Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.4

based on 6036 reviews

4081 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (6036)
Sort by:
Clara L. Groups Australia, February 11, 2014
Nice stay

close to MTR, nightlife, attentive staff
7.3
I had a pleasant stay at Wharney GD Hotel. It is conveniently located down the road from exit C of Wan Chai MTR. Great local joints to eat around the hotel as well. The nightlife or "red light district" is obvious as pointed out by other reviewers but it is subtle, and the girls did not hassle me or my mates while we were there. A few nearby bars may get rowdy where people chill out on the pathways and so you have to squeeze through them. In regards to the room, it was pleasant and quite a decent size room for Hong Kong. A key negative was the level i stayed on, which when you come out of the lifts, it was 90% of the time very dark with dimmed lighting. So walking down the corridor to your room in the middle of the night can be quite freaky. All in all, good hotel for the price and Wan Chai location
Report this review
Ted C. Solo travelers United States of America, February 11, 2014
Nice, clean hotel

Clean, Located near MTR and many dining options nearby
8
Clean hotel with good free wifi. Located near MTR stations with many dining options near hotel. Airport express shuttle bus stop located right outside of hotel. Would recommend the hotel.
Report this review
Damiano T. Business travelers Italy, February 10, 2014
A very nice hotel in the heart of the city

great location, nightlife, business
9
great hotel and great value for services. centrally located, close to mtr and many other attractions
Report this review
Daniel S. Business travelers Germany, February 9, 2014
Not so great, but centrally located

Location, mid-range price for HK, cooperative staff
6.3
Dirty bed sheet needed to be exchanged (even I was on the executive floor), other peoples hair in bathroom
Report this review
John M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 9, 2014
very nice hotel and very clean

location, clean and friendly staff
7
My stay was very pleasant and the location was very close to the bar area. The food in the hotel was very good and not too much money. would stay again in this hotel
Report this review
Chen C. Couples Malaysia, February 8, 2014
Consider big room in HK. Walking distance to MTR.

Near MTR station (3min walk). Surrounding with good food and bar. Free shuttle bus to Airport express.
7.7
Room is consider quite big in HK. Value for Money.
Report this review
Floyd B. Solo travelers United States of America, February 8, 2014
GDH does it again - Bravo!

Location is perfect, excellent fitness facilities, and an overall "home" feeling.
9
GDH nailed it, again. Check in was a breeze, as always. I had booked an Executive again, and was totally surprised to have been upgraded to a 1 bedroom on the Executive Floor (16). Simply outstanding, especially for the price. GREAT bed, AWESOME bathroom, and comfortable amenities. The location is spot on for pretty much anything anybody would want to do in Hong Kong as it's just a couple blocks from Wanchai MTR, and a short walk down to Central/Hong Kong station as well. It's surrounded by restaurants of every flavor, and is, in my opinion, one of the hotels that gives the "best bang for the buck" while in Hong Kong. I highly encourage people to take advantage of the fitness room even if you're not a fitness buff - one of the BEST fitness centers for a hotel this size I have ever seen. Wharney GDH - one of MY favorite hotels in Hong Kong.
Report this review
Tanaka M. Solo travelers Japan, February 7, 2014
comfortable stay

near City Center, many shops around Hotel, cozy and comfortable room
8.3
Very kind staff, everybody helps me a lot. A good guidance, a quick response, and friendly attitude. Because it was colder than i thought, i had to buy a new winter overcoat near the hotel, but that overcoat which i bought had a little wrinkles, so i telephoned housekeeper and asked if they could pressing service. Surprisingly, a minute later one lady housekeeper knocked the door and she took my coat away. Next day i could wear the coat with very happy feeling.
Report this review
Bin Z. Solo travelers China, February 4, 2014
Good location, comparatively old hotel

Location, check-in/out speed, bars around.
7.3
Easy to go to central or causeway bay, quiet atmosphere. The local restaurants and bars are just nearby.
Report this review
Joseph B. Business travelers United Kingdom, January 30, 2014
As good as always

Location, Good Bar, Nice room
6.3
I've stayed at the Wharney a few times now and its always a steady hotel to stay.
Report this review
Previous page 1051 - 1060 of 4081 reviews Next page
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong KongThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - EntranceThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - EntranceThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus SuiteThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus SuiteThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus SuiteThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus Twin Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Lounge - Meeting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Deluxe Double Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Triple Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - EntranceThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Function RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza kuraudo Japanese RestaurantThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza kuraudo Japanese RestaurantThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Cannyman BarThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Cannyman BarThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Convention & Exhibition CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Nearby TransportThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03