or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traders Hotel

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Shangri-la

Traders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Room Traders Hotel Penang - Executive Suite Traders Hotel Penang - Hotel Lobby Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Porch Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming pool Traders Hotel Penang - Health Club Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHA Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set up
Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set up Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet Room Traders Hotel Penang - Meeting Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function room
Hotel Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

8.1

based on
2328 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2328)
Sort by:
Hj M. Couples Brunei Darussalam, June 18, 2012
Good location for cari2 makan and shopping

Central Bus station and car park is very near to the hotel
7.3
Had a overall pleasant stay in the hotel. Walking distance to nearby shopping centers - Komtar where you can find baju for Hari Raya. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. However, rooms were quite small. Would recommend to others if they are looking for a good budget hotel. There are many variety of food selection at the restaurant.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Concierge at the counter was very helpful to recommend where the best place to go and help to find the hire car, of course the best place to get the best food in Penang.
Mark E. Couples United Kingdom, June 17, 2012
Stayed many times never disapoints

convienient
8.7
Never had issue with this hotel, the staff are exceptional.. staying on the club floor the breakfast is certainly better than the restaurant. In fact, the restaurant is the only down side, the food is not to appealing.
Jee L. Families with older children Singapore, June 17, 2012
Good location

Convenience
6
Convenient location, near many local hawker places. Next to shopping mall 1st Avenue. Staff are helpful. Room size is sufficient. Only about half an hour from airport. Pricing is reasonable. However, as there is construction just across the road, can be noisy and dusty for a while.
Naimah A. Groups Singapore, June 17, 2012
Affordable luxury

has all the features expected of a four-star hotel, great location
7.3
my sister and i enjoyed our stay at traders hotel. the bed was exceedingly comfortable and there was ample space in the deluxe room for the two of us. the tv could be updated to a lcd flat screen however, to be more in line with a four-star hotel. otherwise everything else was fine. checked out the gym but didn't use it, wish it could be open later than 10pm. appreciated the free wifi a lot
See K. Families with young children Singapore, June 17, 2012
Homely Hotel with Excellent Service

Clean and New
10
this hotel is strategically located in the heart of georgetown with many shopping malls around it. getting meals is also convenient around the hotel. buffet in hotel is relatively inexpensive and good selection too. there is a free bus transfer to its sister hotel, golden sands resort at batu ferringhi. it also has a free bus service to the nearby hawker centre call new world park.
Cheo T. Couples June 17, 2012
Nice hotel

Great location, nice room
8.3
I love the location of the hotel. It is so centrally located, almost everything is within walking distance - shopping mall, bus terminal, food streets, etc.
Cheo T. Groups June 17, 2012
Comfortable room

Friendly staff, comfortable room
9.3
I stayed here with my mum. We both like the hotel very much. Great location. Comfortable room. Friendly Staff. Can't ask for more.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: the bus terminal is just behind the hotel. you can almost go anyway from here.
Kiat C. Couples Singapore, June 17, 2012
Best location

its in a centralised location
8.3
I always stay in Traders whenever I go to Penang simply because of its great location. Its near to Komtar so traveling by bus is always easy. It is near to the new shopping mall and great food can be found just across the road
Lee K. Families with young children Singapore, June 16, 2012
Great Location

Ideal location, Clean room and helpful staff
7.7
we stayed there for three nights and it was a satisfying stay. everything went well. the hotel even provide free shuttle bus to the beach at batu ferringhi - as a result we get to enjoy the cool sea breeze and view the lovely sunset!
Puay J. Families with young children Singapore, June 16, 2012
Lovely hotel with great location

Ideal location, helpful staff, free shuttle bus to the beach
7.7
I stayed at Traders for three nights with family - 3 a room. Though the room was a bit small for three person, everything else was ok. The hotel also provide shuttle bus to Batu Ferringhi where we can have access to the beach. Nice! We did not have breakfast at the hotel or call for room service so I am neutral when it comes to food/dining rating.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Traders Hotel PenangTraders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Executive SuiteTraders Hotel Penang - Hotel LobbyTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - PorchTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming poolTraders Hotel Penang - Health ClubTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHATraders Hotel Penang - Traders Club LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function room

Customer Reviews - Traders Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B02