Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 292 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.6

Huda A. from Kuwait
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
100% very good
Excellent hotel start from the very kindness manager , he make upgrade for our room cus we was in hony moon the food was delicious & the staff was amazing helpfull
Reviewed July 01, 2016

Ben C. from United Arab Emirates
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Weekend Away
Amazing weekend retreat in the hills of Kandy. Views where unbelievable especially if you go for the top suite. If We visit Kandy again, we'd definitely go back.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

Ibrahim Y. from United Arab Emirates
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Highly recommended
Me and my wife stayed for 2 nights in theva residence... view was stunning from the room... breakfast was rich with different choices... special thanx to mr. Russle, the manager and his team for the great stay... ibhighly recommend staying this this beautiful hotel.
Reviewed April 06, 2016

Ray S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2016
A great one nght stopover
This was a one night stop over booked in-country to include Kandy in the itinerary. Once our driver found it in the dark and the rain/electric storm it worked well and provided the comfort and welcome we needed. Food was great. Dinner service was a little on the slow side but breakfast on the open air terrace with a view was fine. Wifi failed (allegedly becasue of the storm). The agoda rate was considerably better than the direct rate but the hotel directed me to agoda so no problem..
Reviewed April 04, 2016

Michael M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Compact, modern. Not walking distance from Kandy
Our room was smallish but modern with a good view over Kandy below. The outdoor eating area also had great views which complimented the excellenct food and made dining a very enjoyable experience.
Enjoyable. Many positives. It is compact not spacious. It is NOT within walking distance of Kandy but can get there in a tuk tuk for 450 -500 rupèes.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

Anwar S. from Saudi Arabia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Excellent view and very good resturant menu
The room view, the resturant view and menu
Excellent except the exaggerated room rate.
Reviewed March 16, 2016

Faisal A. from Saudi Arabia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Bad bad rooms
This is not hotel at all. Calling this as hotel and 5 stars is cheating. The room is very dirty and bad. I recommend to Agoda not to deal anymore with this bad facility.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Khalid A. from Kuwait
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Awful stay
The place were located remotely far from Kandy and the way to that place at night is creepy. Bed sheets, towels were heavily consumed. The bath tub was in a miss. The room wasn't clean.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Lindsey K. from United Arab Emirates
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Amazing hotel and staff
The staff, view from the hotel, and service
We had an amazing stay at Theva! The view from the penthouse suite was gorgeous! The staff were so kind and attentive! Couldn't have asked for a better experience, Would absolutely stay there again!
Reviewed February 16, 2016

Robin P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Theva is over priced and overrated
View, food, drinks
Our stay at Theva whilst was alright was far below what we expected. Massively over priced. We got a suite and it was average at VERY best. We asked before hand for a particular room which the hotel agreed too. We turn up and they've given us the room we absolutely did not want. Of course peak season meant there was no others available. The view is amazing I cannot fault it. The food was really good actually and they have some amazing cocktails. The restaurant staff were sooo great, their hotel staff were absolutely useless. Our fridge wasn't working, we asked them to fix it. They forgot. We had to ask twice again. When leaving we mentioned the fact that they messed up with the rooms. The manager was rude and bound about the whole situation even though I had email proof that we was promised a certain room. The hotel itself isn't bad but is well below luxurious. It is clean but tacky. Deco is nothing short of weird.. It has an amazing view but this is at the cost of relative location to the city. It is about a 5-10 drive from Kandy city center and it up high so walking isn't really convenient. Overall I wouldn't have minded staying at this hotel if I knew what I was getting from the start but the prices they ask is well above what you expect to receive. I wanted luxury, the only thing luxury about this hotel is how high the prices were. In my opinion it is far from 5 star.
Reviewed January 04, 2016