Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thistle Johor Bahru Hotel

Jalan Sungai Chat, Johor Bahru City Center, Johor Bahru, Malaysia 80100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.6

based on
4232 reviews

3930 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.5
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (4232)
Sort by:
Ow Y. Business travelers Malaysia, November 3, 2014
Great Stay away from home

Clean, quiet and great location
6.7
Nice and quiet
Report this review
Darren K. Couples Malaysia, November 2, 2014
Well maintain

Hotel staff, comfort and cleaniness
7.3
Report this review
Chui F. Families with young children Malaysia, November 2, 2014
Thistle Recommendation

Massage, smiling staff and most of them are local Malay, swimming
8
Good
Report this review
Chu F. Couples Singapore, November 2, 2014
GOOD HOTEL

Wifi , clean, spacious
8.3
It's my third time staying at thistle hotel. We love the cleaniness of the room and there's also complimentary wifi available at the hotel
Report this review
Rahimah A. Families with young children Singapore, November 2, 2014
N.A

The gym was good. The pool area was very relaxing. The room was spacious.
7.3
Kids enjoyed the facilities. The hotel comes with extra pillows which we did not expect it. Awesome place to stay. Wish to extend for another night.
Report this review
Ridzwan G. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 2, 2014
So so hotel

Location, Staff, Room
5.3
Report this review
Jeffrey L. Business travelers Singapore, October 31, 2014
No toileteries, insufficient towel
2.7
This customer has only rated this hotel and has not submitted any comments.
Report this review
Dean C. Families with young children United Kingdom, October 30, 2014
Worthy competitor to Singapore

Pool, people, room
9.3
We decided to go to Johor Bahru because Singapore prices have gotten way out of hand for hotels these days. I wanted only a pool to chill by and a five star resort experience without the Western five star prices and that's what I got. Three nights at US$365 total w/ breakfast for a deluxe pool facing room on the 9th floor. The pool / Straits facing room was worth the little extra. Breakfast also worth the extra. Great to wake up to that view in the morning and orange sunsets from the 9th floor. Staff were extremely pleasant, they could not do enough for us. As ever, you have to watch the bills if you order from the bar or restaurant and be mindful of the "++" thing in that part of the world. If the price is 16 Ringitt plus plus (MYR 16++) you could find a bill for 23 Ringitt with GST, Service fee etc, something which I did. I protested slightly about this to my waiter and they reduced my bill back to the sensible 16 for a beer. But hey, you are in this part of the world for a reason - to enjoy it and sharpen your wits a little. Taxi to downtown, less than MYR 10 (USD$ 3). There was a nearby restaurant (not the 'Cusin' place, but almost next to it just further up to the left - opposite direction to McDondal's) with a lovely lady and her brother-in-law that served good food. Family of three we ate for about 23 MYR or the price of a beer at the hotel. Cashed USD$200 for three day stay and it was way too much. Got foot massage, lived a little, managed to take a taxi back to Singapore at Kotaraya bus terminal for MYR80 and still had SGD$70 left for first day in Singapore with the change. Bargain. All in all, this is a great place. Very few Western tourists so it is a little bit of a secret for now, but I bet the secret will get out and the prices will go up. It was my 3 and half year-old's first time in that part of the world. JB not as intense as say Phnom Penh or Phuket. It opened her eyes.
Report this review
Sherman P. Solo travelers Singapore, October 30, 2014
Great

Food location and view
10
Was awesome
Report this review
Maszeri M. Business travelers Malaysia, October 29, 2014
why is the room facing back?

clean, polite n good breakfast
7.3
I book the room but not knowing that it s facing back. I might call them directly next time..
Report this review
Previous page 1091 - 1100 of 3930 reviews Next page
Thistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor BahruThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Poolside WeddingThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Orchid Ballroom - Meetings & EventsThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Orchid Ballroom - WeddingThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Meetings & EventsThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Kenanga BoardroomThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Executive LoungeThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Executive Check InThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Body Work SpaThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - GymThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Family ArrivalThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Hotel entranceThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Superior City View TwinThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Superior City View KingThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Deluxe Straits View TwinThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Deluxe Straits View KingThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Executive Straits View TwinThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Executive Straits View KingThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Executive Straits View KingThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Premium Straits View SuiteThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Premium Straits View SuiteThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Terrace SuiteThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - BathroomThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - PoolsideThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - PoolsideThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Swimming PoolThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Kids PoolThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Fresh RestaurantThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Glass RestaurantThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Oasis RestaurantThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Oasis RestaurantThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - Steps Lobby LoungeThistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru - The Hive Bar


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02