Sign in and get better rates!
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese Restaurant The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational Facilities The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business Center The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man Bar The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Meeting Room
Area: Wanchai Number of Rooms: 356
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
4804 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (4804)
Sort by:
Dmitry K. Groups Australia, September 1, 2012
Good location, standard Asian business hotel

location, cleanliness, helpful staff
8
This is more or less standard Asian business hotel. The location is good, A11 bus to/from the airport stops very nearby, Wan Chai metro station is close. I stayed at this hotel more than once. There is nothing seedy about the area - just a few night clubs and such, but they keep low profile. The hotel has swimming pool, but it is closed from 7pm, so I never used it. I used room service, and found their Asian menu a bit short and overpriced. The staff pointed me to the nice restaurant directly across the Lockhart Rd (look for the gold letters over black background), the restaurant is on the second floor and really popular with the locals. Good WiFi signal, nice showers, a touch noisy AC. Our room was facing an unexciting wall of the nearby building
Jennifer P. Couples United States of America, August 29, 2012
Terrible Service

Near Bars
3
Hotel service was terrible. We requested a non-smoking room during booking and was given a smoking room. When I asked the front desk to switch to a non-smoking room, without even checking, they said "nothing available". On the 2nd night (of my 6 night stay), I got some bug bites from the room. Called housekeeping to come clean our room and they said all they can do is give me new sheets to change on my own. In 3 nights, I got over 28 bug bites. When I showed it to the concierge and asked to change rooms or asked them to have someone clean our room, they said "you think too much, they're not bug bites, you're probably just allergic to something". I ended up buying those bug sprays and drowned myself with it before going to bed for the rest of my trip.
Hashiguchi T. Business travelers Japan, August 29, 2012
place surrounded by bars and pubs

location
7.7
Room a bit old but ok. Good location. Place is surrounded by bars and a bit of local restaurants. Would be good if you stay up late.
Moh C. Solo travelers Singapore, August 28, 2012
Good front desk staff

Convenient location
8.7
i remember some years ago this hotel being small and cramped but now it is a very lovely little hotel with very good front desk staff very friendly and knowledgeable. the lounge area is fresh and bright. the rooms are clean and comfortable and not too small if you are there only to sleep. bathroom is very clean and ok. only problem is the light switches as there are too many and difficult to control. the chinese restaurant has very good food, well decorated with god service and menu will stay again
Travel tip: Try their Chinese restaurant.
Alan H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, August 27, 2012
Good location but poor rooms.

Location. Canny Man bar in basement.
4.3
friendly front desk staff. room is very poor. carpet is threadbare and stained. numerous lumps on the floor, either the floor screed is damaged or the underlay is so old it has broken up. room and bathroom are kept clean, but look very tired and not worth the room rate. not a 4* hotel in my books, a passable 3* only. bed very hard, to the point where i ended up with a bad back. limited english language tv channel choice. sent messages by reception to reconfirm my leaving date and time, which i had already confirmed at check-in. cannot see myself ever going back to this hotel.
Hotel Feature Tip: Try out the Canny Man bar in the basement. Nice staff and good choice of drinks and food.
Kai S. Business travelers Malaysia, August 26, 2012
Reasonable room space

Free wifi but only can 1 user
6.7
The location is great, the subway station is just nearby but there are too many pub around with lots of sexy girls, not recommend to family group. Room space is acceptable, free wifi but only 1 user can use. The service is friendly, my first room toilet bowl was not working then they swift another room for me immediately.
Paige E. Groups United States of America, August 26, 2012
The location is its only redeeming quality

Great location in Wan Chai - only a block from the metro; also close to lots of bars & restaurants (and strip clubs if that's your thing)
5.7
This was our third stay at the Wharney and, despite the great location, will probably be our last. While the issues we have wouldn't normally be deal breakers, we frequently go to HK as an escape from the Mainland, and therefore we expect a certain level of quality that is hard to find on the Mainland. But at the Wharney our experience has progressively become worse and doesn't reflect the class and caliber that is so prevalent at other hotels in Hong Kong. Firstly, the rooms (and especially the bathrooms) are in desperate need of renovation. What's worse, each time we've come we've been placed in an older room than the time before. Secondly, there is a rate of travel hotel amenities normally found in a hotel (namely shampoo/conditioner and bar soap). Thirdly, this hotel is huge and yet only has 3 small elevators. The lobby is a zoo during prime check-in/check-out hours. And once you finally get on the elevator with 15 of your closest friends, you will hear the same song every. single. time. Even for elevator music, that's bad. Seriously, if I know I will definitely hear "Unchained Melody" when I stay at your hotel, you need to change your music. Other than that, it's a great location for night life. But there are a dozen better options in the same price range.
Hotel Feature Tip: The gym is actually quite nice and spacious for a hotel. But early birds will be disappointed by the limited hours (especially weekend hours). Also, despite being on the main strip club drag of Wan Chai, the noise from the street has never disturbed our sleep.
Paul P. Business travelers United States of America, August 26, 2012
OK Hotel Not bad walk to EXPO Center

convientient to EXPO Center
7
Room just average, Breakfast just average, Lounge on 17th&19th floor not much to say good about. Gym is located in building adjenct to hotel but not easy to find.
Nightlife Tip: In the middle of the BAR scene
Poi C. Families with older children Brunei Darussalam, August 26, 2012
Hotel with good sized room but no so good bathroom

The room was very spacious for Hong Kong standard.
6.3
the hotel is situated on lockhart street. near the wanchai mtr. there a lot of restaurants and bars nearby. hop on the mtr and you are in causeway bay where there is good shopping. the room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. we stayed on the 20th floor and that meant a slow lift ride every time we needed to go in or out of our room. the toilet was not so good. after the "big job", it would take upto 4 flushes to get rid of the waste. the painful part was that the toilet tank took forever to be refilled. for that reason, i would avoid this hotel in the future.
Restaurant Tip: There are a couple of very good dim sum restaurants nearby the hotel.
Lanhsuan Y. Couples Taiwan, August 26, 2012
Good location for bar lover

MRT with in 5 mins walking distance
4.7
I do not appreciate the lobby customer rep's attitude, due to my late arrival, instead of one bed, hotel put me on two twin beds. The rep told me the rooms are all full and I should come earlier. He just point at the paperwork that he printed out and said "see, no notes and no more room with one bed". Moreover, the shower can't control the temp of the water, it was burning hot and I couldn't stand under it for more than few sec! bad service and I would never want to stay here or recommend anyone to stay here!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong KongThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese RestaurantThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational FacilitiesThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive roomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man BarThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Meeting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Entrance

Customer Reviews - The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3B02