Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Theva Residency

11/B5/10-1, 6th Lane, Off Circular Road 2, Hantana, Hantana, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Theva
Theva Residency Kandy - Entrance Theva Residency Kandy - Swimming Pool Theva Residency Kandy - Restaurant Theva Residency Kandy - Restaurant Theva Residency Kandy - View Theva Residency Kandy - Restaurant Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Swimming Pool Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Interior Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Recreational Facilities Theva Residency Kandy - Swimming Pool Theva Residency Kandy - Swimming Pool
Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Balcony/Terrace Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Interior Theva Residency Kandy - Interior Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Guest Room Theva Residency Kandy - Swimming Pool Theva Residency Kandy - Bathroom Theva Residency Kandy - Recreational Facilities
Area: Hantana Number of Rooms: 15

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.5

based on
262 reviews

161 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.7
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (262)
Sort by:
Robin P. Couples United Kingdom, December 24, 2015
Theva is over priced and overrated

View, food, drinks
5.7
Our stay at Theva whilst was alright was far below what we expected. Massively over priced. We got a suite and it was average at VERY best. We asked before hand for a particular room which the hotel agreed too. We turn up and they've given us the room we absolutely did not want. Of course peak season meant there was no others available. The view is amazing I cannot fault it. The food was really good actually and they have some amazing cocktails. The restaurant staff were sooo great, their hotel staff were absolutely useless. Our fridge wasn't working, we asked them to fix it. They forgot. We had to ask twice again. When leaving we mentioned the fact that they messed up with the rooms. The manager was rude and bound about the whole situation even though I had email proof that we was promised a certain room. The hotel itself isn't bad but is well below luxurious. It is clean but tacky. Deco is nothing short of weird.. It has an amazing view but this is at the cost of relative location to the city. It is about a 5-10 drive from Kandy city center and it up high so walking isn't really convenient. Overall I wouldn't have minded staying at this hotel if I knew what I was getting from the start but the prices they ask is well above what you expect to receive. I wanted luxury, the only thing luxury about this hotel is how high the prices were. In my opinion it is far from 5 star.
Report this review
Christopher A. Couples Canada, December 11, 2015
Not a five-star hotel

Nice view of the hills around Kandy, high up on a hill so the air is cooler, and view of a sunset from hotel was amazing
3.3
The hotel has a modern decor, but wasn't as clean as any other five-star hotel; I thought the bed and pillows had a slight unpleasant musky odor. One night I was there the house next door played very, very loud music party till 1:30 am, and no security or front desk staff were around the hotel to answer the phone or help. And, I was encouraged by the hotel manager to tip the staff more. Disappointing experience.
Report this review
Kazuhiro I. Couples Thailand, December 8, 2015
Nice location with beautiful mountains view.

Food was excellent, especially breakfast. Good service with hospitality
8.3
Report this review
Naoufal A. Couples Morocco, December 4, 2015
Stay away!!

View and that's it.
4.7
Very poor stay. No hot water in the room, and they could not fix it in 24 hours which means we could not take a shower in our room!! The room was very noisy and we could not sleep as you could hear the staff cleaning the restaurant until late!! The food is overpriced, and very normal. I guess they take advantage of the fact that the hotel is very far from the city, so it's basically take it or leave it.. Overall very poor and will not be going back.
Report this review
David N. Couples United Kingdom, November 12, 2015
Theva

The view, room size, breakfast with a view
7.7
Dinner seemed expensive, very western, and not of the quality I would expect from a 5* resort. Breakfast was pretty good, although I don;t think the juice was actually freshly squeezed and they could do with actually toasting the bread instead of waving it under a grill for 5 seconds (a fault at almost every hotel I have ever stayed in for some reason) Other than that, the views are stunning, the room was fantastic, and staff were great. Would definitely recommend to stay, just go out for dinner.
Report this review
Chandana A. Families with young children Brunei Darussalam, November 8, 2015
Awesome Place but with Overprized Food

Friendly Staff, Awesome Location, Good Food
8.7
Report this review
Ramkamal B. Couples India, October 30, 2015
Comfortable stay, Friendly Staff, excellent food

Food, Cleanliness, scenic view
9
Stayed for 3 days. Very friendly staff, excellent scenic view. Food though overpriced is excellent. The hotel and the room was very clean. Approach to the hotel is scary especially at night with no street lights and zero visibility. The hotel is situated over hill top and could get to see a beautiful mountain view sipping tea from the room balcony. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nothing to complain about.
Report this review
Christo C. Groups United Kingdom, October 28, 2015
Just Charming

Food, Service and attentive staff
10
Absolutely fantastic will be back for a longer stay soon
Report this review
Nassib S. Couples Lebanon, October 5, 2015
Great Staff

Hospitality Food Style
8.3
Report this review
Moshe C. Couples Israel, September 24, 2015
Terrible Hotel, Would not recommend anyone to go

the view, which is nice
2
We were on our honey moon during our stay at Theva. We looked for a really nice hotel to celebrate and after reading the comments we thought this is a great hotel.Before I note the below I must say - we are not the complaining type and we visited many other hotels in Sri Lanka and worldwide before getting to this hotel. So, because of the following reasons we had a terrible stay, hope someone from the hotel will be able to see it and replay because we are stil in shock: 1. Very expensive rooms for not that high standard - basic rooms are small and simle and view is not that good from there. Penthouse is nice overall but windows are thin so you hear everyone and also everyone can see you from the lobby floor.2. We had a terrible nigt sleepig because (all) hotel beds are just not good, so we had to cancel our plans in Kandy and stay at the hotel to rest, the hotel is located far from Kandy (15 min with car) so we had to ear lunch and dinner at hotel - food is the most expensive we had all over sri lanka, just to make it even more clear -Dinner - 70$ for: 1 started (3 shrimps with a small slice of Avocado, we were amazed how lame was that), 2 main dishes (salmon and canalonni) and 1 bottle of soda (7$!)Another 60$ for snack at the pool and wine. I know that back in my hometown this is the avarage prices, but here in Sri Lanka this is the most expensive we had and HONESTLY for NO REASON. I must say we said to the hotel manager everything right in place, he was nice trying to help but he could not do anything due to the fact that any decision must be recevied by the General Manager who is not at the hotel and wouldnt answer any of his call. After long time he tried to catch her, she just said there is nothing they can do to make us feel happier.In total we have payed the most expensive we have payed here and For no reason.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 161 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Theva Residency KandyTheva Residency Kandy - EntranceTheva Residency Kandy - Swimming PoolTheva Residency Kandy - RestaurantTheva Residency Kandy - RestaurantTheva Residency Kandy - ViewTheva Residency Kandy - RestaurantTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Swimming PoolTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - InteriorTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Recreational FacilitiesTheva Residency Kandy - Swimming PoolTheva Residency Kandy - Swimming PoolTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Balcony/TerraceTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - InteriorTheva Residency Kandy - InteriorTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Swimming PoolTheva Residency Kandy - BathroomTheva Residency Kandy - Recreational FacilitiesTheva Residency Kandy - RestaurantTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - ViewTheva Residency Kandy - Swimming PoolTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - ViewTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - ViewTheva Residency Kandy - ExteriorTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - RestaurantTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - RestaurantTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - ExteriorTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Recreational FacilitiesTheva Residency Kandy - InteriorTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - ViewTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - ViewTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - ViewTheva Residency Kandy - Balcony/TerraceTheva Residency Kandy - Balcony/TerraceTheva Residency Kandy - InteriorTheva Residency Kandy - Guest RoomTheva Residency Kandy - Interior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07