or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Village House

Lot 634, Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Santubong Village, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93750 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Courtyard Pool The Village House Kuching - Tropical Garden The Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardens The Village House Kuching - View from Lallang Deck The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool The Village House Kuching - Flying Frog Bar The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Guest Room The Village House Kuching - Guest Room The Village House Kuching - Guest Room
The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Interior The Village House Kuching - View The Village House Kuching - Interior The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool
Area: Damai / Santubong Number of Rooms: 14

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
261 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (261)
Sort by:
Joshua S. Couples Malaysia, November 13, 2012
A romantic place to be at

Privacy
10
The hotel suits best for couples as they provide with decent service and total privacy for couples. The set up for meals are great too. Taste is absolutely perfect.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Sunrise and sunset view is just 3 minutes walk distance.
Milchond J. Families with young children Malaysia, November 12, 2012
Great hotel for relax

Only adult allow and children not allow
10
Great hotel for relaxing but children are not allowmat this hotel. suppose to stay 3d2n, but only managento stay 2d1n because i'm staying with my kids.
Yun Y. Families with older children United States of America, November 6, 2012
Very close to a beach

small family style hotel
7.7
with hide location, very good for small party.We had 2 couple join this trip, funny and easy.
Jennifer J. Couples United States of America, November 5, 2012
Peaceful Jungle Retreat

Location, vibe, amenities
7.3
We had a very nice stay at the Village House. The service from Kevin was excellent - he arranged a car for us to get there (a 45 minute drive), which was very smooth. Also, we forgot to get money from the ATM at the airport and he was kind enough to advance uus 300 ringitt from petty cash and put it on our bill so we had spending cash, which saved us a trip into town (which is pretty far). Kevin also arranged all our activities upon our asking (on short notice I might add), and had the local tour operators pick us up at the property. The location is in a tiny village, in the rainforest on the Santubong Peninsula. It is about 50 meters down the road from a beach that has nice sunsets (although is a bit dirty with trash and not really suitable for swimming). The pool at the property was gorgeous, and the rooms were nicely appointed. We stayed in one of the suites, which was large and had a clean and comfortable bed with mosquito netting, which was great. There were only two issues with our stay. The first is that the housekeeping was not that good. We ended up having an ant problem in our room (ants coming in and swarming the toilet which was distressing). Kevin came in and sprayed the ants upon our request, but we had to clean up the ants as best we could with a towel, and the next day housekeeping didn't do anything else to clean up ants; they just left them there on the walls and floor for the remainder of our stay. I don't think they cleaned the bathroom at all, and they never left us new towels. The second issue, which is not as big of a deal, was that the menu was somewhat limited and the food was good, but not great.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The rainforest trek was a highlight of our trip. We saw lots of monkeys and a rhinocerous hornbill. The trek is not 'easy to moderate' as our guidebook said, though. It was quite challenging at times (lots of tree roots, fallen trees, slippery climbs). The river cruise to see the irawaddy dolphins was pleasant, but expensive for what we go (300 ringitt for 2 people, for 4 hours)
Ko S. Couples Taiwan, November 4, 2012
Great Ambiance and service

comfortable bed, tranquil environment
9
We went to this hotel on taxi from Kuching city, it is so hidden that we took quite a while to find it. The ambiance is really great,it was quiet and peaceful,very suitable for relaxing. The staff is very helpful. Kevin, the resident manager, drove us to the seafood restaurant nearby which offers fresh seafood at a very low price. The room is well furnished with a very comfortable bed and a clean and spacious washroom (However,the drain in the shower room seemed to be a bit stuck). We spent very wonderful time in the hotel, and I will surely visit this place when I visit Santubong again.
Zahidin D. Couples Malaysia, October 14, 2012
nice hotel

calm n relaxing
6.7
had a good stay, good facilities but only problem was it wasn't with a halal restaurant but overall lovely place to stay and for privacy this is the place for you.
Zahidin D. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 14, 2012
calm place

the surrounding
6.7
nice hotel. had rules whn being in there. food non-halal. good fr timeout from busy city. private place location bit hard to locate at first. overall nice place.
Faye G. Couples United Kingdom, October 7, 2012
Lovely family feel hotel

Beautiful rooms and close proximity to Mt Santubong
10
we stayed at the hotel so that we could climb mt santubong nearby. the owner arranged for us to be dropped off and later picked up at the end of the climb and even prepared packed lunches for us. the hotel is an excellent base, very friendly service and great food and cocktails. we will definitely be coming back!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Mt Santubong is a 10 minutes drive from the hotel - well worth a visit.
Laura H. Groups United Kingdom, October 3, 2012
Brilliant hotel - tranquil and great service

Peaceful surroundings, lovely rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, great food...
9.7
I stayed at The Village House with 2 girl friends in October. The place is a little bit off the beaten track and our taxi from the airport almost drove right past it - but once you step inside you step into a beautiful, tranquil oasis of calm. The rooms are on stilts and sets around a central pool, which is really pretty. The rooms themselves have been renovated to a high standard. The pool is lovely and kept wonderfully clean. It is peaceful and quiet and a lovely place to spend a relaxing afternoon. The staff are all incredibly helpful and really friendly from the moment you arrive. When we booked to go on an early morning trip they even prepared a take-away breakfast for us so that we would not go hungry. There is a good selection of trips offered - I would recommend the dolphin and fireflies trip. We had a small boat to ourselves and saw loads of dolphins and loads of fireflies - it was essentially our own private trip and we were well looked after. The food at the Village House is excellent. You place your order for breakfast the night before - and it is delicious. We all had freshly made pancakes, fruit, cereal, juice and tea and coffee. You also order dinner in advance and it is served when you want - again, the food was delicious and prepared to a high standard. The portions were also huge! Overall, this place was an excellent find and I would thoroughly recommend it.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The dolphins and fireflies trip is definitely worth doing.
Laura H. Groups United Kingdom, October 3, 2012
Lovely relaxing and peaceful place to stay

Lovely rooms, tranquil setting, helpful and friendly staff, great food
9.3
I stayed at The Village House for 2 nights in October and loved it. The setting is lovely and you wouldn't know it from the drive up to the place - it is off the main road down a little track. But inside it is very pretty and well maintained. The food is all freshly prepared and delicious and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a good selection of trips offered and the hotel will arrange for transport if you require it. The rooms are really well kept and furnished to a good standard and the pool is kept really clean. It is a lovely place to relax.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Dolphins and fireflies trip - we saw loads of dolphins.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Village House KuchingThe Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Courtyard PoolThe Village House Kuching - Tropical GardenThe Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardensThe Village House Kuching - View from Lallang DeckThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - Flying Frog BarThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - ViewThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool


AS-AGWEB-3C05