My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thilanka Hotel

No. 03, Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy Lake Front, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Hotel Thilanka

Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Deluxe Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Guest Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Guest Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Guest Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Deluxe Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Deluxe Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Deluxe Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Bathroom Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Exterior View at Night Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Lobby Area Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Swimming Pool Area Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Hotel Interior View Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Restaurant Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Swimming Pool Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Guest Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - View from the Room
Thilanka Hotel Kandy - View from the Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Exterior view of the hotel Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Outdoor Lunch Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Hotel Interior Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Restaurant Area Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Food Served Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Food Served Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Beverages Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Food Served Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Hotel Interior Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Night Exterior Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Exterior View
Area: Kandy Lake Front Number of Rooms: 80

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
140 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (140)
Sort by:
Faisal A. Groups United Arab Emirates, June 7, 2014
Its was not that special

Only because its near the lake and good view
3.7
Its was bad. Cant control ac and thin blankets so we get sick . Food bad. Staff not kind
Ruth D. Families with older children Canada, May 16, 2014
Very good for Sri Lanka

Pretty location, not easy for older people to walk up the hill, but easily accessed by tuk tuk, friendly staff, clean and affordable for families, very secure.
7.7
Very pretty location up the hill, nice for couples and families, not a party place. Monkeys visit the balconies each morning to see what they can find to eat. Very good by Sri Lankan standards for cleanliness and amenities in the room, but by no means to North American standards--so don't expect it--there is no such thing as a international star rating system-it exists by country. Would use again and highly recommend.
Subhash S. Couples India, May 3, 2014
It was a great stay for even a single night

Great view from the room, good food, nice ambience
7.3
It was a pleasant experience considering that I just stayed there for one night. Had a room with a great view and a balcony to just sit and relax. Would recommend it to travellers to Kandy.
Martin B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 25, 2014
nice hotel, good location

Location, views of Kandy, pool / bar
8
The Thilanka Hotel is perfectly located in central Kandy with great views of the lake and the city. The views do come at a cost however as the hotel is situated high up on a hill which means quite a steep climb back up to the hotel from the lake. A walk down to the lake & Tooth Relic Temple is about 5 / 10 minutes respectively, 10-15 mins to the centre of town. The hotel itself is clean, the rooms large (although a little basic) and with balcony (beware of the monkeys !!!), the staff were friendly & attentative. A good bar in town (the only bar ??) is actually called "The Bar" & has a very nice balcony over the main street on the first floor, great place to have a late afternoon / early evening drink.
John P. Couples United Kingdom, April 20, 2014
Lived up to expectations, good hotel, great food,

Food, location, staff
7.7
initially we were very disappointed with the room we were given which was very 'tired' and did not match the description on the web site but as soon as we mentioned this at reception we were moved to a newer and much better room. makes one think why they didn't give us this room in the first place!
Samuel M. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 19, 2014
Great hotel to site see Kandy. Short walk to lake

view of lake temple and city, central location to lake
8
Good. Wife found spa treatments to be of good standard.
Susan F. Solo travelers Canada, April 8, 2014
very nice hotel and good value for money

nice staff, beautiful large rooms, pool and spa were very nice
8
I really liked this hotel during my short stay of 3 nights. Staff was quite nice. WIFI did not work well but they allowed me to use the hotel computer free of charge. I enjoyed my spa treatment a lot. The pool was very nice and the outdoor pool bar too. Loved seeing monkeys playing by the pool. The one issue that I had was bringing a guest to my room in the evening. They were quite strict on this from a liability standpoint and not willing to make any exceptions.
Dini G. Couples Canada, February 7, 2014
Better for the service than the room

Service, pool, view
6.7
When we arrived at this hotel we had a warmly welcome. We had arrived to early to have our room. But they keep our luggage safety while we went to the city. You must have a reservation during the touristic season. Many groups go to this hotel. The room was well but it lacked some maintenance. Mainly in the washroom, the door shower was really hard to open and close. Warm water was coming after a long time. The bed was too hard for us. But the room was large enough. That was funny to see monkeys on our balcony. And you have a really nice view on Kandy from this balcony. The restaurant is nice but not delicious, this is a buffet. This is expensive for the dinner. This hotel is at 30 minutes walk from the city. We got lost when we was coming back at this hotel. It doesn't have many indication on the road for this hotel. Same thing for the roads name. The hotel is on the hill. With the temperature it's can be really tiring to come back to the hotel.
Xiaohang L. Couples China, February 1, 2014
Modern 4 star hotel, average service,good location

Location,
8.3
Modern 4 star hotel like those we used to stay in any other cities in the world, not quite Sri Lankan. My duvet cover was damp and dirty, asked them to change a new one, first the receptionist couldn't understand what I was asking for, and finally a staff came, took away my damp and dirty duvet cover and came back with one that was obviously the same one but dried in the washing machine! Maybe because they are a standard modern hotel, service was very average, not attentive at all.Diver's accommodation provided.Breakfast was good but staff in the restaurant were not helpful.
Niluka W. Families with older children Sri Lanka, December 23, 2013
A great stay in a lovely place!

The hotel offered great food, clean and lovely rooms and a very friendly staff. The front
10

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Hotel Exterior View Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Deluxe RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Guest RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Guest RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Guest RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Deluxe RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Deluxe RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Deluxe RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - BathroomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Exterior View at NightThilanka Hotel Kandy - Lobby AreaThilanka Hotel Kandy - Swimming Pool AreaThilanka Hotel Kandy - Hotel Interior ViewThilanka Hotel Kandy - Restaurant Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Swimming Pool Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Guest Room Thilanka Hotel Kandy - View from the RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - View from the RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Exterior view of the hotelThilanka Hotel Kandy - Outdoor LunchThilanka Hotel Kandy - Hotel InteriorThilanka Hotel Kandy - Restaurant AreaThilanka Hotel Kandy - Food ServedThilanka Hotel Kandy - Food ServedThilanka Hotel Kandy - BeveragesThilanka Hotel Kandy - Food ServedThilanka Hotel Kandy - Hotel InteriorThilanka Hotel Kandy - Night ExteriorThilanka Hotel Kandy - Exterior ViewThilanka Hotel Kandy - SurroundingsThilanka Hotel Kandy - Surrounding AreaThilanka Hotel Kandy - Garden ViewThilanka Hotel Kandy - SunsetThilanka Hotel Kandy - Lounge AreaThilanka Hotel Kandy - Guest RoomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Hotel InteriorThilanka Hotel Kandy - BathroomThilanka Hotel Kandy - BathroomThilanka Hotel Kandy - Exterior ViewThilanka Hotel Kandy - ReceptionThilanka Hotel Kandy - Exterior ViewThilanka Hotel Kandy - Veranda Thilanka Hotel Kandy - Coffee ShopThilanka Hotel Kandy - SpaThilanka Hotel Kandy - Pool Side BarThilanka Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolThilanka Hotel Kandy - GardenThilanka Hotel Kandy - View of the CityThilanka Hotel Kandy - View of the CityThilanka Hotel Kandy - Buffet


AS-AGWEB-3B05