Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang

Ban Vieng Mai, Vat Sakem, Nam Khan River, Luang Prabang, Laos (Show on map)

Book now!

Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow
Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View buangalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View Bungalow Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View Bungalow
Area: Nam Khan River Number of Rooms: 16
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

from 421 reviews

Value for Money
9.1
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (421)
Sort by:
Allison C. Couples United States of America, June 16, 2015
Amazing gem right on the river- one of a kind!

The staff, the scenery & the breakfast
10
Our stay was amazing! We stayed for 5 days and would have extended our stay if we could. The hotel is situated along the river, each room having its own bungalow with a balcony. The rooms are nice- they are decorated in a Laos style with lots of fun colors, really allowing you to feel like you are in Laos verse at some westernized hotel. They bring you breakfast every morning on your balcony and it's amazing-- you can choose what you want and what time, and the baguette they bring is freshly made that morning. Although it is slightly outside of the "downtown" they offer a free shuttle bus multiple times a day and it's only a 15-20 minute safe walk- and staying at the hotel allows you to see more of where locals live. They also have bicycles, and do laundry. The staff are incredible- helping out anytime they can (they even gave my boyfriend a haircut!) and the food they cook if you order lunch or dinner is incredible. We would stay there again if we make it back to Luang Prabang, no doubt and would recommend it to anyone!
Report this review
Heidi R. Groups United States of America, June 3, 2015
Nature surrounds!

Attentive staff, great breakfast and beautiful grounds
9.3
The Thongbay Guesthouse was a simply great! Great surrounding and very nice and comfortable rooms. The location was convenient - still close enough to the market but retrieved enough to enjoy some nature. Highly recommend.
Report this review
Tim S. Couples Australia, May 15, 2015
Fantastic, lovely people! Highly recommend!

Staff, food, gardens, location!
10
Our stay at thongbay was fantastic. The staff are absolutely fabulous and made our stay so memorable. My girlfriend was unfortunate to get appendicitis during our stay and the staff went above all expectations to help us out. They drove us to see a western doctor, translated everything for us and then drove us to hospital where they stayed with my self and my girlfriend and explained everything. They were absolutely amazing, and even made me a sandwich and gave me water for our overnight stay and eventual medi-vac to Bangkok. I cannot re commend this guesthouse highly enough. Even before all the drama of appendicitis we felt like we were in paradise, the gardens, the rooms, the food and the staff! Location is a short 5min complementary drive to the Main Street and was far enough away to feel like we were in a private resort. These are the friendliest people I have encountered on any of my travels. Cannot recommend Thongbay highly enough!
Report this review
Bruce W. Solo travelers Canada, May 13, 2015
A garden oasis

Its distance from the town centre makes it a peaceful place, the staff are most accommodating and show interest in your activities, the gardens
9.3
I stayed for 6 nights. It was so easy and quick to get into town with the free shuttle service and bikes. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the river was really pleasant. The gardens are filled with a variety of orchids. The staff also made my stay enjoyable. I was there during a very hot period so guests need to be aware there is no air conditioning. I liked that the guest house was in a residential area not a street of guest houses. One morning I walked out to the road to see the almsgiving by neighbours.
Report this review
Grace T. Couples United States of America, April 28, 2015
Great staff, lovely river view, peaceful

Staff, breakfast, river view
8.3
Overall, we quite enjoyed our stay at Thongbay. Location is a bit out of the way, but it's pretty easy to get a shuttle from the airport. And once you're at the guesthouse, they have a shuttle that will take you to downtown and is pretty convenient, so we never had any problems. PROS: - Delicious breakfast delivered right to your porch so you can eat breakfast by the river (ours was a river view room) - Staff was very helpful. We had a complication with Agoda where we bought two 2-person rooms, but Agoda booked us as two 1-person rooms. Not a problem, except that meant only half of our party got the complimentary breakfast. We had several conversations with the staff about it, but in the end, the manager honored our original booking. Apparently they've had these issues with Agoda before, so make sure to DOUBLE CHECK your booking! We are very appreciative to the manager - thank you! - Convenient shuttle - Mosquito netting over bed - win!! - Breakfast is fresh and DELICIOUS! Get the eggs with no oil, otherwise they're quite oily. CONS: - Fan is REALLY loud, especially at night. If you're a light sleeper, I'd recommend ear plugs - Also, if it rains (like it did when we were there), it gets really loud too - Getting from location to anywhere other than downtown is quite difficult. We were lucky in that the staff helped us get a tuk tuk to the bus station from one of the hotels next door, but it's no guarantee, so make sure to get something arranged! Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend. Again, a huge thank you to the staff for all their great help!
Report this review
Kim H. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 6, 2015
good design, but a bit far away from town

