or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traders Hotel

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Shangri-la

Traders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Room Traders Hotel Penang - Executive Suite Traders Hotel Penang - Hotel Lobby Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Porch Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming pool Traders Hotel Penang - Health Club Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHA Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set up
Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set up Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet Room Traders Hotel Penang - Meeting Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Traders Hotel Penang - Guest Room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
2457 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2457)
Sort by:
Chin T. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 11, 2012
Great location .

Right at the shopping and eating centre.
8.3
Hotel is excellent with very helpful staffs. Situated right at the shopping area at Penang Road. All features in the rooms are in good order and well maintained. Had a very nice experience having my breakfast in the hotel, very friendly waiters indeed.There are a lot of eating places near by the hotels. Shopping begins as you step out of the hotel lobby.
Cheryl L. Couples Singapore, June 10, 2012
Great hotel, great location.

Big and clean room, convenient.
9.3
Next to Komtar, a bus interchange, a mall and 1st avenuve mall. very near food street such at Kimberly and Chulia. A distance from the heritage area but walkable. It was my second time in Traders and will definitely be back again when i go to penang.
Mohd Z. Families with young children Malaysia, June 10, 2012
Lovely Hotel with great location

Enjoy my stay there
6.7
Traders up to my expectation even the hotel looks old>Easy access to everywhere.3 shopping complex nearby
Chun P. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 10, 2012
Great location. Well kept.

Located in central Georgetown
8
the service was great. rooms are clean and well kept eventhough the hotel is showing its age on the outside - could do with renovation to keep it up-to-date with latest more modern designs. central location makes it easy to travel on foot to most attractions. service is ok but locals should deservce the same attention as visitors.
Lit W. Families with young children Singapore, June 9, 2012
In the heart of gerogetown

close to all amenities
8.7
this is defintiely one of th best hotel in penang considering its close proximity to public tranports, night market, shopping centres and many others which will interest tourist like us. the famous eateries are also round the corner within 10 mins walking distance from the hotel. there are 3 big shopping centres surrounding the hotel. the cab fare from trader hotel to gurney is only 18 ringgit and there is a good food court which i recommend.
Su M. Couples Singapore, June 8, 2012
Great Location with nice staff

Next to shopping malls, cinemas, free shuttle bus, clean & functioning rooms
8
The hotel is just outside the city's historical core. There is a free public shuttle bus service nearby that brings you to City Hall and Fort Cornwallis. The hotel provides free coach to sister Shangri-La hotels at Batu Ferringhi Beach. We love having the modern shopping malls - 1st Avenue (with cinemas) and Pranglin Mall next door. The supermarket Carrefour is nearby too. Jalan Pinang and Burmah were also nearby for long strolls and souvenir shopping. Overall, a pleasant stay but quite expensive for a well-managed but standard hotel.
Shopping Tip: You should make use of the hotel's free coach (going to Batu Ferringhi) to drop at the upmarket Gurney Plaza shopping mall in the early afternoon for shopping and then have early dinner at the nearby hawker food centre, and then return to hotel by taxi.
Chong S. Business travelers Malaysia, June 7, 2012
“A great place to stay”
8
if you are going to penang for business or food, this is a right hotel, reasonable price and good location. all the good food is around the hotel and it is right at the city. for beach lover, the hotel provides shuttle service to their sister hotel in batu ferigi. next to the hotel is a shopping mall.
Maureen K. Families with young children Singapore, June 7, 2012
Good location and big rooms

Location and great staff
8.7
it was a family trip (we had 18 people including the small kids). overall hotel was great in terms of location and size. however, on the last night, i woke up at for with seriously puffy eyes! (they were like 4 times the normal size) i have no known food allergy, neither did i ate / try anything that i have never eaten before on the trip. after i took a bath, i noticed the swelling seemed to have subsided. when i left the room for breakfast later and returned a few hours later for the check out, most of the swelling had gone. i can only put it to maybe dust in the room, that affected me. at checkout, i informed the staff and the lady was very apologetic. as a gesture of goodwill, she waived the additional half day booking that we requested for to accommodate our late flight. we took a total of 8 rooms and i was the only one with this problem, so i put it down to an unfortunate isolated incident. and because they dealt with my complaint with such grace, i think it is still a hotel worth looking into and i would consider staying there again.
Yvonne A. Groups Malaysia, June 4, 2012
Great Location

Shopping
9.3
relaxing stay even though after a long drive from kl. easy access from the highway as well. food and shopping especially it items could be obtained easily. hotel itself is a little old. needs upgrading work done.
Shopping Tip: it items just next door.
Sze T. Families with young children Malaysia, June 4, 2012
Convenient, comfortable and friendly hotel

Great location, comfortable bed, friendly front office service
8.3
i had a good first impression of the hotel upon checking in. the front office service was smooth, fast and efficient from the moment i showed my agoda voucher. the checking in took less than 5 minutes. i was given a relatively high floor according to my agoda booking. being a family with small kids, we truly liked the comfortable beds. the location was great too, as we walked to all the main shopping areas like komtar, prangin mall and first avenue. the room is still using old type crt television instead of modern flat lcd. even through agoda, the room rate was still high. all in all, our family enjoyed our stay at traders hotel.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Traders Hotel PenangTraders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Executive SuiteTraders Hotel Penang - Hotel LobbyTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - PorchTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming poolTraders Hotel Penang - Health ClubTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHATraders Hotel Penang - Traders Club LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function roomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/CafeTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolTraders Hotel Penang - Guest RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe

Customer Reviews - Traders Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3C04