Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Village Lodge

49 Napier Street, Cape Town City Center, Cape Town, South Africa 8000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.1

based on
26 reviews

19 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.8
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
6.5
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (26)
Sort by:
Reinhard L. Couples Germany, December 11, 2015
centrally located

the terrace, te central location and the food
8.7
had a great time here, just a refrigerator was missing and we couldn´t use the pool whenever we wanted as there were often private parties.
Report this review
Blu A. Business travelers South Africa, November 18, 2015
Quick stay

Location, quiet, small
4
Average. I found the lodgeto be 2 star. Some of the rooms were being renovated so a paint smell was still lingering. My room was small. However of feel that the cleanliness could have been alot better also stains on the sheets and towels were off putting. The staff were friendly.
Report this review
Akhona N. Families with older children South Africa, January 3, 2015
My best holiday at the Malay Quarter

Location, Food quality and serving portions, the Skybar
7
I liked the vibe and the feel of the location, the staff at the hotel and the Kos restaurant were super.
Report this review
Steven O. Solo travelers Australia, November 8, 2014
Simple place...good location

Location...price...wifi
7.3
Good value lodge...but very small rooms. Restaurant and staff were good...but Rooftop Bar was too noisy for guests to sleep...bar was open to the public
Report this review
Ferry E. Solo travelers Indonesia, October 4, 2014
budget hotel on the city center

cheap, clean and near the city center
8.3
Report this review
Dean A. Couples United Kingdom, February 2, 2014
convenient for weekend

location, roof top pool was different
6.7
Report this review
Aaron S. Couples United States of America, October 21, 2013
Mediocre hotel in a great location.

location, location, location
5.3
We arrived and found the door locked, lights out. We were given a small room, despite the fact that larger rooms were available and not occupied. The hotel does not have wifi.
Report this review
Granville H. Business travelers South Africa, April 19, 2013
Small rooms, worst shower experience

Breakfast, breakfast, breakfast
6.3
Good location for nightlife and shopping, but I cannot recommend this hotel due to the small rooms and odd bathrooms
Report this review
Sean C. Solo travelers United States of America, January 5, 2013
Absolutely Awful!

Location is the only thing this hotel has going for it - and that's NOT enough...
2.7
This hotel had previous owners who gave a damn (I stayed in 2010 and liked it enough to come back), and now has new owners who simply do not. The place is in a state of disrepair, has terrible management, incompetent and unsupervised cleaning staff, and no capacity for customer service. It's simply a disaster, and I recommend you avoid it at all costs. There are much better addresses in the area.
Report this review
Steven O. Solo travelers Australia, November 21, 2012
Over-priced..poor maintenance...Dont stay here !

None...many better value places in DeWaterkant
5.3
poorly maintained...was smart when renovated 5 years ago, but now weel below standard for the high price. many broken items in room, tv not clear, rooftop pool was green and dirty ! entry on agoda says roof top pool and lounge is for use of guests...instead many large parties of outside people were held on many night...very noisy drunk people till late...no sleep dewaterkant historical village has many choices of nice places which are much better value and quality than this !
Report this review
1 - 10 of 19 reviews
The Village Lodge Cape TownThe Village Lodge Cape Town - VillaThe Village Lodge Cape Town - The VillageThe Village Lodge Cape Town - The VillageThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Soho Restaurant Decor The Village Lodge Cape Town - Soho Restaurant Decor The Village Lodge Cape Town - Pool AreaThe Village Lodge Cape Town - The Village LodgeThe Village Lodge Cape Town - ExteriorThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Balcony/TerraceThe Village Lodge Cape Town - BathroomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Balcony/TerraceThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - VillaThe Village Lodge Cape Town - LobbyThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Swimming PoolThe Village Lodge Cape Town - RestaurantThe Village Lodge Cape Town - SurroundingsThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Village Lodge Cape Town - Bathroom


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05