Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tomato Kyoto Hostel

135 Shimizu-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto Station, Kyoto, Japan 600-8241

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.7

based on 153 reviews

71 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.4
Room Comfort/Standard
6.6
Food/Dining
5.1
All reviews (153)
Sort by:
Maud C. Solo travelers France, April 28, 2016
Near JR station, value for money
6
10 minutes from the train station, good place to discover Kyoto. You can rent near a bicycle (800 yens/day). I stayed in a 4 beds dorm. Everything is clean. Helpul staff. =)
Report this review
Edward L. Couples United States of America, April 23, 2016
nice.
6
would stay again. good for budget travel, comfortable.
Report this review
Jane A. Solo travelers Indonesia, April 22, 2016
Clean and worth the price
6.7
we arrived early and we can keep our luggage in the living room, the place is old so we have to slow our steps or it will sound like a giant step in the house, but everything is okay, room was spacious and clean and there was TV in our room, we enjoy staying there
Report this review
Veronika S. Solo travelers Slovenia, April 8, 2016
Decent facilities and good location near Kyoto sta
5.3
It's located close to Kyoto Station and quite easy to find. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and stuffy but fairly clean. There is room for luggage by the bunkbed and there are also some coin lockers on the 2F.
Report this review
Rosna L. Groups Indonesia, April 7, 2016
Convenient location but the building is quite old
4.7
Convenient location but the building is quite old.. only 2 bathrooms for so many people causing chaotic morning.
Report this review
Rosna L. Groups Indonesia, April 5, 2016
Small room
4.7
Quite a small room for 4 people with no TV. But our room just in front of common room that has TV so its OK
Report this review
Hong S. Families with older children Malaysia, December 22, 2015
Cheap Stay

Cheap Rate, Good to have 1 Common Room, 2 public toilet
5.7
Not Comfortable with the cleanliness of the room especially the blanket, pillow & bed sheet. It should have vacuum / dust off the room each day. Need to improve the cleanliness of the hostel.
Report this review
小艷 黃. Solo travelers Taiwan, December 17, 2015
I will be back^^
6
It's a nice place, cheap rate, clean room, have washing machine.
Report this review
Ken O. Groups Singapore, November 14, 2015
good cheap japan backpacker sleep over

nice reception n clean shower area n cheap
5.3
Hostel is prominent, four bedded with power extension for each bed. Nice reception but theres a timing for reception duties. Gd area to put luggages. Area is clean. Reception able to speak chinese as she is from Taiwan. Gd
Report this review
Ai Z. Couples Hong Kong, August 29, 2015
Worth of money

Location---near the Kyoto station; Cleanliness--Bathroom and toliet are unexpectedly clean; Size of the room--- spacious
6.3
Report this review
1 - 10 of 71 reviews Next page
Tomato Kyoto Hostel KyotoTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - ExteriorTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - ExteriorTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - ReceptionTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - EntranceTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - InteriorTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - Guest RoomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - Guest RoomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - Guest RoomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - ViewTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - Guest RoomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - Guest RoomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - Guest RoomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - Guest RoomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - InteriorTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - BathroomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - InteriorTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - FacilitiesTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - FacilitiesTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - Guest RoomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - FacilitiesTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - BathroomTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - FacilitiesTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - KitchenTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - FacilitiesTomato Kyoto Hostel Kyoto - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01