or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traders Hotel

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Shangri-la

Traders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Room Traders Hotel Penang - Executive Suite Traders Hotel Penang - Hotel Lobby Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Porch Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming pool Traders Hotel Penang - Health Club Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHA Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set up
Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set up Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet Room Traders Hotel Penang - Meeting Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Traders Hotel Penang - Guest Room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
2461 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2461)
Sort by:
Alistair W. Couples United Kingdom, January 12, 2013
Needs updating

staff on club room floor were very nice
2.7
Well located next to shopping malls in George Town, but the area didn't feel very safe. The hotel is very dated and the rooms much smaller than you would expect from a Trader's hotel. There were holes in the pillow case and the chairs in the room, looked like they had seen better days! View was nice though, overlooking the town and sea, toiletries provided were of a good standard and far more superior to the hotel its self!!!! I wouldn't stay again, as the hotel was dated and the area, wasn't very nice. Which is a shame as the club room staff were very helpful, although downstairs in the main hotel, the staff seemed too busy / couldn't care attitude towards guests.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Temple at the top of the hill is worth visiting
Melvin M. Business travelers Singapore, January 11, 2013
Good Service and Location

Beside Shopping Mall and Main road along Jalan Magazine
8.3
Complete and Cosy Road. Easy accessibility to major roads due to location. Beside Komtar and 1st Avenue.
Daniel H. Families with older children Australia, January 10, 2013
Clean, but needs renovating

Location
6
We have stayed in Traders Hotels worldwide and knew that we couldn't go wrong with the Traders in Penang. We did feel that the Hotel was in need of a revamp. The rooms were spacious enough, however the decor was old fashioned. The breakfast buffet was very disappointing. The selection of foods as very limited and not hugely appetising. I did have a nice omelette one morning and it was tasty. Overall, a decent hotel, but nothing special.
Michael B. Couples Australia, January 7, 2013
Great Shopping Location

Shopping
6.3
In my opinion when you stay on the Island of Penang you can stay on the resort strip Batu Feringgi or the city of George town which offers great food and some interesting sights. The best thing about this hotel is that you can do both. The sister resort by Shangri-La allows you to have a day or two off sitting by the pool courtesy of a free bus. The Traders hotel was in a great location if you like shopping, as it is right next to 3 interconnected shopping malls. As I don't like shopping this did not interest me. The hotel is not in the best location for exploring the city. However it is possible to walk up Jalan Penang (15-20 mins) to the main tourist night spots. The room itself is nothing special, on arriving at our room the A/C was found to be leaking water all over the carpet. Once builing services were called, they quickly fixed the problem (As an engineer I was suprised at the lack of preventative maintenance as a whole when travelling in Malaysia, a quote from the planning minister on a spate of engineer disasters relating to land slides "this is not a planning problem, it is just gods will"). While the problem was fixed, we were not offered a new room and had wet carpet for a few days which began to smell a bit. Then I remember that I did not pay much to stay in this hotel and the rest of our stay was fine.
Restaurant Tip: A must eat location is the 'Red Garden' located on Lebuh Leith. It is kind of like a cross between a food court and a restraunt, i.e lots of small restraunts with a common eating area. This place is like an overdose for foodies. So much on offer, only limited stomach space.
Lee T. Couples Malaysia, January 6, 2013
Great location, good hotel

Location, front office staff, room keeping
8
Great location if you want to wander around Georgetown and friendly staff. Prompt room keeping. Pool was a little small thought but overall good stay.
Chung W. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 6, 2013
Great service and friendly staff

Traders Club Lounge & Privileges
9
I enjoyed my stay in the Traders Club room as it is quiet yet so near the lounge . The room is good size with a good view . Love the happy hour where you get a nice selection of tapas and drinks. The staff members are courteous, friendly and took effort to check on my comfort without being overly intrusive.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: If you intend to visit the Snake temple, do it while enroute from the airport to city as it is midway in between.
Jenywaty J. Groups Indonesia, January 6, 2013
excellent hotel

near to komtar and 1st avenue
7.3
this hotel has a nice staff and interior design. very clean and comfortable hotel room.
Matina P. Couples Australia, January 4, 2013
Well located for points of interest

Great check in protocol! It includes a rose for the lady.
9
Our suite was excellent. All of the services promised were fulfilled. Any issues were dealt with promptly. Staff were cordial and helpful. However, in future we will avoid being directed to the executive lounge for breakfast. The breakfast room is undoubtedly always the best option: more choices. This hotel has an excellent breakfast room on the ground floor. The concierge service matches the destination: well informed re where to visit and how to get there. The hotel is well located in terms of access to sites of interest.You can even take a trip to the beauty salan without leaving the hotel.
Hotel Feature Tip: In the late afternoons the hotel puts on entertainment in the lobby lounge. In our case it was singers and band.
Kah H. Couples Singapore, January 3, 2013
Older Hotel with Smiling Service

Nice friendly staff
8.3
Service staff are very friendly and Food was Good too. The Rooms are nice but of Age ! But regardless of this, i will come back to this Hotel again.
Prashant A. Couples Australia, January 2, 2013
Great Value For Money

Great Location, Friendly Staff
8.7
Me and my wife wanted a clean good hotel but did not want to pay 5 star rates, so Traders fit into our requirements just perfect. Our experience was also great. Rooms are a bit small, but since we spend most day outside the hotel it did not matter much. Staff was very courteous and friendly and overall we had a great experience.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Do not miss the street paintings by Ernest Zacharevic all around Georgetown. Follow a trail of his paintings and it's a great way to experience Georgetown. It's a special treat for photography enthusiasts

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Traders Hotel PenangTraders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Executive SuiteTraders Hotel Penang - Hotel LobbyTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - PorchTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming poolTraders Hotel Penang - Health ClubTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHATraders Hotel Penang - Traders Club LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function roomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/CafeTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolTraders Hotel Penang - Guest RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe

Customer Reviews - Traders Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3A07