My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Village House

Lot 634, Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Santubong Village, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93750 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Village House Kuching - Village Double Room The Village House Kuching - Village Twin Room The Village House Kuching - The Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - The Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah Room The Village House Kuching - Bathroom The Village House Kuching - Courtyard Pool The Village House Kuching - Tropical Garden The Village House Kuching - Hotel Exterior The Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the pool The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining Lounge The Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardens The Village House Kuching - View from Lallang Deck The Village House Kuching - Swimming Pool
The Village House Kuching - Flying Frog Bar
Hotel Area: Damai / Santubong Number of Rooms: 14

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.8

based on
30 reviews

Value for Money
8.9
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
9.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.0
Food/Dining
8.5
Groups (30)
Sort by:
Michael S. Groups United Kingdom, March 24, 2014
Little pocket of Heaven

The design of the public spaces, the details, the unique ambience
9.7
Very little to fault with this boutique resort. Great staff that are beyond helpful - something good to see in Malaysia as this is generally not the case. So many places to just while away time, recharge the batteries and soak up life.
Gail D. Groups Australia, March 12, 2013
relaxing, quiet and convenient.

staff, tranquility, back to nature feel.
8.7
We had 6 ladies in our group no one else was at the house it was a monday. The house is close to the cultural villiage and the golf course and the beach is ten seconds away. I would definately go again with my husband.
Anne M. Groups United Kingdom, March 12, 2013
Super

Sea, countryside and peace
8.3
Pei Y. Groups Malaysia, December 28, 2012
Perfect boutique hotel for relaxation

Peaceful, personalized service
8.3
Located near the foot of Mt. Santubong at the Santubong peninsular, this boutique hotel is the perfect place to rest & relax and get away from everything. Well hidden down a dirt track, an oasis of calm awaits you as you enter the door. Built in the style of a traditional Malay house on stilts and furnished with a rustic sense, it is a welcome change from the typical hotel. The staff there also kindly arranged transport to and from a local seafood restaurant as well as excursion trips.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Kuching wetlands cruise is recommended as you could potentially spot dolphins, crocodiles and proboscis monkeys in one morning!
Marissa P. Groups United States of America, November 16, 2012
Beautiful hotel, lovely, tranquil setting

Charming rooms and a fantastic pool
9
Our stay at the Village House was great, the rooms all have four poster beds, clean, spacious bathrooms and large windows that open over the garden/pool area. The pool is pristine surrounded by lovely landscaping and plenty of comfy lounge chairs and hammocks. Well-stocked bar and very friendly staff. My only complaint is that the food isn't great - it's not bad, just not great, I was hoping for something a bit more special - but really I can't recommend this place enough.
Restaurant Tip: Village House is a bit isolated, so unless you are planning on not leaving the pool or relying on organized day trips I highly recommend getting a car (driving in and around Kuching is very civilized). Having a car also allows you to head out to Buntal for some of the best Chinese seafood you can imagine.
Laura H. Groups United Kingdom, October 3, 2012
Brilliant hotel - tranquil and great service

Peaceful surroundings, lovely rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, great food...
9.7
I stayed at The Village House with 2 girl friends in October. The place is a little bit off the beaten track and our taxi from the airport almost drove right past it - but once you step inside you step into a beautiful, tranquil oasis of calm. The rooms are on stilts and sets around a central pool, which is really pretty. The rooms themselves have been renovated to a high standard. The pool is lovely and kept wonderfully clean. It is peaceful and quiet and a lovely place to spend a relaxing afternoon. The staff are all incredibly helpful and really friendly from the moment you arrive. When we booked to go on an early morning trip they even prepared a take-away breakfast for us so that we would not go hungry. There is a good selection of trips offered - I would recommend the dolphin and fireflies trip. We had a small boat to ourselves and saw loads of dolphins and loads of fireflies - it was essentially our own private trip and we were well looked after. The food at the Village House is excellent. You place your order for breakfast the night before - and it is delicious. We all had freshly made pancakes, fruit, cereal, juice and tea and coffee. You also order dinner in advance and it is served when you want - again, the food was delicious and prepared to a high standard. The portions were also huge! Overall, this place was an excellent find and I would thoroughly recommend it.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The dolphins and fireflies trip is definitely worth doing.
Laura H. Groups United Kingdom, October 3, 2012
Lovely relaxing and peaceful place to stay

Lovely rooms, tranquil setting, helpful and friendly staff, great food
9.3
I stayed at The Village House for 2 nights in October and loved it. The setting is lovely and you wouldn't know it from the drive up to the place - it is off the main road down a little track. But inside it is very pretty and well maintained. The food is all freshly prepared and delicious and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a good selection of trips offered and the hotel will arrange for transport if you require it. The rooms are really well kept and furnished to a good standard and the pool is kept really clean. It is a lovely place to relax.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Dolphins and fireflies trip - we saw loads of dolphins.
Catherine M. Groups Australia, September 25, 2012
Lovely Rajah Room and quiet location

Our Rajah room was huge and very comfortable, staff were very helpful.
8.3
The Village House is a lovely, laid-back boutique hotel. Staff were very helpful. We left our hats in the taxi from Santubong to Kuching and did not realize it until later in the day when we had left Kuching. Upon our return to Kuching a few days later, we contacted the Village House and they speedily tracked down the taxi driver who promptly returned our hats. This was great service all around. In fact, we found the people of Sarawak in hotels, shops and in the street unfailingly helpful and friendly. The local food served was very good. Some more bread choices at breakfast would be good i.e. good brown bread and maybe banana cake instead of supermarket sliced white. Also, we would have liked to have gone to a local seafood restaurant one night but there was no means of transportation. It could be in the interests of local businesses to get together to support a flexible, local shuttle bus service around the area's attractions and restaurants. There is only a limited, day time one available now. The local beach is essentially a mud flat so is not suitable for swimming but it has a lovely view of Mount Santubong and is a pleasant place to walk.
Hotel Feature Tip: The Rajah room is worth the extra cost.
Cally L. Groups Malaysia, September 17, 2012
Unexpected Trip

It is peaceful and relaxing
7.7
It was suprised that I can enjoy the peaceful at there and put all my stress or burden aside.
Chloe B. Groups United Kingdom, August 22, 2012
Perfect secret!

Location, furniture, atmosphere
8.3
we had a perfect weekend here. we chose to travel at hari raya so there were many services and things unavailable, but we knew this before we arrived and the staff explained to us again upon arrival. the food was sometimes disappointing, but we learned that the head chef had been on leave for the public holiday. on our final afternoon he returned and there was a drastic improvement. delicious curries! they had also sold out of many menu options and wines, a combination of poor stock rotation and the national holiday. on occasion the advice given to us by staff was incorrect, resulting in us travelling for 3 hours to the wrong destination, but this could have been rectified by us doing our own research... simply beautiful surroundings, could have stayed forever. we truly felt at home, which is not always an easy atmosphere to create.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Village House KuchingThe Village House Kuching - Village Double RoomThe Village House Kuching - Village Twin RoomThe Village House Kuching - The Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - The Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - Sitting area in Rajah RoomThe Village House Kuching - BathroomThe Village House Kuching - Courtyard PoolThe Village House Kuching - Tropical GardenThe Village House Kuching - Hotel ExteriorThe Village House Kuching - Relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Oasis for relaxation by the poolThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Kaki Tangga Dining LoungeThe Village House Kuching - Beautiful gardensThe Village House Kuching - View from Lallang DeckThe Village House Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Village House Kuching - Flying Frog Bar


AS-AGWEB-3B08