My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese Restaurant The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational Facilities The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business Center The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man Bar The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Meeting Room
Area: Wanchai Number of Rooms: 356
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
4732 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (4732)
Sort by:
Kwee C. Couples Singapore, May 5, 2012
Poor Public Relation

Location
6
I was not aware that my package only come with only 1 free breakfast. Very unhappy when I was asked to pay for another breakfast during my check out. Firstly, the receptionist never remind when I checked in with 2 passports. Secondly, the restaurant waitress never explain to me that I've to pay for the 2nd person when we enter the restaurant, she just asked me to carry on with the breakfast and after a while asked me sign on the receipt without saying a word. I thought that it was just a proved that we have taken the breakfast. During my check out, they just can't be bothered to my explanation and insisted me to pay because I've signed on the receipt. Money is not a problem but I strongly think that they must pay responsibility too.
Ivan T. Couples Denmark, May 4, 2012
Presentation at website more charming than reality

The coffee was great
4
compared to the website the hotel seems small and claustrophobic. this goes for the lobby areas, restaurant, corridors and room. we had bought the executive package including free drinks in the lounge. the lounge was at the size of a hotel room with a musty smell. the free drinks were limited to coffee, tea and water. due to ongoing construction the breakfast was referred to a small room at the 2nd. basement floor. this was a stuffy old function room, with worn out furniture and limited selection for breakfast. the only good thing about it was the coffee. free wifi means only one device at a time. access to business center is charged at 30 hkd for 15 minutes. this is not the level of service expected with an executive room.
Nightlife Tip: The hotel is located in the middle of the red light district - so it is not a family hotel.
Adrian C. Couples Singapore, May 4, 2012
Central location but small room

Hotel lobby
7
central locations with many night life, pubs, foot massage along the hotel street, hotel lobby is nice but rooms is quite small,we took the lift up to the 9th floor, there's a carpet weird smell, other than that, this hotel is worth for money.
Nightlife Tip: many pubs, night life along this hotel.
Nicholas N. Solo travelers Australia, May 4, 2012
Nice hotel but small rooms

Location is very central to Wanchai
6.3
the rooms are quite small, roughly 22 sq m but nicely appointed with 32" lcd's. staff are efficient and as friendly as they can manage given how busy the hotel gets. the foyer is nothing to speak of, very small and cramped really also the breakfast dining is in the basement which feels odd but the food is actually pretty good overall for valua for money its a good hotel
Nightlife Tip: This hotel is smack bang in the middle of a very busy night life area, loads of bars (some more dubious than others)
David P. Business travelers Australia, May 3, 2012
Good location but rooms are small and compact

Location.
7
Small compact rooms but adequate for working. Location is good right in the heart of Wanchai.
Richard Q. Solo travelers United States of America, May 3, 2012
Right in the middle of it all

Restaurants, MTR, shopping, night life, all within a 5 minute walk
7.3
this hotel is in the middle of all of it. especially if you are a foreigner. when you walk out of the door of the hotel, you need only to walk for about 30 seconds before you need to choose from british food, thai, mexican, pizza,,,whatever you want,,,it's all there. night life? all you want, right outside your door. also, the wanchai mtr station is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Andrew E. Business travelers Singapore, May 1, 2012
Not a good location for business

nothing
6
The room is small, service is fair. Near the red light district, far awy from subway station. Not many people know about this hotel. It is a budget hotel not business hotel in location
Nicholas P. Business travelers United Kingdom, May 1, 2012
Great for the conference centre

Walk to the conference centers and the are some good bars around
7
Rooms Are nice but the beds are like sleeping on a door, but that's Hong Kong hotel beds.
Hotel Feature Tip: Stay in the upper floors of the hotel. My friend was on the 8th floor and could hear the bars bellow
Sandra W. Couples May 1, 2012
good standard hotel at reasonable price for HK

Excellent location,comfortable bed.
8
Check in and out prompt and efficient.Helpful door staff as I needed extra assistance due to having to use a walking stick. Got us Taxis as near as possible. room comfortable and well equiped although small it had all that you needed. Would cetainly use again on future visits to Hong Kong
Sally J. Solo travelers New Zealand, May 1, 2012
Small rooms and very noisy

Was handy to the expo centre, was in a buzzy part of town, was very handy to the ferry, tram and train station
6
The room I had was very small but adequate. Unfortunately there was a lot of noise every night oustside my window even though I was on the 12 th floor. The partying noise went on til around 6 am every morning. The staff were very nice and helpful though.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong KongThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese RestaurantThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational FacilitiesThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive roomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man BarThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Meeting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Entrance

Customer Reviews - The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A02