or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thenu Rest Guest House

12, Hospital Street, Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Double Bed Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Double Bed Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Separate Beds Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Double Bed Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Main lobby of the Hotel Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Pub/Lounge Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Hotel street Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - A Entrance to the Galle Fort Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Dutch hospital Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Light House Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Mosque Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Rampart Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Galle Fort Bastian Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Beach View Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Beach View Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Beach View
Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Nearby Attraction Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Balcony/Terrace Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Exterior Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Lobby Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Nearby Attraction Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Suite Room Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Suite Room Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Balcony/Terrace Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - Lobby
Area: Galle Fort Number of Rooms: 5
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
152 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (152)
Sort by:
Ruben Z. Couples Italy, December 27, 2013
Nice stay at Thenu Rest

location, staff, mosquito net
9
Family run guest house in a great location within Galle Fort. Both husband and wife were very friendly and kind, they had a small dog that was really funny (they live in the same building). Place was clean, breakfast was good (standard Sri Lankan accomodation breakfast with eggs, jam, bread and fruit juices), room although old was comfortable. The mosquito net on the bed was a real plus: we had several hours of undisturbed rest. Good value for money (~38USD)
Gemma P. Couples United Kingdom, December 5, 2013
Ok to stay for 1 night

The location was central. The bed was comfortable enough
6.7
This place was ok to stay for 1 night. Galle fort it more expensive to stay than elsewhere and I don't think sells alcohol. The room was clean. Bed was comfy enough although a bit short to sleep on and sheet wasn't really big enough for both of us. Bathroom was okay but pretty old. Breakfast was nice- a tasty omelet, toast and smoothie although we were waiting for over 30 minutes for it to arrive.
Kareena L. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 8, 2013
Galle Fort is full of history

location, staff knowledge and easygoing
8
the fort itself is full of interesting buildings and antique shops and musuems. The hotel is in a great location and has an easy going atmosphere with a little balcony area for guests. The owner answered questions about the are, offered help when needed and wasnt pushy.
Ellen F. Couples Australia, September 3, 2013
Great location central in Galle

Location, air con, privacy
7.7
Our air con room was on the second floor, some stairs but nice and private. Great location, walking distance to lots of things. Near the ocean and the fort walls.
Eleonore M. Couples France, August 30, 2013
quick and unique stay !

good location and that's it !
4.7
staff or not staff it would have been the same only cold water bathroom quite dirty and not practical unavailable wifi
Manfred W. Families with older children Germany, August 12, 2013
Simple, convenient, good location

The Guest House is located in a 'tourist hot spot", the price is justified if one considers that whole Galle is overprized, nice old fashioned bed with 'kitsch mosquito net"
6.7
We were satisfied with our stay. For this price level one cannot expect more in Galle Fort. The staff was friendly. It was a bit confusing that the price mentioned in Agoda did not include breakfast. We wanted to leave the hotel after breakfast, assuming that we had paid everything. We felt awkward, when we were reminded to pay the breakfast. When checking the booking we found that we had overlooked the fact that breakfast was not mentioned in the room rate. So, it was our fault, but one is used to prices with breakfast included.
Eric L. Couples France, August 7, 2013
Historical city worths a visit

Good location. Affordable. Nice people
6.3
The hotel has no direct sea view due to he old hospital in front of it. My room was in the back ; I was disappointed as I had asked a front room. The owners do not speak good english and have a lack of professionalism.
Dilshaan P. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, August 4, 2013
Nice budget hotel

Room, location bedding
7
Hee J. Solo travelers South Korea, July 28, 2013
Good value for money

Friendly staff, quietness and location
8.3
I stayed here alone but safe and quiet place to spend time. Family owned hostel but staffs are all friendly and willing to help. Price is reasonable, and location is lovely. Near it, there is a light house and beach. They helped me to organized my trip to Galle-around and that was also good. But only problem was the room I chose, I chose non-ariconditional room, it was so hot!
Krzysztof K. Couples Poland, July 21, 2013
Simple guest house in the heart of Galle.

good location
6.7
Thenu Rest is simple and perfectly located place to stay. Our room was quite large and rather clean, bed had a mosquito net. Our general impression was ok, but it's bit overpriced.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - View of the Hotel EntranceThenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Double BedThenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Double BedThenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Separate BedsThenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Double BedThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Main lobby of the HotelThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Pub/LoungeThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Hotel streetThenu Rest Guest House Galle - A Entrance to the Galle FortThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Dutch hospitalThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Light HouseThenu Rest Guest House Galle - MosqueThenu Rest Guest House Galle - RampartThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Galle Fort BastianThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Beach ViewThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Beach ViewThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Beach ViewThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Nearby AttractionThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Balcony/TerraceThenu Rest Guest House Galle - ExteriorThenu Rest Guest House Galle - LobbyThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Nearby AttractionThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Suite RoomThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Suite RoomThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Balcony/TerraceThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Lobby


AS-AGWEB-3C03