My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel

84-86 Morrison Hill Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Racecourse Day View The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Balcony/Terrace The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Racecourse Night View The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Coffee Shop/Cafe The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Racecourse View Room The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Mini Bar
Area: Wanchai Number of Rooms: 98
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.1

based on
928 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (928)
Sort by:
Hubert F. Solo travelers France, December 26, 2013
Nice hotel good value for money funny deco

Good location
6.3
Good just for sleeping is ok no restaurant but plenty good around walking distance to major Hong Kong shopping district. Staff not too much helpful.
Jian L. Families with older children Singapore, December 25, 2013
Inconvenient location BUT...

The hotel offers good and free wifi, fast check-in and check-out, and there is a bus top opposite the hotel which we can take a bus to ocean parks just a couple stops away.
6
Being our first time to this hotel, we took quite some time trying to find the way to the hotel, even with assistance of maps. its located about 20 mins walk from causeway bay mtr station, with some twists and turns along the way. The good thing is there are some unique shops along the way which we could familiarise ourselves with. The hotel offers reliable and free wifi and fast check-in and check-out. Room service is good (we put out the sign in the morning and its done by the time we came back in the evening) staff are helpful but not really friendly. the toilet which we stayed in are abit small for one person , though the double beds are ok. the air con is working nicely, but i suggest against putting any really important stuff in the safe provided as for my case its not really working properly, though we did receive assistance from a nice female staff there. every morning this female staff would greet us with a "good morning" in a friendly manner :) overall, despite the inconvenient location and not-so-friendly counter staff, its worth a try and its one of the very few hotels providing a room with 2 double beds at affordable prices (or maybe we are searching in a hurry and did not notice others)
Teo B. Groups Singapore, December 25, 2013
So far not too bad

Fast check in and out, quite accessible, nice room keeping staff
5.7
The room was not too bad. House keeping was fast and good. I like the bathroom concept, the toilet bowl is separated from the shower. Really great idea. Unfortunately, the bathroom water was quite unpredictable. Awhile it can be very hot, a while it can be very cold. My friends and i had to keep adjusting the water temperature constantly and can be quite frustrating at times. As for the staff at the counter, they were not really friendly to start off. There was one that was good but the rest were rather cold. Hope the staff would be friendlier and more cheerful.
Shey S. Couples Malaysia, December 25, 2013
Good location

Nice, cheap and value for money
8
Location is good and you are able to find the nice local restaurant which near by the hotel. You can visit the shopping mall which just near by.
Kit L. Couples Hong Kong, December 20, 2013
Reasonable hardware but questionable people

Location, Price, Easy Transport
6
For its convenient location, I'd say the Vela's price is quite reasonable. The room was not as big as shown in the pictures but was still reasonably comfortable. However, the hotel's target customers seem to be tourists from Mainland China. Hence the tackier decoration (overly elaborate and grandiose). Our neighbors were also an interesting bunch. We heard random shoutouts and people chatting loudly in Mandarin around 8.30am while we were still sleeping. In addition, the hotel interior smelled a mix of air freshener and cigarette (this is a non-smoking hotel). I wouldn't say it's a bad experience, but knowing there're better options out there within the price range, I would not pick the Vela again.
Michael W. Families with young children Singapore, December 19, 2013
Pretty average property but acceptable for price

Close to local street market, local restaurants and many local bus services
5.7
Overall an average stay. Would not really return frankly speaking.
Sow H. Families with young children Singapore, December 17, 2013
Good value for family of 4

Good value, shower was good but wifi at corner room was bad
6.3
Kheng W. Groups Singapore, December 16, 2013
beware the small bed and room

walking distance from mtr
3.7
booked a family room meant for 4 adults, i think it'll only fit 4 children comfortably. the 2 double beds were more like single beds. reception said that the size of a double bed measures 1.4x1.8 while a single bed measures 1.1x1.8; does the math add up? i don't think so! be very aware of this when booking.
Fook S. Families with young children Malaysia, December 14, 2013
Value for money & good location.

Clean room, good location & value for money.
7.7
Value for money for family with young child. Near to MTR and bus station is just in front of hotel, pretty convinence. Restaurant is just walking distance and shopping mall also within 3 minutes walking distance.
S S. Families with older children Singapore, December 14, 2013
nice weather, shopping and good fooddddd

cleaniness, easy to get buses, near to some shopping malls
6
most of the time out for shopping; happy about the cleaniness of the room

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong KongThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Racecourse Day ViewThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Balcony/TerraceThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Racecourse Night ViewThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Coffee Shop/CafeThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Racecourse View RoomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong - Mini Bar

Customer Reviews - The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A03