or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Village House

Lot 634, Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Santubong Village, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93750 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Courtyard Pool The Village House Kuching - Tropical Garden The Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardens The Village House Kuching - View from Lallang Deck The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool The Village House Kuching - Flying Frog Bar The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Guest Room The Village House Kuching - Guest Room The Village House Kuching - Guest Room
The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Interior The Village House Kuching - View The Village House Kuching - Interior The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool
Area: Damai / Santubong Number of Rooms: 14

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
246 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (246)
Sort by:
Siang E. Couples Malaysia, September 29, 2013
terrible, horrible, sucks

no tv, no wifi, no-sign-post
2
this was the worst kuching trip experience i ever had. i had been to kuching for 5 times, but then this is the worst totally because of the village house. i wasted around half day to drive in damai round and round and round. why?? they make much of profit from the high room rate they set, yet they are stingy to put a signpost that can guide the guests to the hotel. we can't find a board with the hotel's name even in front of the hotel's room. and the hotel's environment is sucks, everywhere we can see the poop of lizards, birds and many other insects.it's not recommendable to take this hotel if you were to stay in damai. there is no tv, no wifi, no neccessary facilities in the room.. share outside!!you are advised to take damai beach resort or any other resorts but not the village house.
Zalina A. Families with young children Malaysia, September 24, 2013
Too far and difficult to find area

Swimming pool
5.3
We were prepared to b that little bit out in the country and knew to book the cultural village and river cruise in order to keep us vaguely occupied. The pool is gorgeous; nice and cool all day long and the surroundings are well maintained.I found the food disappointing. Everyone speaks of great food - we found it to be average with a limited option. I think punching above its weight in terms of food and accommodation. I think renewed attention needs to be given to the food and also general overall management.
Kumaar S. Couples Malaysia, September 13, 2013
Wonderful Hotel & Staff

Quiet , Friendly staff & Near to Culture Village
10
Jeremmie J. Couples Malaysia, September 8, 2013
The hotel is clean and very comfortable

The swimming pool is very nice, the surrounding is very quite and relaxing and the room is very comfortable.
9.3
We love the hotel very much. The staff are very friendly and the environment is very refreshing. The surrounding is so green and make us feel very relaxing. The room is so clean and comfortable. We definitely will visit and stay here in future.
Juleen K. Solo travelers Singapore, August 30, 2013
AMAZINGLY BREATHTAKING

their Staff, food, quiet surroundings
10
very, very good! great food by local chef! quiet surroundings n very peaceful, room was very homely. library available on the premises for fast wifi , book reading, dvd watching. no wifi/tv in rooms so you must get away from it all n TRULY REST :) WIll definitely book their suite next time i return! very near to mt santubong for trekking! staff will arrange tours/drivers/shuttle svcs for u! tip! go on the kuching wetlands boat cruise!! loved the scenary along river santubong. got to catch an intimate sight of the rare river dolphins!!
Keith T. Couples Malaysia, August 25, 2013
Quiet, posses own privacy, beautiful and peaceful.

Surroundings, quietness and artistic
8
Great and excellent. Rooms were quite hot during the day but understandable
Jeffrey C. Couples Malaysia, August 24, 2013
Secluded Lodge.

The pool and the bar.
5.3
Very difficult to find. No signboards and in the middle of nowhere.Initially quite annoyed with the setup. Actually not a hotel but rather looks like a lodging house.Room rate is pricey compared to hotels in the area.But the good side is its peaceful with a Bali-liked ambiance.No children allowed , so good for honeymooners! Sightseeing in Suntubong area is nil. Nothing worth mentioning.
Robert D. Couples United Kingdom, August 11, 2013
Superb relaxing stay

Very friendly and attentive staff in a very welcoming and relaxing hotel
8.7
Samantha E. Couples United Kingdom, August 8, 2013
Great boutique ambience in rajah room

Staff, tranquil location, food
9.3
We loved our stay at the village house. We stayed three nights in one of their two Rajah rooms and enjoyed the extra space that it offered. It was well furnished and housekeeping did a great job in cleaning the room each day. There wasn't a safe in the room, but that said, we felt happy to trust the staff. The food here was superb and we would strongly suggest you try the local cuisine from the menu. Staff looked after us throughout our stay and must be commended for all the hard work that she puts in. She is perhaps a little over stretched and appears to have to do nearly all the work, from front of house, to serving food, to dealing with calculating bills, booking tours. Indeed the actual manager appears to do very little. At one point we saw him sit in the pool chatting to the clientele! Perhaps he owners should look into his effectiveness! As the place is very tranquil, do take advantage of visiting the cultural village in damai (60rm per person...do make sure you see the show!) and do the sunset river cruise as it is close by and the hotel does not overcharge for this tour. We would certainly consider a return visit. Not top end luxury but attention to detail by some staff make it so worth it!
Laura G. Couples Australia, July 25, 2013
Relaxing

Great food, Nice pool, Attentive staff
8.7
The Village House is located just outside of the town of Santubong around 1 hour from Kuching. It's a nice place to stay for relaxing by the pool, swimming and eating great food. There isn't much to do nearby though, we spent a day at Bako National Park which appeared to be close, but by road it is easier and cheaper to get there from Kuching. There is a beach nearby but it isn't that nice - it's covered in driftwood and other scrap and is partially mangrove. There isn't anywhere else to eat within walking distance which was annoying because you are stuck eating at the hotel always unless you catch a taxi to get somewhere far away. This seemed like a pain at first, but in the end it worked out OK because the food was all so good and the prices weren't too high.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Village House KuchingThe Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Courtyard PoolThe Village House Kuching - Tropical GardenThe Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardensThe Village House Kuching - View from Lallang DeckThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - Flying Frog BarThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - ViewThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool


AS-AGWEB-3B01