Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Village House

Lot 634, Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Santubong Village, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93750 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Courtyard Pool The Village House Kuching - Tropical Garden The Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardens The Village House Kuching - View from Lallang Deck The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool The Village House Kuching - Flying Frog Bar The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Guest Room The Village House Kuching - Guest Room The Village House Kuching - Guest Room
The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Interior The Village House Kuching - View The Village House Kuching - Interior The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Surroundings The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool
Area: Damai / Santubong Number of Rooms: 14

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.6

from 30 reviews

Value for Money
8.5
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
7.9
Solo travelers (30)
Sort by:
Katerina K. Solo travelers Russia, June 30, 2015
Great experience

Tranquillity, lots of water (cold and hot, pool), helpful staff
9
I used the hotel as a base for my everyday adventures in the surrounding area for 11 days in June. And it turned out to be the best base I ever had. The personnel were very friendly and always willing to help you to solve your problems and listen to your stories. Their reliable taxi-drivers arrive right on time and are ready to pick you up and bring back to the hotel any time of the day you arrange with them. The same price (180 MYR return) to get to Bako National Park, Semenggoh Nature Reserve, Matang Wildlife Center. 80 MYR to the airport. It takes about 1-1.5 hours to reach any of these destinations depending on traffic (rush hours are naturally the worst). The best trail to Mount Santubong begins a couple kilometers from the hotel making it possible to reach the summit or just follow the middle trail along the mountain. The sea nearby is not good for swimming as it is dirty, very shallow, full of big poisonous jelly-fish. Yet, sunsets are enchanting. The pool in the hotel serves perfectly to relax your aching muscles after a long hard hot day. And it is right on your doorstep. Conditioner and ceiling ventilator in the room function perfectly and noiselessly. Bathroom is amazingly comfortable with plenty of cold and hot water (strong pressure), shampoo, soap, shower gel, body lotion, daily changed large soft towels, constantly renewable toilet paper. Beds are large and cozy - good for stretching and enjoying a few idle hours. Muezzin in the mosque some 500m away lull you into sleep creating a unique unforgettable authentic atmosphere of local village. The hotel is located in a secluded part of the village Santubong. Local people are very friendly, helpful, and unobtrusive. Food is fresh and aplenty. One must beware of tiny red ants that jump at every edible speck appearing in the room. No mosquitoes inside. In short, it is a great choice for independent, active people tired of nasty civilization with its noisy crowds.
Report this review
Kate B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 6, 2015
My surprise stay

Ambience, quiet and service
9.3
Report this review
Mavis P. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 1, 2015
very nice and relaxing place

the room, the sound from d swimming pool and the hammock
8.7
My stay was very nice and relaxing. The service was ultimately good and polite.
Report this review
Hoi Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, December 31, 2014
A little paradise in the middle of nowhere

Great design, nice set up, helpful staffs
8
I have been to many similar resorts before as I really like these kind of boutique style hotels close to the nature. Think everything is pretty decent. This place is on it's own far from the others, its so u will need to eat all ur meals in here which is about 3 times the price as usual. It's fine if it's delicious but sadly I think it can be much better. Room is small but pretty. Wifi is available only by the tv room and the library, music in the bar is quite bit too loud considering they promote themselves as peaceful and quiet especially thr whole place if quite small. It depends on what u like but overall I have a good stay.
Report this review
Peta J. Solo travelers Australia, May 8, 2014
After a three day conference in Kuching this small

Quit pool food
10
Perfect
Report this review
Barbara E. Solo travelers Australia, April 28, 2014
relaxing, peaceful, and comfortable

great pool, nice sitting areas, comfortable bed
8
The Village House is an ideal place to unwind. The pool and gardens are very nice and there is a good library available to choose from. The food was reasonable but it would be good not have both vegetable options in brown sauce. Would be nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room/or outside for guests. Staff were friendly and helpful and I would definitely come back again. Be aware that there is now a new mosque close by and you may be woken at 5am.
Report this review
Nicola K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 9, 2014
quiet, peaceful place to end a travelling holiday

location, staff and surroundings
9.3
delightful small hotel with excellent friendly and helpful staff
Report this review
Philippa R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 2, 2014
Boutique-style retreat in rainforest setting

Location - rural but very near beach, beautiful setting - grounds, gardens, reading, relaxation and activity areas and wonderful staff
9.7
Not long enough! I could have stayed for the whole duration of my time in Kuching, but there was not space for all of the nights. I loved the Village House and would not hesitate to recommend it for a peaceful, retreat type holiday. The nearby beach is a quiet natural beach, for wandering and picking up shells rather than for watersports or activities. Overall Village House may be more suited to holidaymakers seeking rainforest retreat. Staff are very helpful and can arrange transportation and trips. If I return to Kuching I would definitely stay at Village House again.
Report this review
Juleen K. Solo travelers Singapore, August 30, 2013
AMAZINGLY BREATHTAKING

their Staff, food, quiet surroundings
10
very, very good! great food by local chef! quiet surroundings n very peaceful, room was very homely. library available on the premises for fast wifi , book reading, dvd watching. no wifi/tv in rooms so you must get away from it all n TRULY REST :) WIll definitely book their suite next time i return! very near to mt santubong for trekking! staff will arrange tours/drivers/shuttle svcs for u! tip! go on the kuching wetlands boat cruise!! loved the scenary along river santubong. got to catch an intimate sight of the rare river dolphins!!
Report this review
Mark C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 27, 2013
Beautiful place but difficult to find

Very well presented, extremely relaxing and friendly attentative staff
7.7
The stay was excellent, the place is beautiful and very well designed, nice pool, great selection of books and games in the reading room, plus really nice staff. My only gripe is the place is extremely hard to find. Its hidden in a maze of dead end dirt track roads, it has no sign, and the high gates were closed when we arrived, giving the impression of an exclusive and private residence. There is a map of the area in the village however the village house has a different name on the map. Overall, it took us about 45 minutes and three phone calls to locate the place after arriving in the village. To conclude, I would recommend this hotel, but be very prepared on how to get there before you go!
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Village House KuchingThe Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Courtyard PoolThe Village House Kuching - Tropical GardenThe Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardensThe Village House Kuching - View from Lallang DeckThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - Flying Frog BarThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - Guest RoomThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - ViewThe Village House Kuching - InteriorThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - SurroundingsThe Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool


AS-AGWEB-3C04