or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa

Jalan Raya Campuhan PO Box 198 , Ubud, Bali, Indonesia (Show on map)

Book now!

Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Swimming Pool Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Surroundings Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Surroundings Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Exterior Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Lobby Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Restaurant Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Restaurant Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Business Center Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Coffee Shop/Cafe Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Guest Room Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Guest Room Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Exterior Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Balcony/Terrace Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Spa Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Spa Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Spa
Area: Ubud Number of Rooms: 67

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
620 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (620)
Sort by:
Mindy C. Groups Singapore, October 21, 2013
Big rooms, but a bit far to the shopping area

free shuttle bus, spacious room and great breakfast
7.3
I enjoyed the Beautiful gardens, spacious rooms and balcony. The breakfast was delicious and much cleaner compared to other restaurants I have been to. There are wifi at the lobby and pool area, but no wifi in room. It is in a quiet area of Ubud, about 20 mins walk to central Ubud, however there is shuttle bus that brings you to Ubud Market every hour. If you are with elderly, this hotel may not be suitable as there are many steps and the slope can be quite steep. The staff is generally OK, however, there is a lady at the reception by the name of Martina(something like that) who is neither helpful or friendly, she is probably just doing her job. For example, when I asked her what time is the first shuttle bus, she said 10am, when I mentioned that the hotel card said 9am, she said she doesnt know. Another example, I asked her what time is the spa opened and whether there is availability once it is opened. She said we it opens at 9am and we have to call the spa directly when it is opened. I went back to the reception at 9am, apparently the spa staff is not there yet, and she did not seem interested to help me book the early appointment. So my family and I went out of the hotel for massage (within 300m distance), it was just half the price of the hotel spa.
Allan R. Couples Australia, October 13, 2013
Nice garden setting

View, balcony ans spa
7
Annolde hotel starting tomshowmits age. Great location and very pretty garden setting
Muriel T. Families with older children Australia, October 3, 2013
Fabulous setting

beautiful buildings and gardens and swimming pools
6.3
The cottages were very beautiful from the outside but a bit musty and quite basic inside. The stone carving in the restaurant and the spa was magnificent and well worth seeing. The gardens were really beautiful. I am happy I stayed there, just to experience that. However, the spa treatments were disappointing. They even insisted on putting two people in the small bathtub for that relaxing flower bath... Not very relaxing. Two staff members tried to sell us activities organised by their family members, replicating organised tours, supposedly at a cheaper price and one of them was particularly insisting which I found very stressful. Some staff members were friendly.
Cynthia L. Groups Australia, September 10, 2013
Disappointing

Gardens were absolutely stunning
5
We were traveling in a group of 4 and all of us were disappointed with the hotel. The spa whilst in a magnificent setting was not of a professional standard. The massage was more of a "rub down" rather than a professional massage. I booked in for a Swedish massage but what I received was not a Swedish massage - it felt as if the masseuse was making it up as she went. The facial that I and a friend booked in for was the same. It was more of a facial wash. Definitely not worth the money. We received better and more caring massages from spas on the street. The steps can be a problem if you tend to have weak knees or a sore back. From our room there were 110 steps to negotiate to the restaurant and street level. Managing these steps 3 to 4 times a day was very tiring and caused me to develop sore knees and aggravated an old back injury. When we booked we requested a room near the restaurant that didn't have so many steps.Initially we were allocated these rooms with fewer steps but then changed them The worst part of our stay was the dinner we had at the hotel restaurant. We were given a free dinner (Indonesian Set Menu) as part of our holiday package. Out of the 4 of us, 3 became very ill with vomiting and diarrhea. We were traveling to Candi Dasa the day after our dinner and when we arrived in Candi Dasa we had to spend on doctors fees. The food from the Tjampuhan Hotel was definitely bad. Other minor issues were smelly bathrooms, leaking vanity basin. I heard other guests complaining about the hotel and the unfriendly staff. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
John A. Solo travelers United States of America, September 10, 2013
A quiet getaway that's still close to everything

Location, room size and staff
9.3
I picked the hotel because a friend had recommended trying to stay along the river, out of the way of the chaos of central Ubud. At the Tjampuhan, you feel as if you're far away from everything, even though it's a short walk to the restaurants and shops. I could hear nothing but bugs and the river from my room at night. Green everywhere, and the setup of the villas makes you feel like you're in a little mountain retreat. The staff is extremely friendly and kind. The pools are lovely, and the little cave-like spa is a fun retreat from everything. Breakfast was basic but yummy.
Leigh E. Solo travelers Australia, September 5, 2013
Very Relaxing

suburb gardens, spacious rooms, lovely spa
7.3
lovely stay Rooms are nice and big, beds a bit hard but ok Pools are lovely Lots of steps, but beautiful grounds Staff lovely Slow internet (wifi) only in reception/restaurant area, and not always wirking
Belinda L. Families with older children United States of America, September 3, 2013
Wonderful short stay in paradise

Beautiful, authentic decor in scenic, restful setting
8.7
We (my 14 yr. old son and I) had a very nice stay. This was one of the only places in the world that he did not mind the absence of an internet connection in the room. We both appreciated the beauty of the area---We were told that Tjampuhan is the name of the royal family in the area. The Hotel staff was very helpful and if one of them wasn't sure what we wanted they found a staff member who could help us. We particularly appreciated that they packed us box breakfasts when we had to leave at 5:45a for the airport! Also, the center of Ubud is about a 20-minute walk from the hotel and sometimes we used their free shuttle that runs a few times a day and into the evening. Ubud is magical and this was a restful, beautiful and nice place to stay. I would definitely return with my partner for a romantic vacation.
Joanna H. Families with young children Australia, September 2, 2013
Lovely room and surroundings, excellent massage.

Our deluxe room was beautiful. Lovely views over beautiful gardens down to the river. Handy shuttle bus.
8.3
We enjoyed our stay. Next time I would stay closer to monkey forest rd as we were there for last minute shopping. The breakfast was quite average and the breakfast staff grumpy and dismissive both mornings.
Vicki B. Couples Australia, August 30, 2013
Very nice hotel

Relaxing in privacy, The 2 pools and staff were very friendly
8
Very good. The staff were great, the location good, the breakfast was adequate. I would stay there again.
Donna O. Couples Australia, August 26, 2013
pampered in paradise

unique atmosphere and garden paradise.
9.3
This was our second stay at Tjampuhan. There was a lot of construction going on (unobtrusively) during our last stay and this time we were accomodated in a new room which was just stunningly tasteful. The bathroom was sizeable and luxurious, the room was large and private yet offered luxurious garden & environmental views. The staff are so nice with some familiar faces. I love this place - the only draw back is being on the side of a valley you need to be physically fit to handle all the steps..phew! It is however an utterly unique and authentic place. Some people grumble about the poor Internet connection and no TV in the rooms but I really enjoyed the chance to do some good old reading by the pool. Bliss.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Main Swimming PoolTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Swimming PoolTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - SurroundingsTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - SurroundingsTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - ExteriorTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - LobbyTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - RestaurantTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - RestaurantTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Business CenterTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Coffee Shop/CafeTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Guest RoomTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Guest RoomTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - ExteriorTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Balcony/TerraceTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - SpaTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - SpaTjampuhan Hotel and Spa Bali - Spa

Customer Reviews - Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa, Bali

AS-AGWEB-3C07