Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Waterhouse at South Bund

No.1-3 Maojiayuan Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Bathroom The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Restaurant The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Bathroom The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Bathroom The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Restaurant The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Restaurant The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room
The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Exterior The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Exterior The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Entrance The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Exterior The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Exterior The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Lobby The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - View The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - View The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - View The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Meeting Room
Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 19
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
60 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (60)
Sort by:
Hui J. Couples Taiwan, September 8, 2014
Serenity

Mixture of modern and vintage, design and comfort of the room
8.3
Fantastic
Heekyoung N. Solo travelers South Korea, September 6, 2014
It's like the hotel is perfect for designers

Design, Table No.1 (Restaurant on 1F), Kindness
8.7
It's like the hotel is perfect for designers not for traveller. Amazing design of it makes us exciting. The structure, funiture, lamps... of the hotel are exellent, but it's uncomfortable a little. It is pretty far from metro station. But I think it's well worth enough to visit.
Jenny V. Couples United Kingdom, August 14, 2014
Absolutely Lovely Hotel

Helpful staff, beautiful rooms, fantastic view from rooftop bar
10
My partner and I thought this hotel was fantastic! We had included breakfast which was great no cold buffet style, proper menus with fantastic options, great coffee and staff were very attentive. Front desk staff were also very helpful organising cabs, printing tour vouchers for us etc. Beautiful room and loved the included mini bar. It was a little bit loud some nights but I've stayed in lots of hotels in Shanghai and can say none have ever been totally quite, I mean would you really expect Shanghai to ever be quite! Interesting area around the hotel many little alleys and streets to explore, and easy to take stroll along the Bund. This hotel had so many great things about it there's just too many to list! Definitely worth a visit even if it's just to check out the view from the rooftop bar
Rebecca F. Solo travelers United States of America, July 10, 2014
Absolutely amazing

Design, Design, Design..Pulling up to the hotel it seems as though it's an abandoned building, even my taxi driver was confused. But you enter design heaven inside. And the incredible free breakfast!
9.3
Felt like a dream, a wonderful place to stay. I have a hard time even calling it a hotel, each room is different, here you can escape the monotonous hotel life and dive into a luxurious, quirky haven in Shanghai.
Yuen K. Groups Hong Kong, May 4, 2014
nice design hotel

cool design, quiet location, fair price
8.7
Seisuke H. Couples Japan, May 2, 2014
good design

yes
7.3
Honghong W. Solo travelers China, December 15, 2013
Good concept, but not mature management

Food, Bar, Design
6
Overall it was acceptable, the room design is very nice, especially the exterior, in the end it is the design hotel group's project. The disappointment part is the details of the hotel, China's boutique hotels service always bad, when I walked in to the room, the toilet was not clean and the TV doesn't work. Recommend to someone come to visit Shanghai in Summer time, but not winter time.
Steffi T. Couples United States of America, October 22, 2013
Great Design, but poor housekeeping service

good design, breakfast, free wifi
6.3
the concept of the hotel is very impressive and well designed. when we checked in, our room wasn't ready, so the agent upgraded us to a river view room which was really appreciated. the room was clean great view and good size. we had some issues with the AC system in the room since first night, woke up in the middle of the night and found the AC was set as 26 degree. i tried to adj the temp but it won't work. I called the front desk at 5 am and he told me that they shut down the AC in Fall, so there's no way to adjust the temp in the room. I spoke to the front desk agent again in the afternoon, engineering was sent up to look into the issue. he tried to adjust the temp from the panel, but it didn't seem to work. he told us that he would adjust the temp from the machine room or something and it did lower the temp to 22 degree. however, when we came back from dinner around 11pm, the temp started to go up every hour from 24 to 25 degree and stayed at 26 degree the whole night again !! if the window could be open, it won't really matter sleeping in a 26 degree room. I love the hotel concept, but this little issue could cause a bad impression of the place. Also, poor housekeeping service was the 2nd issue of my stay. no shower cap the first night, and no tooth brushes and missing one bath towel the 2nd night after housekeeping accidentally replaced during service. I m really not a demanding person, but being a design/boutique hotel doesn't necessary imply to poor service.
Sung W. Business travelers South Korea, May 28, 2013
Excellent vintage designed hotel!

Location, Nice service, Trendy resturant and roof top bar
10
The Waterhouse at South Bund is located in the Cool Dock area which is very trendy and has a lot of attracive bars, cafes, resturants. Because this area is not famous for foreigners than other place like Xintiandi, Waitan ... you can see Chinese daily life style.
Diana P. Solo travelers New Zealand, May 19, 2013
Gorgeous boutique hotel.

Contemporary design hotel with gorgeous rooms, an amazing rooftop bar that's close to major attractions.
9.7

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Waterhouse at South Bund ShanghaiThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - BathroomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - RestaurantThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - BathroomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - BathroomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - RestaurantThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - RestaurantThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ExteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ExteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - EntranceThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ExteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ExteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - LobbyThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ViewThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ViewThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ViewThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Meeting RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - WarehouseThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - WarehouseThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - WarehouseThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Interior


AS-AGWEB-3B08