or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traders Hotel

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Shangri-la
Traders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Room Traders Hotel Penang - Executive Suite Traders Hotel Penang - Hotel Lobby Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Porch Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming pool Traders Hotel Penang - Health Club Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHA Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set up
Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set up Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet Room Traders Hotel Penang - Meeting Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Traders Hotel Penang - Guest Room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
2497 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2497)
Sort by:
Frank K. Couples Singapore, July 1, 2012
Great location with good food nearby

Comfortable room
10
Traders Hotel had always been one of my favourite choice when I choose an accomodation in a location I am unfamiliar with. The staff are accomodating to the guests' needs. I am coming back again when I return to Penang.
Restaurant Tip: There is a food stall opposite the hotel that opens till late at night that serves nice local food.
Suzanne H. Solo travelers Australia, June 29, 2012
Needs a bit of update but a nice hotel.

Swimming pool and fitness centre
7.3
Trouble booking in and getting the room I had booked for but after this everything went well. Staff were friendly and helpful ( especially Abdullah in the swimming pool area. Comfortable and pleasant stay.
Ming S. Solo travelers Hong Kong, June 28, 2012
Overall is good

Clean and helpful employees
7.3
When i was been to the hotel, my first impression is it is not model and a bit old buliding. A number of renovation sites surrounding the hotel...no seaview only building. Although it is not a very nice building, I feel there is a lot of very helpful and nice staff. They will take intitaitve to help you find the place you are looking for, suggest you some ways to have sightseeing in Penang. If the price a bit lower will be much much better.
Lay H. Families with older children Singapore, June 27, 2012
Lovely hotel with good service

convenient location, good security, clean pool and comfortable stay
8.7
i stayed in trader's hotel with my family in june 2012 and we have enjoyed our stay there. the hotel has good facilities such as swimming pool, gym, sauna etc. the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. it has a wide lobby area which has a live band at night for all nights except for sunday. location is very convenient as there are 3 shopping centres just next to the hotel (1st avenue, pranglin mall and komtar). also, we are able to get a free ride on the city bus at komtar bus terminal which brings us around the georgetown area and back to komtar. although the room furnishings may be old, the bed is comfortable and the room is clean. overall, an enjoyable stay with trader's hotel and i will consider my next stay with this hotel again if i am back to penang next time.
Wah C. Groups Singapore, June 26, 2012
Great location and excellent service

Central location next to Komtar Center/shopping centres and within walking distance to good eating places.
8.7
Enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Front desk and concierge services are excellent.
Restaurant Tip: Good food at the New World Park food court and One Corner Cafe.
Jackson T. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 24, 2012
Good location, Excellent Staff

The location, ease of access by car. Next to First Avenue mall. Excellent staff.
7.3
It's a 3D2N stay and overall, the room is quite comfortable. The front desk staff are very friendly, helpful and alert. My check out was completed within minutes. The only area which i'm not impressed is the closet which was cramp with a safe, an iron board, two bathrobes which leave no space to hang my clothes.
Rosslyn L. Couples Malaysia, June 24, 2012
Nice hotel

Convenience
6
The hotel was ok. Clean room. Location was ok with shipping mall nearby
Josie G. Couples Philippines, June 23, 2012
Great location

The hotel is located centrally. It is right next to the komtar complex where the bus interchange terminal is located.
8.3
it was a short discovery trip of penang. we stayed at the traders hotel georgetown. it has nice clean rooms and ihas great location. it is located within the historic district of georgetown. it is right next to komtar complex where just about all of the different buses to the different parts of the ci passes through. it is so easy to get around riding the bus. the staff were very helpful finding our way around. the hotel is also walking distance to jalan mcallister were good, inexpensive food could be had especially during dinner time.
Restaurant Tip: Try the roadside food stalls along jalan Mcallister just infront of the sunway hotel. Good, inexpensive, authentic Penang food could be found.
Gan P. Groups Malaysia, June 23, 2012
"Warm welcome with good services"

Parking lot is spacious
8
Warm welcome with fast check-in. In addition, very polite front desk with sweet smile. Swimming pool with lifeguard made me felt safe when my kids were in the pool. There are some imperfection about the inner decor of hotel room and bathroom which seem old if compare to other Traders hotel. Not forget to mention their continental breakfast which I ordered for room service is worth my penny , they provided very big breakfast which more than enough for my three kids. It is absolutely delicious. Worth stay here with best offer from Agoda.
Nyap M. Couples Malaysia, June 23, 2012
old traditional hotel

Still in good condition and not that bad
8
The price was definately worth it and it was super near to the malls. But it just slight looks old and retro to me. Overall, it was ok.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Traders Hotel PenangTraders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Executive SuiteTraders Hotel Penang - Hotel LobbyTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - PorchTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming poolTraders Hotel Penang - Health ClubTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHATraders Hotel Penang - Traders Club LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function roomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/CafeTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolTraders Hotel Penang - Guest RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe

Customer Reviews - Traders Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3A06