or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese Restaurant The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational Facilities The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business Center The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man Bar The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Meeting Room
Area: Wanchai Number of Rooms: 356
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
4732 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (4732)
Sort by:
Lee S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 5, 2012
Good stay, very comfortable

Location and room clenliness
7
Comfortable stay. Room was clean, well maintained and staff helpful as always. Air conditioning needed adjustment, all done quickly and efficiently. Concierge organised fast suitcase repair and handled everything for us.
John L. Families with older children Philippines, April 4, 2012
Great location

Convinient, clean
7.3
Nice place to atay although the customer service can be better. I think the front desk should be more courteous and genuinely friendly. Also the room in the non-smoking floor smells like smoke. When we Complained they sprayed something ehich smells nice which is good. Also the area is very convinent. Near the mtr so wherever you want to go is easy
Lee S. Business travelers United Kingdom, April 4, 2012
Comfortable hotel, Friendly service

Location and service
7
cery comfortable stay again. room clean and well maintained. tv service needs reviewing as very poor choice of news channels. internet free, however does get overloaded at busy times. easy to get taxi outside. concierge very helpful for travel or help.
Restaurant Tip: Flying Pan for breakfast. Leave hotel turn left and is on 3rd floor just 20 meters walk away. Hotel breakfast is appalling, save money and taste buds and go there instead.
Marc R. Couples Netherlands, April 4, 2012
Good hotel, in the center of Wan Cai

The location.
8.3
The hotel is located in the middle of Wan Cai. Lockhart road. The star ferry is at walking distance for if you want to get to the other side of Victory bay.The staff is friendly. The rooms are reasonable size for Hong Kong standards.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Walk to star ferries and cross the water for HK2.50. Best view of Hong Kong.
Thomas G. Solo travelers April 4, 2012
Great Location, Comfortable Rooms

Location
9.7
The Wharney is my go-to hotel in Hong Kong when the price is right. The location is wonderful, being only a few minutes walk from the Wan Chai MTR station and surrounded by many food, drink, and entertainment establishments. The staff is always nice and helpful and check-in/out is always quick, painless, and easy. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and well kept. The hotel now offers free wi-fi, which is a recent development (maybe they read my other reviews where the lack of free wi-fi was my only complaint!). With that free wi-fi now in place, it's one of the best hotels in Hong Kong in my opinion, considering the location.I will definitely be staying here again!
Shopping Tip: If you're into electronics and computers, be sure to check out the Wan Chai Computer Mall. It's just outside the Wan Chai MTR station on Hennessey Road, next to the McDonalds. You can find pretty much anything you need electronics/computer-wise and prices are good. Bargaining is possible for many items.
Jilan Z. Solo travelers China, April 4, 2012
clean and not bad

the staff are very nice
10
when i live in the room,i feel clean and bright.i stay there 5days,if i go to hk,i will book this hotel again
Nightlife Tip: night life is very good
Ching-Wa L. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 4, 2012
Perfect as usual

great location in the middle of the bar area and two shopping districts on either side (causeway bay and admiralty)
7.7
i've been staying here on my visits to hk for many, many years. the location is perfect for me although it could be a bit rowdy and noisy if you're after peace and quiet (but then why come to hk!). it seems a bit arbitrary, sometimes i have to pay for wifi and sometimes it's included. this time it was included which is great. the only slight issue is there are many mainland chinese tourists staying here and they can be quite loud, shouting in the hallways etc. and the pillows for me were too big this time which gave me a sore neck but to be fair, i didn't ask for an alternative.
Ari H. Solo travelers Canada, April 4, 2012
Good but very noisy

Great breakfast and good location
8.3
I think this hotel offers good value for money with a very good location and an amazing breakfast. However, the room was very noisy despite being on the 13th floor and I am not usually sensitive to noise when I am tired and sleepy. The noise did keep me awake though. The gym is not great and shouldn't really be taken into account when choosing this hotel, however there is a great and major gym about a 5 minute walk from the hotel on the pedestrian overpass on the way to take the ferries. The staff at the hotel are just OK - some very friendly and try to go out of their way to answer your questions whilst other give the impression of being bothered.
Ma T. Couples Philippines, April 4, 2012
Nice hotel and very near mtr station.

Good size clean room, comfy bed and several choices fot breakfast buffet.
8.7
i am happy we booked at wharney. this was our first time at the hong kong side so i just went to agoda and booked here. i was concerned about the the noise from the bars as others mentioned in their comments, but there was none. it's not recommended for families though as there are girly bars in the area. it's a short walk to the mtr and 2 blocks to the tram road where you can find good bargains. near the hotel is a great italian restaurant amici and if your in the mood for more local food check out the hay kay chicken near the station, they serve sucklng pig, peking duck and many more.
Hotel Feature Tip: we were able to try 2 restaurants in the area amici if your in the mood for great pizza and hay kay chicken if you want more of the local food. try their suckling pig and peking duck they're really good. 2 blocks from the hotel is the tram road where you can find lots of bargains. finally across the street is a 7-11 for any quick fix you may need.
Qin K. Couples China, April 4, 2012
Good location and service

Good location, lovely bars around
6.7
We stayed there for honeymoon, it located at a lovely street, many nice bars around. Soccer fans gathered in the bars, excited, but not noisy. Rooms were small, but clean and polite services. Good feeling. Maybe lifters were some times too small.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong KongThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese RestaurantThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational FacilitiesThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive roomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man BarThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Meeting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Entrance

Customer Reviews - The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3C07