or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese Restaurant The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double Room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational Facilities The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business Center The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Reception The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Interior The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive room The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese Cuisine The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby Lounge The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man Bar The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Meeting Room
Area: Wanchai Number of Rooms: 356
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
4737 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (4737)
Sort by:
Ruth V. Solo travelers United States of America, June 14, 2011
Oasis in the middle of swinging nightlife

Good value, Excellent service, Aviary
8.3
for those who relish nightlife, this hotel is in the middle of the action. the hotel staff is very helpful, answering my questions about getting to the airport and to macau. they were also very helpful when the computer did not work in the business center. bathtub and shower was small in the room where i stayed.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: a 15-minute walk away is hong kong park, a large park with a walk-through aviary, playground, conservatory and lots of healthy plant life. beyond the park is a botanical garden that features a small zoo. both are free to the public. a 10-minute walk away from pacific plaza, a lovely up-scale mall. 20-minute walk from central and the escalator street up to soho.
Aditya J. Solo travelers India, June 14, 2011
Overrated and utterly poor

the room had a bed, not even a good one
3.3
Reading previous reviews on Agoda, i got the distinct impression that the Wharney Gauang Dong would be a decent hotel. However i was proved wrong, the hotel is comprised of 300 hundred or whatever small, uncomfortable and shady rooms. The staff despite being enthusiastic is disappointingly unhelpful. The restaurants aren't that much better, the bar is in a basement dark and dingy. The biggest turn off was that the hotel is located in the heart of the red light district so unless thats your 'cup of tea' i would suggest going elsewhere. Lan Kwai Fong is much better alternative. But if your that money sensitive traveler that can hack anything for a couple of days, go ahead and stay here. I trust that you wil share my opinion once you leave. Cheers
Restaurant Tip: TIM HO WAN in mong kok, kowloon, hong kong. Don't let the undiscerning storefront fool you— Tim Ho Wan is an award-winning eatery that serves up some of the city's best dim sum. Opened by a former Four Seasons Hotel chef, this humble Mong Kok eatery makes all of its shrimp dumplings, roast pork-filled rice rolls, siu mai pork dumplings, and such, fresh to order. It's top-quality food at dirt-cheap prices. But be warned—the shop is small, and its popularity is immense. So go at off hours between 2:30 pm and 5 pm, or you might find yourself waiting up to half an hour for a seat.
Malcolm A. Solo travelers Australia, June 14, 2011
Great location, rooms comfortable and clean.

a good budget hotel. met my expectations.
6.7
i was there for one night and spent most of mmy time out and about. on arrival and departure the staff were very efficient.
Nightlife Tip: within a 5 minute walk around the block you will come upon many bars and restuarants. a variety of beers and international cusines are available. some of the bars have fillipino bands playing all kinds of music and if you are up for it they will invite you to sing with them.
Ting Z. Business travelers China, June 13, 2011
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Convenient
6
the hotel service is just okay , not that good , but just so so, and the hotel room is quite small but clean.
Ruth V. Solo travelers United States of America, June 13, 2011
Classy hotel in the midst of lively nightlife

Professional staff
9.3
Good location for those wishing easy access to a variety of restaurants, bars, visits to Hong Park, the botanical gardens, the Central Escalator, ferry to Macau and to Kalwoon, the subway, the Plaza shopping mall at a reasonable price. The concierge was very helpful in explaining my options to get to the airport. Clean, comfortable room. A bit small but most hotel rooms in Hong Kong are small.
Restaurant Tip: Across the street is an inexpensive restaurant serving delicious Indian and some Middle Eastern dishes.
Phillip J. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 13, 2011
great location but rooms need a makeover

location
4.7
did not get the room i wanted. room was clean but not frsh. bedsheets were very iold sheets and like the room not fresh. tv choices was very poor. overal roo impression tired and needs updating. front desk serviec every poor.
Colin O. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 13, 2011
Conveniently Located hotel in Wanchai

Location for Wanchai
7
wgh is right in the centre of the night life in wanchai. if you are coming for the bars then this is right at ground zero. there is a good bar (the canny man) in the basement that shows sports and has a good selection of whisky. solid 3 star hotel. not great, not bad - just exactly what you would expect.
Restaurant Tip: Indian restaurant opposite hotel that serves Curry on the balcony, great for drinking beer and watching the fun on the street below.
Michael C. Business travelers United States of America, June 13, 2011
Great location at a great price

location, clean hotel
8.7
great location, able to walk to many places, including convention center.
James F. Business travelers United Kingdom, June 12, 2011
Good location and rooms adequate

close to mtr, and has all facilities required within walking distance
9.3
staff friendly, check in, check out very efficient, hotel decor appealing, downstairs bar has a good atmosphere. rooms are fitted out nice, tv has several englisn channels. location excellent, short walk to mtr station, would recommend for all types of traveler as hotel has an informal atmosphere. ideal hotel for family with children. plenty of night life and some good bars were children are made welcome. excellent value for money, if booked through internet. will return on my next visit to hong kong
Michael P. Business travelers Sweden, June 11, 2011
poor hotel service for $$$$$

Put Another Dollar In
2.7
I was expecting at least a clean room, internet connection and breakfast. This hotel are rating as 4-star hotel but my room was pretty dirty when i arrived, I would say they only change the bed sheet from the previous guest. The room was very small and noisy due to the busy night life outside. No free internet connection and no breakfast. The breakfast in the hotel was $16 and not worth it. Lucky I found a "subway" around the corner. I will never stay in this hotel again for sure, there is much better hotel with better service then this hotel for lesser rate.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong KongThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza Kuraudo - Japanese RestaurantThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Triple RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Recreational FacilitiesThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Pub/LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive roomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fu Tung Cantonese CuisineThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Canny Man BarThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Meeting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Entrance

Customer Reviews - The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3C03