or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Top North Hotel

41 Moonmuang Road, T.Prasing, Old City, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200 (Show on map)

Book now!

Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Standard Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Standard Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Standard Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Deluxe Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Superior Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Superior Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room
Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - View Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Bathroom Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Reception Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Villa Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room
Area: Old City Number of Rooms: 130
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
1542 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
6.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (1542)
Sort by:
Eileen V. Families with young children United Kingdom, October 26, 2013
lovely place. but very noisy in early morning

location. roo
7.3
Steven F. Solo travelers Australia, October 25, 2013
Consistently great service and excellent location

clean, safe, comfortable
7.7
Overall I have zero complaints about my stay there. You would think a hotel as old as this would get tired and lacking in customer service, but that was not the case. I have only one complaint which is the newly constructed Deluxe wing of the hotel overseas the neighboring Muay Thai boxing ring, and from appx 7pm to appx midnight, every single night, it's impossible to not hear the loud racket coming from the boxing ring.
Ruth G. Families with young children United Kingdom, October 22, 2013
Great location, needs a re-furb though......

Location, friendly, helpful staff, able to offer adjacent rooms
6
It was "fine" - no major problems, and reasonable value for what we paid for the rooms. The staff were super throughout, and the location (just at the end of the Sunday Night Market Road) was perfect. But....... the rooms were very tired - both bathrooms smelt very strongly of cockroaches (2 massive ones were spied in our bathroom), the beds were very comfortable and the bedding was clean, but there were big holes in the wooden flooring and the mirrors and windows were 'manky'. The swimming pool was one of the main reasons for booking this particular hotel, but it was too cold for our (fairly robust) kids - and I can't see that changing much with time of year, as the pool is always in shade. I didn't see anyone swimming in it the whole time we were there. Basically, the owners need to invest in their hotel to make it worthy of the top location it has - sort out the bathrooms in particular, and make this a proper 'Mid-range' hotel. I genuinely don't think it is right now..... Or certainly not the rooms we stayed in (3 beds per room).
Han X. Couples China, October 21, 2013
terrible stay

swimming pool, nice hotel garden, car rental service.
4.7
The environment is good, in good location, with a big swimming pool, a nice restaurant, classical design, but it just outside, I finally know why this hotel take such beautiful outside pictures to promote, if go inside the room,you will find everything is dirty, the chairs, the bath room, the bed, the floor, the desk.
Gordon B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 19, 2013
Does the job

Location,room size, staff.
7
My stay was pleasant. The room is quite big, the shower worked and breakfast was fine. Ideally situated for most attractions. Reception staff were friendly and there is a good tour desk. The pool is o.k. Have stayed before and would stay again.
Cassandra S. Solo travelers Australia, October 18, 2013
Good hotel in a great location

location, value for money, large rooms
8.3
The hotel was good but the location was great, close to the sunday night markets
Laura N. Couples United Kingdom, October 8, 2013
Terrible Experience

The location
3.7
After booking the hotel in advance and booking two double rooms, we arrived to find out that the only rooms available were twin rooms. As two couples we explained we had asked for double rooms, apparently to get a double room you need to request this. After the staff were very rude to us we managed to get one double room and one twin. We then made our way to the rooms and what a treat, they were filthy, the dirtiest room I have ever stayed in. In the twin room we pushed the beds together and underneath the bed found a collection of dead cockroaches, lovely! As it was late evening we decided to stay the one night. We woke u the following opening to find a live cockroach running round the bathroom! Time to check straight out!!! We would not recommend this hotel at all. To summarise, dirty, full of living creatures and rude unhelpful staff. Sent from my iPhone
Duncan R. Solo travelers Australia, October 4, 2013
I really like this place, why the bad reviews???

Central, clean, nice
9
First up I don't get why the Top North is rated on places like Agoda lowly. I don't get it. OK, so it's a little bit on the high side on the cheap side of Chiang Mai. But here's only what I can guess reading the reviews: people do the Top North expecting a resort style deal and are naturally disappointed. This is Chiang Mail Thailand, you're paying $19-$23 dollars (US and AUD) a night and yet you expect a $100 a night service??? The reality is that the Top North will never be 5 stars, 4 stars, 3 starts although we're getting close. You are given a separate shower, balcony, decent TV channel spread, comfortable bed... they are things that are not always offered in Thailand. There's a pool you can swim in with bar near by.. it's nice. Is the place perfect: no, but is any place?? The roof in my bathroom needed work, and the fact I had to take my luaggage up two flights sucked.... But that's it. Again, it's not an amazing resort (really rare at this price range), but for the money it's great value. When I next head back to Chiang Mai I'll book there month on month (note they have a good rate for that.)
Jutharat P. Families with older children Thailand, October 1, 2013
Standard quality

Close to the main road. Easy to go shopping and dining. Centrally located(Tha Pae and Sunday night market)
6.3
Bad bathroom.Not clean and unlock door. Noisy from the next door i can heard at my room.Not private room.
Seeyin L. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 13, 2013
very nice and friendly staffs.

clean, comfortable, easy.
6.3
It was very leisure trip...comfortable and clean room provided. Friendly and helpful staffs.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - StandardTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - StandardTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - StandardTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - DeluxeTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - DeluxeTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - DeluxeTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SuperiorTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SuperiorTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ViewTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ReceptionTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - VillaTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ViewTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ShopsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SpaTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ShopsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ViewTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ViewTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SpaTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Entrance

Customer Reviews - Top North Hotel, Chiang Mai

AS-AGWEB-3C03