good design, good breadfast, good building
6
A bit far away from town. The road to the hotel is under constrution now, but the guesthouse is still worth stay in there.
Report this review
Brad H. Couples Canada, April 5, 2015
Will be back for sure...

Rooms, Staff, Location
9.3
The separate cabins made the stay special. You can sit on your private veradana and enjoy the gardens. The gardens and location to the river made it so relaxing yet close to the old town. Having breakfast by the river made the included breakfast special. The staff went out of their way to help and that made the experience that more special. I will be back but longer next time.
Report this review
Kerrie K. Couples Australia, March 29, 2015
nice place

lovely garden setting, caring staff, free shuttle cars
9
Nice large room and bathroom, quiet setting except for the geckos, all the staff where frendly, competent and caring. Only downside was its a bit out of the main tourist area, but the frequent free shuttles made up for it.
Report this review
Philip S. Families with young children United Kingdom, March 17, 2015
A must stay place in Luang Prabang!

The rooms were kept spotlessly clean. The staff were fantastically helpful in all matters. The little perks like free bikes and free minibus transfers into town made it all work for us
9
We booked a bungalow with a river view for 3 nights on the basis of the reviews and I looked around in town for the last 3 nights we were planning to stay. I could find nowhere that wasn't loads more expensive that came close to Thongbay. We ended up booking another 3 nights in bungalow facing the garden which was cheaper and equally pleasant. The staff were brilliant. The gardens were meticulously watered every evening and all the orchids were just beautiful. The free minibus transfers into town in the morning and the pickups in the afternoon and evening worked well for us. We also used the free bikes a couple of times to explore. On the downside, it's a bit too far out of town to comfirtably walk it, especially with a 7 year old! There is also new road being cut through not far away which creates quite a lot of dust. The construction teams were not working when wevwere there but I can imagine it being quite noisy when they start up again. Worth checking. We went down to the river, there's an access path close by, with our son and hung out with the local kids. Not everyone's cup of tea but we loved it.
Report this review
Melanie B. Couples Germany, March 5, 2015
Super nice hotel - ideal,once the construction of

the room right on the river front, with great views. The breakfast (included).
9
We stayed only for 1 night when returning to LP before our return flight to BKK the next day. Wished me had had more time at this very lovely place. The hotel grounds are lovely, small bungalows gathered around a pond with lots of flowers and palmtrees etc. We had a river-view bungalow (family size) for the two of us and loved it. Great bathroom, spacious and bright with tons of daylight - a woman's dream! The best things tho: they deliver your breakfast (which you can order the night before) right to your porch in the morning - at the time you specified beforehand. Ain't that great? the only downer was the condition of the access road to the hotel, the construction is so heavy that you best rely on their shuttle when leaving the hotel to go into town. We had our own scooter and it was VERY bumpy and unpleasant for a significant [portion of the ride, it'll take several months until that will be ok again is what they told us. Not a reason NOT to stay there but def be aware of this when booking in 2015.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang PrabangThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - River View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View buangalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden View BungalowThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - ReceptionThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - ReceptionThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - GardenThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Balcony/TerraceThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - GardenThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - GardenThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - ExteriorThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - RestaurantThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - RestaurantThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - ViewThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - GardenThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - GardenThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - GardenThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - ExteriorThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - GardenThongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang Luang Prabang - Garden

Customer Reviews - Thongbay Guesthouse Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08