Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Village House

Lot 634, Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Santubong Village, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93750

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on 330 reviews

280 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
8.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.7
Food/Dining
8.2
All reviews (330)
Sort by:
Karen A. Solo travelers United States of America, May 14, 2016
Very relaxing
5.7
The hotel is far from Kuching but makes it such a nice, quiet and relaxing environment. The beach is walking distance and they help with setting up tours and getting a taxi to Kuching.
Report this review
Artur D. Couples Poland, May 3, 2016
Ambient atmosphere and good food
4.7
We came beck to this place after four years. The Village House still offers the tranquillity, quiet environment and really good food but there are already few signs that the property requires refurbishment and renovation. The staff is very friendly. We wish you success :-)
Report this review
Ying Y. Couples Malaysia, May 2, 2016
A High Class Prison
2
Too many restriction. set the time for meal, not allow to go back late, must barefoot in the premise etc
Report this review
Robert B. Solo travelers Australia, April 26, 2016
Peacful and Relaxing
6
The Village House is a beautiful property with great, a tranquil pool area and they serve delicious food. If you're looking for an action packed holiday this is not the place but if you're looking for a peaceful and comfortable to unwind nd relax then this is for you. There is not much in the village and the beach nearby is not for swimming but it's a lovely spot to come and watch the sunset. The food at the restaurant is very good and there's a bar too. A great stay.
Report this review
Muzaffar F. Couples Malaysia, March 28, 2016
Orange is the new black with a lovely Garden
4
You are first left slightly lost, no one shows you where to go, this is followed by the warden... OK the manager... Sitting you down and going through a long list of do's and don'ts in very harsh tones. The cell, Ok the room just about fit two people. To add to ambience you are given a 530 wake up call from your friendly mosque next door. The concept which is my guess is for every one to enjoy the lovely garden and pool and be in the room. Alas this space is too small for the number of guest they try to get in. My advice, get a Netflix subscription and give this a miss.
Report this review
Dennis N. Couples Malaysia, March 6, 2016
Serenity and Peace
5.3
A getaway from the hectic city life to this calm peaceful place is simply amazing. Rejuvenate yourself with its cool and beautiful swimming pool.
Report this review
Aaron E. Couples Malaysia, March 6, 2016
Excellent
6
Thanks to a warm hospitality to Flora.. it was amazing. I just hope there is a chilling drinks or foods for supper..
Report this review
Roger H. Couples Singapore, February 15, 2016
I didn't go because my wife is ill
5.3
But Agoda /hotel has yet to provide any decent alternative that wud suit my circumstance
Report this review
Yee T. Couples Malaysia, January 24, 2016
Good Romantic Retreat
5.3
Thoroughly enjoyed my time there. It's a pity the place doesn't receive more attention and as such makes it the most underrated resort in this part of town!
Report this review
Ai L. Couples Malaysia, January 5, 2016
Fantastic staycation

Ambiance, cleanliness, comfort
9.3
Due to time restraint we could only spend one night at the Village Hotel. Something like a staycation. The drive to Santubong from Kuching was relaxing, the looming Mt Santubong was a sight to behold. Meal was classy. Dig the no-shoes-allowed house rule too; it's been ages since I got to roam around an entire compound barefooted and still feel clean after half-a-day. There were board games and books for your perusal. One hour before dinner we took a short walk to the back (Pantai Puteri) for an AMAZING sunset. It was low tide so the shoreline was a bit further in but it was still heaven on earth. The neighbourhood was friendly and safe, there was a security guard booth (for SMK Santubong) and the staff were really helpful. We had to catch an early flight the next day and they packed us sandwiches for the drive back to the airport at 7 am. In short, one of the highlights of our 5d4n trip to Sarawak.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 280 reviews Next page
The Village House KuchingThe Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Courtyard PoolThe Village House Kuching - Tropical GardenThe Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardensThe Village House Kuching - View from Lallang DeckThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - Flying Frog BarThe Village House Kuching - Flying Frog BarThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - ViewThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07