or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Village House

Lot 634, Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Santubong Village, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93750 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Courtyard Pool The Village House Kuching - Tropical Garden The Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardens The Village House Kuching - View from Lallang Deck The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool The Village House Kuching - Flying Frog Bar The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Guest Room The Village House Kuching - Guest Room The Village House Kuching - Guest Room
The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Interior The Village House Kuching - View The Village House Kuching - Interior The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool
Area: Damai / Santubong Number of Rooms: 14

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
250 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (250)
Sort by:
Joe E. Couples United Kingdom, October 25, 2013
A great village escape near Mount Santubong

Friendly staff, boutique feel, had the place to ourselves.
6.7
Good things: Great staff, isolated, great pool, relaxing, Bad things: Poor food - not fresh, overpriced, no local options for breakfast. Member of staff regularly swimming in pool, particularly annoying whilst we were eating dinner.
Oliver B. Couples United Kingdom, October 12, 2013
Definition of a hidden gem. Absolutely beautiful.

Decor, staff, food.
9.7
Arriving at the Village House was simple enough, with a bus from their sister hostel The Singahsanna Lodge (in Kuching central). Upon arrival we were welcomed into the beautiful place by complementary iced tea and cool moist towels, while the manager sat down with us by the pool to give us the introductory talk. We instantly felt welcome. There was only one other couple at the hotel which made it beautifully serene. The pool was so pretty, with the rooms on the second floor above communal living areas with hammocks, sunbed areas and tables. The bedroom was small but beautiful, with a 4 poster double bed with a DUVET (what a luxury in Malaysia!) and a nice bathroom. Food was fantastic, reasonably priced (expect around 30RM) for the very high quality. Breakfast (included) was incredible, we had full English breakfasts!! Beach right next to the hotel was HUGE, and absolutely stunning. It was one of those long, wide flat beaches, had beautiful skies above and palm trees along the edge. 10/10, would highly recommend to couples looking for a romantic getaway hotel.
Siang E. Couples Malaysia, September 29, 2013
terrible, horrible, sucks

no tv, no wifi, no-sign-post
2
this was the worst kuching trip experience i ever had. i had been to kuching for 5 times, but then this is the worst totally because of the village house. i wasted around half day to drive in damai round and round and round. why?? they make much of profit from the high room rate they set, yet they are stingy to put a signpost that can guide the guests to the hotel. we can't find a board with the hotel's name even in front of the hotel's room. and the hotel's environment is sucks, everywhere we can see the poop of lizards, birds and many other insects.it's not recommendable to take this hotel if you were to stay in damai. there is no tv, no wifi, no neccessary facilities in the room.. share outside!!you are advised to take damai beach resort or any other resorts but not the village house.
Zalina A. Families with young children Malaysia, September 24, 2013
Too far and difficult to find area

Swimming pool
5.3
We were prepared to b that little bit out in the country and knew to book the cultural village and river cruise in order to keep us vaguely occupied. The pool is gorgeous; nice and cool all day long and the surroundings are well maintained.I found the food disappointing. Everyone speaks of great food - we found it to be average with a limited option. I think punching above its weight in terms of food and accommodation. I think renewed attention needs to be given to the food and also general overall management.
Kumaar S. Couples Malaysia, September 13, 2013
Wonderful Hotel & Staff

Quiet , Friendly staff & Near to Culture Village
10
Jeremmie J. Couples Malaysia, September 8, 2013
The hotel is clean and very comfortable

The swimming pool is very nice, the surrounding is very quite and relaxing and the room is very comfortable.
9.3
We love the hotel very much. The staff are very friendly and the environment is very refreshing. The surrounding is so green and make us feel very relaxing. The room is so clean and comfortable. We definitely will visit and stay here in future.
Juleen K. Solo travelers Singapore, August 30, 2013
AMAZINGLY BREATHTAKING

their Staff, food, quiet surroundings
10
very, very good! great food by local chef! quiet surroundings n very peaceful, room was very homely. library available on the premises for fast wifi , book reading, dvd watching. no wifi/tv in rooms so you must get away from it all n TRULY REST :) WIll definitely book their suite next time i return! very near to mt santubong for trekking! staff will arrange tours/drivers/shuttle svcs for u! tip! go on the kuching wetlands boat cruise!! loved the scenary along river santubong. got to catch an intimate sight of the rare river dolphins!!
Keith T. Couples Malaysia, August 25, 2013
Quiet, posses own privacy, beautiful and peaceful.

Surroundings, quietness and artistic
8
Great and excellent. Rooms were quite hot during the day but understandable
Jeffrey C. Couples Malaysia, August 24, 2013
Secluded Lodge.

The pool and the bar.
5.3
Very difficult to find. No signboards and in the middle of nowhere.Initially quite annoyed with the setup. Actually not a hotel but rather looks like a lodging house.Room rate is pricey compared to hotels in the area.But the good side is its peaceful with a Bali-liked ambiance.No children allowed , so good for honeymooners! Sightseeing in Suntubong area is nil. Nothing worth mentioning.
Robert D. Couples United Kingdom, August 11, 2013
Superb relaxing stay

Very friendly and attentive staff in a very welcoming and relaxing hotel
8.7

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Village House KuchingThe Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Courtyard PoolThe Village House Kuching - Tropical GardenThe Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardensThe Village House Kuching - View from Lallang DeckThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - Flying Frog BarThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - ViewThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool


AS-AGWEB-3C07