My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traders Hotel

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Shangri-la

Traders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Room Traders Hotel Penang - Executive Suite Traders Hotel Penang - Hotel Lobby Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Porch Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming pool Traders Hotel Penang - Health Club Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHA Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set up
Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set up Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet Room Traders Hotel Penang - Meeting Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function room
Hotel Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

8.1

based on
2336 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2336)
Sort by:
Ji Y. Families with older children Singapore, August 11, 2013
Fantastic hotel

Cleaniness, location and service
7.7
A very good hotel in my opinion. Very near to the bus terminal where you can grab a transport to anywhere in Penang. It's linked to 3 shopping malls where you can find almost everything, shoppers paradise. Very clean hotel and good service by the staffs.
James L. Business travelers United States of America, August 11, 2013
penang is not high on my list interesting city for

wonderful, clean and convenient
9.7
Everything is superb except for the internet. It is dead as a door nail during early mornings and almost the entire evening. Management should get more bandwidth. To be fair, surfing the net is OK, but writing emails, which requires some up loading (no files attached in my case) just cant be executed. But let me emphasize that everything else is superb, including breakfast, which was not included in my room rate, but still nice at M$ 46 per person.
Andrew S. Solo travelers Singapore, August 11, 2013
pleasant but uneventful

location is close to Heritage sites
7
No particular issue to report. Its rather old but comfortable and security fair. Access to shopping and sightseeing sites is good and convenient.
Yan F. Families with older children Malaysia, August 11, 2013
Relaxing and excellent stay

Centrally located, friendly staff and easy access to historical places
9.3
It is very relaxing stay for us. We will come back to this hotel in our next visit. Will definitely recommend to friends.
Corena L. Couples Malaysia, August 10, 2013
centrally located in town

clean, convinient, friendly staff
9
good experience staying in this hotel. the receptionist is friendly. this hotel is located at the central of the city, thus it is convinient to go around the places for shopping or food hunting :)
Junwei C. Business travelers Singapore, August 10, 2013
Extremely good stay in the Traders Club Suites

6-8pm free cocktails for Traders Club stayers, centrally located to famous local food, clean room.
9.3
I stayed in the Traders Club Suites which was very value for money. There is a free cocktail from 6-8pm with beer, wine and finger foods. The room is big with a good supply of toiletries. It is very centrally located to the famous local food. My friends that stayed in another room are very pleased about the hotel as well. Definitely will stay in Traders Hotel again when I visit Penang again.
Mark T. Couples Malaysia, August 10, 2013
Overrated and Old

Location that's about it
4.7
I expected more. Requested for a non-smoking room but got a smoking room on a smoking floor which was smelling of stale smell. Wifi in the room was slow the bathroom was old and the fittings have not been refurbished. Apart from the location I cannot think of any other things that is good in this hotel. Surely, it does not live up to the Traders Brand name.
Jun K. Families with older children Japan, August 10, 2013
Supurb lounge service

lounge service ,shuttle service to beach side resort ,location
8
No problem,comfortable ,especially lounge service was very nice. Lounge stuffs were very friendly.I Would like to come back to this hotel again .
Loong F. Families with older children Malaysia, August 10, 2013
comfortable, suitable for a family stay

room size, friendly staffs, great breakfast
8.7
easy to access to public transport. and it is centrally located in the city. friendly staffs and fantastic breakfast.
Peng R. Families with young children China, August 10, 2013
Relax & enjoy

clean room, swimming pool
7.7
enjoy our staying at Trades hotel as kids enjoy it

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Traders Hotel PenangTraders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Executive SuiteTraders Hotel Penang - Hotel LobbyTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - PorchTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming poolTraders Hotel Penang - Health ClubTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHATraders Hotel Penang - Traders Club LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function room

Customer Reviews - Traders Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B02