Sign in and get better rates!
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Waterhouse at South Bund

No.1-3 Maojiayuan Road, Huangpu - People Square & South Bund, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Bathroom The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Restaurant The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Bathroom The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Bathroom The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Restaurant The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Restaurant The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room
The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Exterior The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Exterior The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Entrance The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Exterior The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Exterior The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Lobby The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - View The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - View The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - View The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Meeting Room
Area: Huangpu - People Square & South Bund Number of Rooms: 19
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
52 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (52)
Sort by:
Rebecca F. Solo travelers United States of America, July 10, 2014
Absolutely amazing

Design, Design, Design..Pulling up to the hotel it seems as though it's an abandoned building, even my taxi driver was confused. But you enter design heaven inside. And the incredible free breakfast!
9.3
Felt like a dream, a wonderful place to stay. I have a hard time even calling it a hotel, each room is different, here you can escape the monotonous hotel life and dive into a luxurious, quirky haven in Shanghai.
Yuen K. Groups Hong Kong, May 4, 2014
nice design hotel

cool design, quiet location, fair price
8.7
Seisuke H. Couples Japan, May 2, 2014
good design

yes
7.3
Honghong W. Solo travelers China, December 15, 2013
Good concept, but not mature management

Food, Bar, Design
6
Overall it was acceptable, the room design is very nice, especially the exterior, in the end it is the design hotel group's project. The disappointment part is the details of the hotel, China's boutique hotels service always bad, when I walked in to the room, the toilet was not clean and the TV doesn't work. Recommend to someone come to visit Shanghai in Summer time, but not winter time.
Steffi T. Couples United States of America, October 22, 2013
Great Design, but poor housekeeping service

good design, breakfast, free wifi
6.3
the concept of the hotel is very impressive and well designed. when we checked in, our room wasn't ready, so the agent upgraded us to a river view room which was really appreciated. the room was clean great view and good size. we had some issues with the AC system in the room since first night, woke up in the middle of the night and found the AC was set as 26 degree. i tried to adj the temp but it won't work. I called the front desk at 5 am and he told me that they shut down the AC in Fall, so there's no way to adjust the temp in the room. I spoke to the front desk agent again in the afternoon, engineering was sent up to look into the issue. he tried to adjust the temp from the panel, but it didn't seem to work. he told us that he would adjust the temp from the machine room or something and it did lower the temp to 22 degree. however, when we came back from dinner around 11pm, the temp started to go up every hour from 24 to 25 degree and stayed at 26 degree the whole night again !! if the window could be open, it won't really matter sleeping in a 26 degree room. I love the hotel concept, but this little issue could cause a bad impression of the place. Also, poor housekeeping service was the 2nd issue of my stay. no shower cap the first night, and no tooth brushes and missing one bath towel the 2nd night after housekeeping accidentally replaced during service. I m really not a demanding person, but being a design/boutique hotel doesn't necessary imply to poor service.
Sung W. Business travelers South Korea, May 28, 2013
Excellent vintage designed hotel!

Location, Nice service, Trendy resturant and roof top bar
10
The Waterhouse at South Bund is located in the Cool Dock area which is very trendy and has a lot of attracive bars, cafes, resturants. Because this area is not famous for foreigners than other place like Xintiandi, Waitan ... you can see Chinese daily life style.
Diana P. Solo travelers New Zealand, May 19, 2013
Gorgeous boutique hotel.

Contemporary design hotel with gorgeous rooms, an amazing rooftop bar that's close to major attractions.
9.7
Hui L. Families with older children Taiwan, May 12, 2013
Excellent Hotel Design and Food!

FOOD, LOCATION, DESIGN!
9
Heather M. Couples United States of America, March 28, 2013
Modern and Unique

Food, Happy Hours, Design
9.3
Peng P. Couples United Kingdom, February 8, 2013
ok but buyer beware and over priced

Opposite the beach on the bund and cool roof terrace
5.7
First impressions matter. A lot. This hotel gives the impression of being a funky design enclave in shanghai but don't be fooled. Despite the good location (opposite the beach on the bund) and spring a great roof top bar there are a lot better and funnier places to stay in shanghai. So first impressions. Arrive. Two rooms booked. One room actually reserved. No great shakes and to be expected from time to time. Well recovered but no apology or apparent concern at the mistake. The room. Clean. Clinical. Polished concrete and wood. Nice. But dirty. All the white goods surfaces marked with cup stains and the cigarette Burns to the wooden balustrade show the room needs a refurbished. Designer furniture collection as advertised - perhaps but suspect a lot of it was made on guangdong rather than Milan. Again no great shakes but if you advertise it, live it. Dinner reservations. Right restaurant. Wrong location. Wrong time and wrong number of diners. Real issue with this hotel. Some places give service where nothing is too much trouble. Here everything was too much trouble. We wanted the address for yangs dumplings (go go go as it it amazing). The look on the receptionist girls face would suggest I had asked her to eat her children. After all I had disturbed her from playing on her iphone. In the end she wrote down the address for the wrong place. Value for money. Not really. There are much cooler and funnier places to stay in Shangai and at a much cheaper rate. Besides if I want to stay in a place clinically surrounded by designer brands I will fall asleep in Harrods

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Waterhouse at South Bund ShanghaiThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - BathroomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - RestaurantThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - BathroomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - BathroomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - RestaurantThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - RestaurantThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ExteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ExteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - EntranceThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ExteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ExteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - LobbyThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ViewThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ViewThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - ViewThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Meeting RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - WarehouseThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - WarehouseThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - WarehouseThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B05