My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Village House

Lot 634, Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Santubong Village, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93750 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Village House Kuching - Village Double Room The Village House Kuching - Village Twin Room The Village House Kuching - The Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - The Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Courtyard Pool The Village House Kuching - Tropical Garden The Village House Kuching - Hotel Exterior The Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardens The Village House Kuching - View from Lallang Deck The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool
The Village House Kuching - Flying Frog Bar
Hotel Area: Damai / Santubong Number of Rooms: 14

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.5

based on
228 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (228)
Sort by:
Maxim D. Couples Belgium, November 25, 2012
Great stay at Village House

Friendly and relaxingly calm
8.3
Great atmosphere 100m from the beach, away from the world
Marissa P. Groups United States of America, November 16, 2012
Beautiful hotel, lovely, tranquil setting

Charming rooms and a fantastic pool
9
Our stay at the Village House was great, the rooms all have four poster beds, clean, spacious bathrooms and large windows that open over the garden/pool area. The pool is pristine surrounded by lovely landscaping and plenty of comfy lounge chairs and hammocks. Well-stocked bar and very friendly staff. My only complaint is that the food isn't great - it's not bad, just not great, I was hoping for something a bit more special - but really I can't recommend this place enough.
Restaurant Tip: Village House is a bit isolated, so unless you are planning on not leaving the pool or relying on organized day trips I highly recommend getting a car (driving in and around Kuching is very civilized). Having a car also allows you to head out to Buntal for some of the best Chinese seafood you can imagine.
Ben B. Couples United Kingdom, November 16, 2012
Breathtaking hotel where nothings too much trouble

Quiet area, close to the beach, small/intimate hotel, friendly staff
9.3
As soon as you arrive and walk through the dramatic wooden doors you're confronted with a rainforest setting which certainly has the wow factor. The beautiful pool and thoughtfully decorated lounge areas are overlooked by the rooms which although quite basic, you only have to open the windows and check the view to put a smile on your face. The staff go beyond helpfulness - for instance when our taxi didn't turn up after a day trip we contacted the hotel to book another and instead Josh had jumped in his own car and collected us - this is just one example of many. If you take a trip into Kuching you'll be glad you stayed out of town at the Village House - so worth it for a relaxing break and only £4 for a return shuttle. Definitely one of my favourite places. The only regret is not taking a suite as it's such good value for money anyway.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: When they say santobong mountain is tough to climb - believe them. I've run marathons and found this challenging so make sure you're fit and have plenty of water (and visit the waterfalls on the way back down to cool off). Wetlands tour is awesome for the evening/sunset tour. Amazingly friendly and knowledgeable guide. Try and take time to look around the island fishing village if you have time as it's a very different way of life.
Joshua S. Couples Malaysia, November 13, 2012
A romantic place to be at

Privacy
10
The hotel suits best for couples as they provide with decent service and total privacy for couples. The set up for meals are great too. Taste is absolutely perfect.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Sunrise and sunset view is just 3 minutes walk distance.
Milchond J. Families with young children Malaysia, November 12, 2012
Great hotel for relax

Only adult allow and children not allow
10
Great hotel for relaxing but children are not allowmat this hotel. suppose to stay 3d2n, but only managento stay 2d1n because i'm staying with my kids.
Yun Y. Families with older children United States of America, November 6, 2012
Very close to a beach

small family style hotel
7.7
with hide location, very good for small party.We had 2 couple join this trip, funny and easy.
Jennifer J. Couples United States of America, November 5, 2012
Peaceful Jungle Retreat

Location, vibe, amenities
7.3
We had a very nice stay at the Village House. The service from Kevin was excellent - he arranged a car for us to get there (a 45 minute drive), which was very smooth. Also, we forgot to get money from the ATM at the airport and he was kind enough to advance uus 300 ringitt from petty cash and put it on our bill so we had spending cash, which saved us a trip into town (which is pretty far). Kevin also arranged all our activities upon our asking (on short notice I might add), and had the local tour operators pick us up at the property. The location is in a tiny village, in the rainforest on the Santubong Peninsula. It is about 50 meters down the road from a beach that has nice sunsets (although is a bit dirty with trash and not really suitable for swimming). The pool at the property was gorgeous, and the rooms were nicely appointed. We stayed in one of the suites, which was large and had a clean and comfortable bed with mosquito netting, which was great. There were only two issues with our stay. The first is that the housekeeping was not that good. We ended up having an ant problem in our room (ants coming in and swarming the toilet which was distressing). Kevin came in and sprayed the ants upon our request, but we had to clean up the ants as best we could with a towel, and the next day housekeeping didn't do anything else to clean up ants; they just left them there on the walls and floor for the remainder of our stay. I don't think they cleaned the bathroom at all, and they never left us new towels. The second issue, which is not as big of a deal, was that the menu was somewhat limited and the food was good, but not great.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The rainforest trek was a highlight of our trip. We saw lots of monkeys and a rhinocerous hornbill. The trek is not 'easy to moderate' as our guidebook said, though. It was quite challenging at times (lots of tree roots, fallen trees, slippery climbs). The river cruise to see the irawaddy dolphins was pleasant, but expensive for what we go (300 ringitt for 2 people, for 4 hours)
Ko S. Couples Taiwan, November 4, 2012
Great Ambiance and service

comfortable bed, tranquil environment
9
We went to this hotel on taxi from Kuching city, it is so hidden that we took quite a while to find it. The ambiance is really great,it was quiet and peaceful,very suitable for relaxing. The staff is very helpful. Kevin, the resident manager, drove us to the seafood restaurant nearby which offers fresh seafood at a very low price. The room is well furnished with a very comfortable bed and a clean and spacious washroom (However,the drain in the shower room seemed to be a bit stuck). We spent very wonderful time in the hotel, and I will surely visit this place when I visit Santubong again.
Zahidin D. Couples Malaysia, October 14, 2012
nice hotel

calm n relaxing
6.7
had a good stay, good facilities but only problem was it wasn't with a halal restaurant but overall lovely place to stay and for privacy this is the place for you.
Zahidin D. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 14, 2012
calm place

the surrounding
6.7
nice hotel. had rules whn being in there. food non-halal. good fr timeout from busy city. private place location bit hard to locate at first. overall nice place.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Village House KuchingThe Village House Kuching - Village Double RoomThe Village House Kuching - Village Twin RoomThe Village House Kuching - The Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - The Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Courtyard PoolThe Village House Kuching - Tropical GardenThe Village House Kuching - Hotel ExteriorThe Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardensThe Village House Kuching - View from Lallang DeckThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - Flying Frog Bar


AS-AGWEB-3B05