Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Waterhouse at South Bund

No.1-3 Maojiayuan Road, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

8.0

based on 121 reviews

41 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
8.0
All reviews (121)
Sort by:
Sara S. Solo travelers South Korea, April 10, 2016
No rooftop, poor breakfast
4.7
Maybe our expectation was too high. Went with a friend and we both found the room design and amenities good. Also bottles of free water, orange juice and coke in the refridgerator was unsual and it was nice. Had relaxing night in a tub filled with hot water. High ceiling and overall experience in the room wasn't bad. But the shower was see through! The dark glass partition of both toilet and shower was uncomfortable because you can see inside clearly. I like going to a boutique hotel and I have been to multiple of them all over the world- the quality of breakfast was one of the worst I had. Very little selection and nothing much to eat. Wanted to have some hot plate but an egg fry was the only option besides lukewarm bacon, pancake which I didnt touch. My friend also felt the same. It gets loud during weekend due to many ppl eating at the bar and restaurant, but I had a quiet night to sleep because everything closes pretty early... There was no rooftop available due to construction and it was one of our plans, so we were little upset.
Report this review
Wendell B. Business travelers United States of America, March 18, 2016
Rude service great design
4
Great architecture but absolutely zero and rude service ! was more like self-service hotel
Report this review
Kayo S. Couples Japan, March 13, 2016
first time in shanghai

good hospitality, nice breakfast, great design
9
In the beginning they mistaken our reservation and we had no room. They tried their best to search for another hotels to book and finally they found a room available in their hotel which was facing the river bund and upgraded from our original reservation. All in all it was a good stay, love their theme of design, good breakfast at the restaurant, will definitely come back to stay again.
Report this review
Wing S. Business travelers Hong Kong, March 2, 2016
great design
5
great design, helpful staffs, ok breakfast
Report this review
Marcin S. Couples Poland, November 12, 2015
design

great design, inspiring place, original
6.3
nice to visit - if you are interested in good taste, design and architecture/interiors
Report this review
Mark B. Business travelers New Zealand, November 8, 2015
The Waterhouse south bund

The Wagyu steak / the funky rooms / service
8
Gr8 staff here in particular big ups to Rick Star
Report this review
Wing S. Business travelers Hong Kong, September 2, 2015
hip hotel
4.7
this hotel is very hip. food at the restaurant are pretty good but the portion is a little bit small. service is good but the wifi is not stable.
Report this review
Dorothy H. Business travelers China, July 14, 2015
special decoration.

decoration, design, view
7.3
not bad. Only location didn't easy to find it.
Report this review
Ye D. Solo travelers China, May 5, 2015
nice hotel

Unique design/ clean room/ quiet
9
It's a interesting hotel which renovated from a factory. The hotel close to the river and convenient to take a taxi.
Report this review
Manfred D. Business travelers Germany, March 19, 2015
Perfect hitel

Design, Size, service
9.7
It was a very pleasant stay. I was at the Waterhouse before and I will book it again.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 41 reviews Next page
The Waterhouse at South Bund ShanghaiThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - EntranceThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - LobbyThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Lobby BarThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Table No. 1The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Table No. 1The Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Roof BarThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Meeting RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - WarehouseThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - WarehouseThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - WarehouseThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - InteriorThe Waterhouse at South Bund Shanghai - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01