Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 518 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 518 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Lars J.
Norway
January 16, 2014
dissapointed
island, hotel garden
Verry dissapointed for a 5 star hotel. I got sick after eating some shrimps here and no one could help. The island is beautiful, but the hotel does not have 5 stars standard.. we had leakege in the toilette, noisy aircondition, ripped curtains, the jacuzi was never cleaned of leves.. the ristorants was average and pricy, almost no one dined here, evryone went to the local resto at mainland. The coffe was terribel, it tasted cheap robusta beans. It seems like this hotel have seen better days. I rate it 3,5 stars.

Marcel W.
Netherlands
January 15, 2014
Okay for families
Quiet island near phuket, okay room with private pool, good breakfast
Just okay. Nothing more and certainly not 5 stars.

Joana R.
Portugal
January 14, 2014
Great villa
The villa amd surrondings
We stayed in a 3 bedroom pool villa and it was more than we expected. The villa is well equipped, the pool is big enough. the rooms were quite spacious and the sofa was quite big. There were downsides: the internet connection was not good; there were some geckos inside the villa; some of the staff didn't speak a word of English. Overall, it was very good quality/price.

Cheryl S.
Switzerland
January 13, 2014
Relaxing, worry-free thanks to an excellent staff
Fantastic staff! (Esp. Concierge Ali, Bartender Hem and waiters Winston & Jaja). "Village" design that gives a great sense of space. Isolated location on an island, yet not far from town.
If not for the incredible Thai hospitality, this standard (but great!)resort could be located anywhere on the planet. Excellent spa staff and comfortable treatment rooms. International crowd,so be prepared to tolerate different behaviors (we encountered wife-beating and uninvited Russian karaoke). Spacious, airy and very clean suites with private jacuzzi. Food was best in the Italian restaurant. Breakfast was a mad rush so get there early. Walk one hour to other side of island for a decent beach...resort's beach is full of garbage and broken glass and the water is muddy - so disappointing. Great place if you want to do nothing but rest, play some tennis and be pampered in the spa.

JUI F.
Malaysia
January 07, 2014
There are still much room for improvements
Beautiful beach, pool and nice room
Not exactly pleasant. Firstly, on arrival night (Christmas), we ordered our 'dinner' for room service, the order was placed at 9pm and it was delivered only at 11.30pm (an amazing 2.5 hours) after 3 phone reminders. My baby (age 1.5 years) was starving so badly and by the time the food arrived, we were really tired and exhausted of waiting and starving - the hotel apologized and waived the bill. On the 2nd day, all the items in the minibar were removed (not sure what's the reason), and we felt like having a few beers but no items available. We called the reception, was told that it was too late to deliver (about 11pm +) and I had to walk about 5 mins from our room to the reception and "collect" ourselves for the beers; 3rd day, after a whole day of beach activities, when my wife and my baby were showering half way through (about 9ish at night), the water supply was cut-off for about half an hour, and that's the point where we told ourselves, that is it!

Scott E.
United States
January 06, 2014
Remote location thus quiet and peaceful surroundin
Swimming pool, privacy, and quietness
I chose to stay here for a couple of nights to just relax and that is exactly what this resort is good for. It's on an island away for the island of Phuket and there is not much available outside of the hotel which is what I expected. Swimming pool was decent with a beach that is not for swimming at all. Restaurants were decent and the staff were in most part pretty helpful and attentive. But when you first check in they do not give you any information about anything including the number to call the front desk so I was disappointed. All in all a quiet and clean hotel away from Phuket.

Stephanie F.
New Zealand
December 04, 2013
Absolutely fantastic
Private pool, gorgeous villa, fantastic staff
I really can't say enough about my stay here, absolutely loved it. We stayed in a gorgeous pool villa, 2 storey, 3 bedrooms all with king size beds and lovely designed rooms. Two fantastic restaurants, my favourite the lobster! Staff were great and so welcoming. We were upgraded from a garden view villa to a beach view villa with a private pool so were very lucky. I will definitely be sending my parents here for a anniversary gift. The Internet would go down often but you are on an island so what do you expect. Anyhow Internet should not be so important when you are at this timeless place! Thanks to Bernie, and the staff for our fantastic stay! We will be back!

Eznurein H.
Malaysia
November 07, 2013
Great hotel but poor staff service
Villa, swimming pool and great bar
The villa and hotel is very nice but we were very disappointed with the staff service and general upkeep of the villa. Often we had to wait a very long time for our food, and this is worse when there is a group on tour at the same time. Preference is given to them and our wait time increases. We did complain to the GM and he was kind to deduct the cost of the meal. Despite that, it left us with bad taste on the service. In addition, we kept having problems with the air condition in our villa. The response was very slow until again we had to address our concern directly to the GM. The root cause was low gas for the air condition. This indicates poor up keeping. Nevertheless, we did find the villa to be very nice and private. The swimming pool was a very decent size and my husband and I still manage to have a very good time. We were blessed with good weather, and the beach despite being small was private and decent.

Daniel E.
United States
November 06, 2013
damn near perfect
the location, the atmosphere, the price
We visited the resort as a couple just to get away for a few days. I don't think I've ever stumbled upon such a great place to "get-away" from it all than The Village on Coconut Island. It was truly perfect

Paramasivam C.
India
October 30, 2013
good
good