Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 138 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 5.5
Sort by

Karl H. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Clean, Honest, Nice, Friendly
Very clean, comfortable and Super nice owners
Owners are very nice, honest and helpful. Great little quiet alley with cheap food and friendly folks. You cant go wrong here.
Reviewed March 11, 2015

Eddie L. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
awesome experience
helpful staff, safe, reliable!
as no food was provided, it isnt applicable. hotel is clean but there is no elevator. female owner of thien hong is kind to bring me to "Chinatown" via bus to shop for dried seafood. its really a value added service done by her. really appreciated her efforts to show me around. hotel was generally clean and comfortable to stay in. But it would be better if a stool is provided for in the room.
Reviewed January 15, 2015

Richard H. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Nice, friendly and central
Location!
We used this hotel as a base for a short transit stay to Ho Chi Minh and it served its purpose well. We weren't thrilled by the cleanliness as there were piles of stuff everywhere and there seemed to be a layer of dust around, however it was secure, beds OK and we were able to get to all the major attractions relatively quickly, Walking out of the laneway the Hotel is located on brought us to the real tourist centre of town so food, mini-marts and so on were readily available.
Reviewed December 06, 2014

Angela G. from Brazil
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Good value for money
Location, shower, price
We had a very pleasant stay at Thien Hong. The staff was nice, always telling us to watch our backs for pickpockets, the room was alright, but bet of all was the location. We had lots of eating and shopping options around the hotel, and it was also within walking distance of the main sights in HCMC. Very good value for money.
Reviewed November 08, 2014

Danielle L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Great location and comfortable hotel
Great location, nice and quiet, comfortable and clean
Enjoyed our 6 nights here. The hotel is well located down a quiet little alleyway in the heart of the tourist area of HCMC. While our room (102) was small (no good for really big bags I would suggest) it was clean and comfortable. Wifi was very quick and the hot shower was the best I have had in ages for both temp and pressure. Across the alley is a great cheap restaurant with local fare that was tasty and well priced. The owners of the hotel speak enough English to make it easy to get advice and were easy going and friendly. Even having to let get up to let us back in at midnight or 2am was not a problem. Great security and felt very comfortable and safe. Would highly recommend this place. It is not super luxury but it is good value and in a great spot.
Reviewed September 16, 2014

XIN Z. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Good staff and good price
Helpful staff, good location, cheap price
I really like the boss and the staff here. They are so kind and help me a lot during my trip. Clean room and great location near Phan Nhu Lao street.
Reviewed September 13, 2014

susanne W. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Disappointing
Location
Tiniest room I had in 5 weeks! Room smelled and needed desparetly some renovation work. It is not a hotel but a guesthouse. When arriving "late" at night doors are closed and you need to wake the family to get to your room
Reviewed August 21, 2014

A W. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
clean,cheap
clean,cheap,safe
Hotel was clean,quite large,the gate closed at 10 pm so can guaranted our safety,one of the owner can speak english and very kind to gave advice about the city
Reviewed August 20, 2014

WANG P. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
clean but small
the host
The hotel is cheap and clean. But the room is small. The basic equipments is OK.And as it is far from the street so it is quiet for sleeping.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Roslyn E. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2014
Adequate, but not what we expected
This hotel was close to some Dist.1 attractions, the staff were friendly and had good advice, & the room met our basic needs..
We booked this room after reading it's details on Agoda, and also after reading the Hotel's own website. It looked & sounded like a 'boutique' hotel, so we were surprised to find it amidst a web of alleyways, after asking directions twice. We didn't feel comfortable walking to/from this Hotel, but the staff were friendly with advice about how to take care of your security, etc, so we thank them for that. The room was adequate & all our basic needs were met, but we were disappointed to find our room had 2 single beds pushed together to make a double, after "double bed" was advertised on Agoda when booking. No personal care items were provided in the bathroom, - only a towel each, so we had to go out & buy soap/shampoo extra, for just 1 night. We were also wary every time we went out of our room to explore, after finding things changed in our room upon our return (lights, air con switched off & mains power off, etc). This made us safety conscious - & we took turns in walking out alone while the other stayed in the room, as we didn't want to lose any of our gear on our last day in HCMC.. Overall, friendly folks running this place, but it was a disappointment, - after being advertised so nicely, & their website looking & sounding so good... Thanks,
Reviewed April 20, 2014