or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traders Hotel

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Shangri-la

Traders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Room Traders Hotel Penang - Executive Suite Traders Hotel Penang - Hotel Lobby Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Porch Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming pool Traders Hotel Penang - Health Club Traders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - The Islander Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHA Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Business Center Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set up
Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set up Traders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet Room Traders Hotel Penang - Meeting Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function Room Traders Hotel Penang - Function room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe Traders Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Traders Hotel Penang - Guest Room Traders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
2461 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (2461)
Sort by:
Mei Y. Groups Hong Kong, July 21, 2014
convenient, comfort.

good location and comfort and food is good.
8.7
nice stay but swimming pool is so small and the durian session is not good enough.
Runa M. Couples Japan, July 21, 2014
Friendly staff and great location

Location, Staff, Transportation
8.3
Great location, and the hotel is close to the free shuttle bus stop at Komtar. Bell service was friendly and please get their Trader's hotel's travel broucher at the counter. The broucher has useful information and place of interest around the hotel.
Aik C. Couples Singapore, July 21, 2014
Good getaway!

Food, Service & Previledge
7.3
Very comfortable and nice. Was surprise by the firework on the 1st night stay!
Jeanie T. Couples Singapore, July 20, 2014
Excellent

Location, Staff Service
7.3
Excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful
Eleanor F. Solo travelers Australia, July 16, 2014
Good hotel, great staff

Friendly staff, great sleep, Traders Club lounge
9
I stayed for six nights in a Traders Club room at the Traders Hotel, George Town. Checkin was smooth, room spotless and well appointed, and the Club Lounge was well worth the extra money - a quiet haven after being out on the busy streets. While I cannot fault the staff or the cleanliness, the hotel room feels dated - old decor, although in good repair. Loved the Club Lounge. The hotel has a shuttle service to Golden Sands at Batu Ferringi beach and we used this service twice. Excellent service. The pool at Traders is quite stark, although a good size. Traders Hotel is a business hotel and as we were there on a holiday, we would have been better to choose a beach hotel but had been put off by other TA reviews that mentioned the beaches were dirty. They're not. Would stay at Traders again if I needed to visit Penang, but I don't think Penang will be on the holiday list again.
Kin F. Families with older children Malaysia, July 14, 2014
Enjoyable

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and variety of teas offered
9.7
My family and I have enjoyed our stay.
Neo C. Groups Singapore, July 7, 2014
My stay at traders was awesome and great!

Good location, walking distance to the heritage place and there is a shopping mall just beside the hotel
9
Very pleasant and comfortable stay, wifi was good and is near to bus interchange. Will definitely go back in near future.
Johan S. Business travelers Malaysia, July 6, 2014
Adequate

Location, budget,
6.3
Comfortable
Peter E. Couples Australia, July 5, 2014
Good 4 star hotel

Staff performance
6.3
Room is what you would expect for 4 star. Not particularly modern but acceptable. What i think this hotel does well at is the staff performance particularly the breakfast crew and club lounge.
Dezmond H. Couples Singapore, July 5, 2014
Good location

Service, location, lounge
8.7
Staff were friendly and attentive. Location is near to shopping malls and street food.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Traders Hotel PenangTraders Hotel Penang - Deluxe Room Traders Hotel Penang - Traders Club RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Executive SuiteTraders Hotel Penang - Hotel LobbyTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby Lounge Traders Hotel Penang - PorchTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming poolTraders Hotel Penang - Health ClubTraders Hotel Penang - Lobby LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - The IslanderTraders Hotel Penang - Function Room - CHATraders Hotel Penang - Traders Club LoungeTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Business CenterTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - western set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom - Chinese set upTraders Hotel Penang - Ballroom Foyer Traders Hotel Penang - Banquet RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Function roomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/CafeTraders Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolTraders Hotel Penang - Guest RoomTraders Hotel Penang - Coffee Shop/Cafe

Customer Reviews - Traders Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3A01