Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Top North Hotel

41 Moonmuang Road, T.Prasing, Old City, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.9

based on 2012 reviews

855 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.9
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.4
Room Comfort/Standard
6.7
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (2012)
Sort by:
Hanspeter M. Solo travelers Australia, April 10, 2016
Recommended
5
Would stay here again
Report this review
Sherry C. Solo travelers United States of America, March 26, 2016
Not too bad
5
The hotel is in a great location in old town & everything surrounds it and walkable to all things. The staff was absolutely helpful and friendly. Definitely can use a little upgrade and renovation which it seemed they were doing a bit.
Report this review
Alf H. Couples Norway, March 11, 2016
This is an overpriced backpacker's place!
4
Very god location close to restaurants bars, shops and the old city - all within short walking distance. Obscure dark rooms with no view Ok for sleeping but not staying inside. Big bed and desk - one chair. No chairs for sitting, no table. no minibar no nothing. OK bathroom with problematic plumbing.Staff is nice young girls with little experience - i never saw a "hotel person". Reception filled with sales stands. All food service is outsourced, Outdoors restaurant with cheap furniture and green oilcloth on the tables- Food simple and reasonably priced. BUT. Even at an outdoors restaurant,this is the first time I see a man cleaning his motorbike with shampoo and running water in the middle of the restaurant! Room priced THB 1800 a night is a robbery - not worth it.
Report this review
Martijn W. Couples Netherlands, March 10, 2016
Great photos on agoda
1.3
This place has construction going on and a muy Thai stadion next door. The pool is discusting, we where stupid and booked none refundable, we where refused a cancelation. We where stuck in unsanitary hell. Recommend not booking.
Report this review
Kari N. Couples Finland, March 1, 2016
Good location, but worn out, water cut

Location, ambience, staff friendly as such
5.3
The first negative surprises were that the superior room in the old wing had seen its glory days some decades ago, and that Agoda's 'heavily discounted' price was bull, the normal price was about the same as the online rate. This is becoming Agoda's biggest problem, you have to do something to the fake list prices! Service, including breakfast and especially cleaning was up to standard. Then we had an unfortunate water pipe failure in the old part of the hotel. What was bad, there was no information from the hotel to guests, you had to inquire yourself. After optimistic repair promises, the affected guests were transferred to the much better quality new wing rooms, which was good, but again you had to request for this yourself.
Report this review
Steve M. Couples Thailand, February 29, 2016
Suggest You Pick Another Hotel
3
Check in was smooth. Initial Room had power outlet hanging off wall and sparking. Was later fixed after we made a request. Second day no water. Was told pump was out and would be fixed within an hour so we went out for the day. Returned at 10PM to no water and was told we would need to change rooms to another building. Initially they told us it was a better room and that we would have to pay more and that they would want us to move back to our first room once water was fixed. It took almost 30 minutes of arguing with them in Thai to get them to drop the demand for an extra charge. New room was newer but actually much smaller and above the moi thai boxing matches so very noisy. Room ad a second door leading to small balcony overlooking the tin roof of the building next door and rattled so loudly when the wind blew my wife could not sleep. Received no help moving our things when changing rooms even though there were two people at the front desk and there was no one else in the lobby at the time.. Food quality at the hotel was absolutely not worth any more than the $100 baht we were each charged for breakfast.
Report this review
Ian L. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 23, 2016
factual
3
mosquitos every night. a bit shabby. a really strong light all night outside my window. intermitent wifi
Report this review
Fabio D. Couples Thailand, February 22, 2016
I won't go there again

location, pretty cheap
5
I chose this Hotel as it was the most recommended by Agoda when I booked; and I don't know why! The location is actually very good and that's the only plus of this hotel. It needs a huge restoration and even the price is not that cheap if you compare it with the thousands of accommodations you can find in Thailand. The staff is unfriendly and it seems they just don't care about their guests; the Wi-Fi works poorly (or not at all). The breakfast is pretty bad and you are even requested to clean up your table when you finish it (Mc Donald style). The room I was assigned had the boiler of the hot water broken; I complained twice in the evening but nobody came to fix it. Plus in the night I could hear the noise coming (they said) from the Muay Thai gym nearby. I complained the morning after to one unpolite, not caring, kinda senior staff and they gave me another room on the 3rd floor. While moving I forgot one of my pants there - pretty cheap ones but the souvenir of my previous trip in Laos - and when I asked them back they said they didn't find anything. Again, the feeling was they didn't care at all, too busy by playing with the phone or talking each other. For sure I won't return.
Report this review
Kweh H. Couples Singapore, February 21, 2016
Can be better
3.7
Standard rooms are better then the superior rooms. Extend a night and only superior room available but it was dissapointing. Bigger room but everything inside is worn out. The boss was a very nice man.
Report this review
Julian K. Families with older children Germany, February 20, 2016
very bad
1.7
staff unfriendly and not helpful at all, super old hotel and you can see it everywhere, worst food,
Report this review
1 - 10 of 855 reviews Next page
Top North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - StandardTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - StandardTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - StandardTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - DeluxeTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - DeluxeTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - DeluxeTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SuperiorTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SuperiorTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ViewTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ReceptionTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - VillaTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ViewTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ShopsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SpaTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ShopsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ViewTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SurroundingsTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - ViewTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - SpaTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesTop North Hotel Chiang Mai - Entrance


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02