Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 341 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 7.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 8.2

haolu Z. from China
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
amazingly beautiful hotel in quite surounding
the design of the hotel is justo incrediably beautiful and romantic, every thing you want as a secret tropical garden at very affordable price
the stay was plesant by relaxing by the beautiful pool, with all the tropical vegetanrian around, feel like a sweet dream. While the hotel is deep in the green and quite land, make sure you get a taxi from the hotel, which know where it is. But the experience is comparable of my 400 USD villa in Bali
Reviewed November 11, 2013

weilung L. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2013
recharge!
quiet, romantic and nice food!
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Joyce S. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Extremely quiet and peaceful
Staff, ambience
When we first arrived there was no water but the staff were quick to placate me and get me a roon which had water. This is an ideal place for the taveller who wishes to experience the local village life albeit in comfort. Because of its location, we could only dine in and as such had to pay a premium for food and drinks. I understood the need for the 'no food or drinks in the room" policy but i would have expected guests to have free tea or coffee options throughout our stay. Instead we had to pay for our tea/coffee with the exception of breakfast. This is unreasinable for a hotel of this magnitude. Even some back packer hostels provide this faciltity. No toothbrush/paste and no drinking water provided daily. These are the nice little incentives to make one's stay a lot more pleasant. They had a cozy reading room/TV room as there are no tv's in the rooms. The staff were thoughtful and the food was delicious. The hotel's asset is this extremely friendly staff Zin who went all out to make our stay pleasant. I will definitely stay here again but hope the management would consider free coffee/tea through the day. Note that movement from and to the hotel is limited as dependent on the shuttle service. Unless you are absolutely certain of wanting an extremely quiet holiday do not spend too many days here. The management were kind enough to allow my husband and I to spend our last night at their sister lodge in Kuching town itself despite us booking our stay for 3 days at the Village house. Siggahsana Lodge was at an extremely convenient location at the heart of the city and staff there were also amazing. Good job to the couple and family members who own/run the hotels. Personal touches are extremely nice.
Reviewed November 08, 2013

See T. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Fantastic hotel with great design
Quiet surroundings, superb pool and lovely room with local architecture
We had a wonderful stay in The Village House. We loved the 14m long pool and the pool lounge area designed with fantastic set of furniture. The room was cosy and the bed was so comfortable that you would have good night sleeps for sure. The food was very delicious and we would recommend this place for those looking for a quiet and relax time.
Reviewed November 07, 2013

See T. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Hidden gem in the midst of the forest
Quiet, relax and romantic surroundings
The Village House is a hidden gem near Mount Santubong. We were very happy that we discovered this lovely place. The view of the pool were stunning especially at night with the lights on. The room was very cosy and make you feel at ease and the bed was so comfortable. We had dinner on the first night and the food were delicious though it was a bit pricey. We would definitely come back again and would recommend this to our friends and family.
Reviewed November 07, 2013

Oliver B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2013
Definition of a hidden gem. Absolutely beautiful.
Decor, staff, food.
Arriving at the Village House was simple enough, with a bus from their sister hostel The Singahsanna Lodge (in Kuching central). Upon arrival we were welcomed into the beautiful place by complementary iced tea and cool moist towels, while the manager sat down with us by the pool to give us the introductory talk. We instantly felt welcome. There was only one other couple at the hotel which made it beautifully serene. The pool was so pretty, with the rooms on the second floor above communal living areas with hammocks, sunbed areas and tables. The bedroom was small but beautiful, with a 4 poster double bed with a DUVET (what a luxury in Malaysia!) and a nice bathroom. Food was fantastic, reasonably priced (expect around 30RM) for the very high quality. Breakfast (included) was incredible, we had full English breakfasts!! Beach right next to the hotel was HUGE, and absolutely stunning. It was one of those long, wide flat beaches, had beautiful skies above and palm trees along the edge. 10/10, would highly recommend to couples looking for a romantic getaway hotel.
Reviewed November 02, 2013

Joe E. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
A great village escape near Mount Santubong
Friendly staff, boutique feel, had the place to ourselves.
Good things: Great staff, isolated, great pool, relaxing, Bad things: Poor food - not fresh, overpriced, no local options for breakfast. Member of staff regularly swimming in pool, particularly annoying whilst we were eating dinner.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Siang T. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
terrible, horrible, sucks
no tv, no wifi, no-sign-post
this was the worst kuching trip experience i ever had. i had been to kuching for 5 times, but then this is the worst totally because of the village house. i wasted around half day to drive in damai round and round and round. why?? they make much of profit from the high room rate they set, yet they are stingy to put a signpost that can guide the guests to the hotel. we can't find a board with the hotel's name even in front of the hotel's room. and the hotel's environment is sucks, everywhere we can see the poop of lizards, birds and many other insects.it's not recommendable to take this hotel if you were to stay in damai. there is no tv, no wifi, no neccessary facilities in the room.. share outside!!you are advised to take damai beach resort or any other resorts but not the village house.
Reviewed October 02, 2013

Zalina A. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in September 2013
Too far and difficult to find area
Swimming pool
We were prepared to b that little bit out in the country and knew to book the cultural village and river cruise in order to keep us vaguely occupied. The pool is gorgeous; nice and cool all day long and the surroundings are well maintained.I found the food disappointing. Everyone speaks of great food - we found it to be average with a limited option. I think punching above its weight in terms of food and accommodation. I think renewed attention needs to be given to the food and also general overall management.
Reviewed October 02, 2013

LEROY L. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2013
nice and comfy
quiet, calm, natural
enjoying, quiet, nice service, hope can go again, recommend for everyone
Reviewed September 26, 2013