My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traders Hotel

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Shangri-la

Traders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Room Traders Hotel Penang - Executive Suite Traders Hotel Penang - Hotel Lobby Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Porch Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming pool Traders Hotel Penang - Health Club Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHA Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set up
Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set up Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet Room Traders Hotel Penang - Meeting Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Traders Hotel Penang - Guest Room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
2450 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2450)
Sort by:
Yvonne A. Groups Malaysia, June 4, 2012
Great Location

Shopping
9.3
relaxing stay even though after a long drive from kl. easy access from the highway as well. food and shopping especially it items could be obtained easily. hotel itself is a little old. needs upgrading work done.
Shopping Tip: it items just next door.
Sze T. Families with young children Malaysia, June 4, 2012
Convenient, comfortable and friendly hotel

Great location, comfortable bed, friendly front office service
8.3
i had a good first impression of the hotel upon checking in. the front office service was smooth, fast and efficient from the moment i showed my agoda voucher. the checking in took less than 5 minutes. i was given a relatively high floor according to my agoda booking. being a family with small kids, we truly liked the comfortable beds. the location was great too, as we walked to all the main shopping areas like komtar, prangin mall and first avenue. the room is still using old type crt television instead of modern flat lcd. even through agoda, the room rate was still high. all in all, our family enjoyed our stay at traders hotel.
Sukhjit B. Groups Malaysia, June 3, 2012
great location

location to shopping malls and sikh temple
7.7
our check in was one hour late as the hotel was fully booked. i was annoyed as my elderly father was with me. the front desk staff was unfriendly and indifferent. however, my annoyance was rectified when trainee mahes in the lobby lounge exceeded my expectations and assisted my father to the loo. he had no reason to do it but said it was his job to be @of service.how wonderful. he centrainly showed the malaysian how to be of service as he is nepalese. the rroms were pleasant and clean. the concierge rosli and den were great. check out was pleasant with eja front desk staff was all smiles. room service was also good and the food sumpltious. only drwback - rooms not soundproof and one can hear the water/toilet running next door.
Hotel Feature Tip: Great location with three malls next door and another three with a ten minute drive away.
Kok W. Families with young children Malaysia, June 3, 2012
Great Location and Friendly Staff

Near to 3 shopping centres and easy to get nice local food
9.3
i like the hotel where the location was specific in the city centre. it is close to komtar, 1st avenue and pragin mall shopping centre which is just a few steps away. in the evening, we went to a street with full of local food like, it is just about 10 minutes walk. the hotel staffs and services was wonderful. no doubt it is a good place to stay.
Minh N. Families with young children Vietnam, June 2, 2012
Good location, nice hotel but a little bit dated

Location, big rooms
8
We stayed at Traders Penang for 1 night. Booked the executive suite and got upgraded to the Pinang Suite - very nice big room (must be around 100sqm) with lounge, working + dining table and small kitchen. Location is good, just on the edge of the old town (5-10 mins walk). Got an early flight so cannot comment on quality of included breakfast. Overall a nice hotel and good option for a few days sightseeing in Penang.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: We got the cyclo tour around the city. Worth doing if you have young kids or not into walking around town on a hot day. We paid around RM70 for 3 hours. If you like to shop, take a taxi ride to Queens Bay mall, good mid end mall with lots of F&B options, including TGI Friday, Nando's ... Taxi cost around RM25 each way but much better than the Pranglin mall in town.
Lai Y. Business travelers Malaysia, June 1, 2012
Great location with nice room

Convenient
8
Traders hotel is a hotel which has a very convenient location which located in the central of Penang. Food can easily be found around the hotel. Services that the hotel offers also excellent. If you wish to travel around Penang, the concierge can help to arrange for transport instead of waiting around to get your own public transport.
Chwee L. Business travelers Singapore, June 1, 2012
Great location but outdated room facilities

The hotel location, gynasium and varieties of breakfast dishes
8.7
the hotel is located near to major shopping malls in georgetown, such as komtar, 1st avenue mall, pranglin mall and bazar komtar. it is also located to a major bus terminal which is walking distance from the hotel. from the bus terminal, you can take bus to other part of penang island easily. as for the room, the bed is soft and comfortable to sleep on. however, the room is equipped with crt tv instead of modern led tv. there is a wide variety of food to choose from for the breakfast buffet that comes with the room.
Shopping Tip: The hotel is located near to major shopping malls in Georgetown, such as KOMTAR, 1st Avenue Mall, Pranglin Mall and Bazar Komtar.
Jd B. Couples Hong Kong, May 31, 2012
Good location

Location
6.3
we had asked for (and got) an early check-in to a room on a high non-smoking floor. the room was comfortable, but seemed a bit on the small side, which didn't matter as we were going to be out of it for most of the time. the room was clean and comfortable.
Chua C. Solo travelers Singapore, May 31, 2012
Returning to my 2nd home

Serice with a smile
9.3
My quick return to this hotel has once again showed my keen interest to stay in this good serviced hotel The room was spacious and no problem with the wi-fi facility I will recommend anyone to stay in this hotel. A value for money hotel!
Kalpana B. Families with young children Malaysia, May 29, 2012
Exceptional staff

Location smack in the middle of the town
7.3
We stayed here only a night, but enjoyed the hospitality of the staff in the restaurant, namely Vicky and Path who were very attentive. I do hope the rooms which are a bit rundown will be refurbished soon (we stayed on the 17th floor).
Restaurant Tip: Hawker stalls very near to the hotel. Check out the stalls at New Lane, a 5 minutes walk away.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Traders Hotel PenangTraders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Executive SuiteTraders Hotel Penang - Hotel LobbyTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - PorchTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming poolTraders Hotel Penang - Health ClubTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHATraders Hotel Penang - Traders Club LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function roomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/CafeTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolTraders Hotel Penang - Guest RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe

Customer Reviews - Traders Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B07