Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thenu Rest Guest House

12, Hospital Street, Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.3

based on 193 reviews

133 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (193)
Sort by:
Kin F. Couples Malaysia, April 11, 2016
Good location
5.3
Good location, just in front of the ocean, room is clean and nice decoration, just the staff not so friendly, check out time is 10.30-11am, he will knock your door on 10.30am and ask u check out and their only provide 1 towel for 2 person and the water pressure is low.
Report this review
Lucia T. Couples Italy, February 22, 2016
do not go to this place
2.7
a really bad place, bad as they are the owner and his wife. They see tourists only as moneys walking. No thank you and no welcome, very rude. their only thoughts are only about money. they claim to be Buddhists but have the philosophy of unscrupulous banker. It is a month that around Sri Lanka, and is the first time I encountered such bad people.
Report this review
Mengmeng W. Groups China, February 19, 2016
The location of Thenu Rest Guest House is good.

Location
6.7
Not bad
Report this review
Hillary L. Groups United States of America, January 19, 2016
Great location, minimal amenities, no parking!!
5.7
We were looking for a basic place to stay and Thenu was perfect. Owners were very friendly, location is fantastic, breakfast was wonderful. However, we arrived with a driver and there was nowhere for him to park or stay, so we had to make arrangements for him. This is a drawback to many of Galle Fort's smaller rest houses, I think, but something to ask about in advance.
Report this review
Catherine W. Solo travelers Australia, January 13, 2016
Great location and homely place

Location, Breakfast, Air Conditioning
8.3
This Guest House was very homely, and the family that run it are welcoming. It is a great location within the Galle Fort. My room was comfortable, although the curtains on the window were very thin - the owner advised me that the windows were tinted from the outside so nobody would be able to see in, but it was disconcerting. Otherwise a nice place to stay for the price.
Report this review
Yeensee C. Groups Malaysia, December 23, 2015
Great Location

Confortable, friendly and clean
9.7
Great
Report this review
Lee Z. Couples Singapore, December 22, 2015
AWFUL. Stay somewhere else!
2.7
This hotel is awful and does not deserve the 7.3 rating shown here. We were horrified at the room, which was very basic - just 2 beds, towels were old and crummy, no complimentary water, lots of bugs and mosquitoes (the mosquito net wasn't useful), bathroom was dim, water from the shower was trickling, wifi was slow. We couldn't sleep the whole night because someone turned on the TV really loud (it wasn't a guest; there are no TVs in the room). The service staff seemed really unhelpful and unfriendly - they weren't pleased that we tried to ask for breakfast to be packed for our late morning departure. It is interesting we had such a bad experience bc all the other reviews about the service were positive and they were mainly European reviewers. I wonder if it is because we were Asian. It is in a good location, but if you pay more you can get a better place within Galle Fort. Stay somewhere else if you can.
Report this review
Evan F. Couples Australia, December 22, 2015
duck your head!

outdoor space adjacent to room, central location, nice owners
7.7
very good but watch out for some low ceilings and door jams :D
Report this review
Yvonne G. Couples Netherlands, November 7, 2015
In the fort

Location, Bread by breakfast, location
9.3
Just across the old dutch hospital, that is now a center with restaurants and shops. Good room with two beds and a big bathroom. A lot of hot water. Great breakfast with good bread and a lot of fruit. Take a room with airco, because it is humid and hot in Galle.
Report this review
Yul K. Couples United States of America, April 18, 2015
Good location

location,clean.
7.3
Good location , room are simple and clean.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 133 reviews Next page
Thenu Rest Guest House Galle - View of the Hotel EntranceThenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Double BedThenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Double BedThenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Separate BedsThenu Rest Guest House Galle - AC Double BedThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Main lobby of the HotelThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Pub/LoungeThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Hotel streetThenu Rest Guest House Galle - A Entrance to the Galle FortThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Dutch hospitalThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Light HouseThenu Rest Guest House Galle - MosqueThenu Rest Guest House Galle - RampartThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Galle Fort BastianThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Beach ViewThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Beach ViewThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Beach ViewThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Nearby AttractionThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Balcony/TerraceThenu Rest Guest House Galle - ExteriorThenu Rest Guest House Galle - LobbyThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Nearby AttractionThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Suite RoomThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Suite RoomThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Balcony/TerraceThenu Rest Guest House Galle - Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08