Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.4

based on 6025 reviews

4075 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (6025)
Sort by:
Lawrence C. Business travelers Singapore, October 21, 2015
The Wharney

pleasant place to stay and convenient location
8.3
Report this review
Steven A. Business travelers Canada, October 20, 2015
Comfortable and Relaxing

Location, Comfortable and Relaxing
9.3
The stay was great as always. I need a non-smoking room and keep getting upgraded. The beds are always comfortable and large with plenty of hot water. The shower area in the deluxe room is too small and you need to use the main bathroom, which floods as there is no drain. It is in the centre of the Wan Chai night life district. The only bad thing about the hotel is the number of ladies the night standing on the hotel property blocking the entrance or sitting on the concrete outside propositioning hotel guests as they walk in with their wife when security is not around. This is amusing to irritating.
Report this review
Noor S. Families with young children Singapore, October 18, 2015
Excellent value overall

1) Price 2) Transportation links 3) Halal food available close by
8.7
What we liked: - Excellent value for money - Very convenient location. Free shuttle bus provided to the hotel from Hong Kong Station if you're taking the Airport Express. Wan Chai MTR station, which is 2 stops away from Hong Kong station is a short walking distance away. - Free smartphone provided throughout the duration of the stay. - Two 7-11 stores right across the street if you need anything. - Halal kebabs across the street for muslim travellers. The Islamic Centre Canteen is a short tram/bus/taxi ride away. What we didn't like (but is not a deal-breaker): - I reckon it had already been written by other guests (which I failed to notice), but on our walk back from Wan Chai MTR to the hotel on a Saturday night at around 11pm, we had to navigate around some the pub-goers spilling over onto the crowded walkways.
Report this review
John M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 18, 2015
Good Hotel

Location, clean, good staff
7.7
The hotel is well located for the Hong Kong night life. it is a very clean hotel, but the swimming pool is very small
Report this review
Martin Z. Business travelers Germany, October 16, 2015
All about location

Location,
6.3
GDH is all about location. The nice lobby does not reflect the standard of the rooms. The rooms are aged but ok for the space they offer. I think there are renovations ongoing and after it could be perfect...we will see.
Report this review
Richard S. Business travelers United States of America, October 16, 2015
Moldy Bathroom

location, location, location
4.3
I travel to Asia several times a year. I know HK hotels and this was the worst I have ever stayed. I prepaid the room 2 weeks in advance. Booked a non-smoking, king bed. Checked in and was told they only had double beds. Not a huge issue so far. First room was a non-smoking floor, but the entire floor stunk of smoke. The room had severe mold in the bath, like it had never been cleaned. They changed the room to a new floor that smelled better, but the bath was equally moldy. They told me there were no other rooms until the next day. So I took the room since HK was mostly sold out due to the trade show, and it was getting late. At about 11PM a giant cloud of cigarette smoke came through the AC into the room. Not a great night... I think non-smoking is just a suggestion in HK. Next day they did change the room and that room was OK, no mold and a queen bed. Their work out room and pool were both under construction with no notice on their website and no options offered. This was not a cheap room. I would not stay at this place ever again. It might be a 4 star hotel, but that is out of 100 stars.
Report this review
Huang J. Business travelers China, October 13, 2015
Location
5.3
Location near to wanchai exhibition Distance within by walk
Report this review
Gordon R. Business travelers United Kingdom, October 12, 2015
Whaney Wanchai

free smart phone. location. on airport bus route
8.7
Excellent
Report this review
Montague W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 12, 2015
Inaccurately described on Agoda

Good location, close to transport links, fairly quiet
7
Adequate for the inflated price range in Hong Kong Island. Small room, tidy, slow wifi speed but reliable, two very small bottles of free water per day. It's on the free shuttle bus route from HK rail station so your Airport Express train ticket gets you from HK station to this hotel free. Also v close to the tram line and MTR underground train. Very close to two 7-11 shops for cheap stuff. I chose this hotel because of the pool and gym but was told on arrival that they were shut for a few months for rebuilding (until Feb 2016 I think). They should not be advertising a gym and a pool on Agoda when they cannot deliver the goods.
Report this review
James D. Business travelers Australia, October 12, 2015
My stay at the Warney

Location location and location
7.3
Bedding a little old and only 2 pillows . Rooms are a bit small but convenient . I will stay here again . A little overpriced
Report this review
Previous page 241 - 250 of 4075 reviews Next page
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong KongThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - EntranceThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - EntranceThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus SuiteThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus SuiteThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus SuiteThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus Twin Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Plus RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Lounge - Meeting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Junior Suite-Sitting RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Deluxe Double Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Twin Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Double Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Triple Bed RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - EntranceThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Business CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Function RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza kuraudo Japanese RestaurantThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Ginza kuraudo Japanese RestaurantThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Cannyman BarThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Cannyman BarThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Executive LoungeThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Convention & Exhibition CenterThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Nearby TransportThe Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A01