My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese Restaurant The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational Facilities The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business Center The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man Bar The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business Center The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
Hotel Area: Wanchai Number of Rooms: 356
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
4426 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (4426)
Sort by:
Kai S. Business travelers Malaysia, August 26, 2012
Reasonable room space

Free wifi but only can 1 user
6.7
The location is great, the subway station is just nearby but there are too many pub around with lots of sexy girls, not recommend to family group. Room space is acceptable, free wifi but only 1 user can use. The service is friendly, my first room toilet bowl was not working then they swift another room for me immediately.
Paige E. Groups United States of America, August 26, 2012
The location is its only redeeming quality

Great location in Wan Chai - only a block from the metro; also close to lots of bars & restaurants (and strip clubs if that's your thing)
5.7
This was our third stay at the Wharney and, despite the great location, will probably be our last. While the issues we have wouldn't normally be deal breakers, we frequently go to HK as an escape from the Mainland, and therefore we expect a certain level of quality that is hard to find on the Mainland. But at the Wharney our experience has progressively become worse and doesn't reflect the class and caliber that is so prevalent at other hotels in Hong Kong. Firstly, the rooms (and especially the bathrooms) are in desperate need of renovation. What's worse, each time we've come we've been placed in an older room than the time before. Secondly, there is a rate of travel hotel amenities normally found in a hotel (namely shampoo/conditioner and bar soap). Thirdly, this hotel is huge and yet only has 3 small elevators. The lobby is a zoo during prime check-in/check-out hours. And once you finally get on the elevator with 15 of your closest friends, you will hear the same song every. single. time. Even for elevator music, that's bad. Seriously, if I know I will definitely hear "Unchained Melody" when I stay at your hotel, you need to change your music. Other than that, it's a great location for night life. But there are a dozen better options in the same price range.
Hotel Feature Tip: The gym is actually quite nice and spacious for a hotel. But early birds will be disappointed by the limited hours (especially weekend hours). Also, despite being on the main strip club drag of Wan Chai, the noise from the street has never disturbed our sleep.
Paul P. Business travelers United States of America, August 26, 2012
OK Hotel Not bad walk to EXPO Center

convientient to EXPO Center
7
Room just average, Breakfast just average, Lounge on 17th&19th floor not much to say good about. Gym is located in building adjenct to hotel but not easy to find.
Nightlife Tip: In the middle of the BAR scene
Poi C. Families with older children Brunei Darussalam, August 26, 2012
Hotel with good sized room but no so good bathroom

The room was very spacious for Hong Kong standard.
6.3
the hotel is situated on lockhart street. near the wanchai mtr. there a lot of restaurants and bars nearby. hop on the mtr and you are in causeway bay where there is good shopping. the room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. we stayed on the 20th floor and that meant a slow lift ride every time we needed to go in or out of our room. the toilet was not so good. after the "big job", it would take upto 4 flushes to get rid of the waste. the painful part was that the toilet tank took forever to be refilled. for that reason, i would avoid this hotel in the future.
Restaurant Tip: There are a couple of very good dim sum restaurants nearby the hotel.
Lanhsuan Y. Couples Taiwan, August 26, 2012
Good location for bar lover

MRT with in 5 mins walking distance
4.7
I do not appreciate the lobby customer rep's attitude, due to my late arrival, instead of one bed, hotel put me on two twin beds. The rep told me the rooms are all full and I should come earlier. He just point at the paperwork that he printed out and said "see, no notes and no more room with one bed". Moreover, the shower can't control the temp of the water, it was burning hot and I couldn't stand under it for more than few sec! bad service and I would never want to stay here or recommend anyone to stay here!
Greg R. Couples Australia, August 26, 2012
BEST LOCATION IN HONG KONG

LOCATION , FRIENDLY STAFF , GOOD SERVICE
7.7
Gareth B. Couples United Kingdom, August 26, 2012
Great location, wrong price and standard

Location, location, location
5
Overall the stay was OK, the rooms are very small and for what you pay are not what would be expected. Facilities were limited especially the bathroom amenities. However, the location is great, many taxis outside, the subway station very close by and many bus stops within short walking distance. Value for money, no, worth staying if the price was lower, yes.
David P. Business travelers Australia, August 25, 2012
Small but clean and functional rooms

Location is great.
8
Rooms are small but clean and very functional for the business traveller. House keeping staff are friendly and co-operative. Location is good for the business traveller.
David M. Business travelers Australia, August 25, 2012
Busy hotel in Busy location

Close to exhibition centre and night life
8
This is an extremely busy hotel. First room was 2 singles pushed together, not happy with that however the hotel made it easy to change to new room with a queen bed the next day so that was appreciated. The room was comfortable and overall happy with my stay. I usually stay at Metro Park in Wancahi however will definately consider staying athe the Wharney next time.
Gregory W. Couples United States of America, August 24, 2012
clean and small hotel

breakfast
6
The Beds were Much too hard. The first room was close to the elevator and we asked to be moved. They Moved us to another room that was Not quiet ready, It also smelled of smoke. We were told to stay there for one night and would be changed the next day. that never happened.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: If you don't want to stay close to girly bars then please go some where else. The next time I will stay in Kowloon. Better atmosphere and not too man old fat white men staring at my wife.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong KongThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese RestaurantThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational FacilitiesThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive roomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man BarThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Meeting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel Lobby

Customer Reviews - The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3B03