early at 6AM - or even late at 8 in the evening. I just walked along the beach shore, enjoy it, take some pictures, grab my breakfast and ate it on a beach bench or just easily enjoying my coffee. I can of careless that sometimes I left my luggage open, I found none of my things missing. And they have nice smell on their bed sheet. The staffs are very friendly, helpful and funny. If I ever go back to Vancouver again, I would definitely come back to Sylvia hotel.
Report this review
Trien T. Families with older children Indonesia, January 5, 2014
feel like home

comfortable, nice staff, high speed free wifi..
THis is for the 2nd time for us to stay in this hotel, and definitely would come back again!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 19 reviews

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.