or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traveller Homestay

240 Padungan Road, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Borneolife B & B
Traveller Homestay Kuching - Bedroom Traveller Homestay Kuching - Chinatown precinct Traveller Homestay Kuching - Room Traveller Homestay Kuching - Surroundings Traveller Homestay Kuching - Reception Traveller Homestay Kuching - Shared bathroom Traveller Homestay Kuching - Coffee shop seating area Traveller Homestay Kuching - Roof terrace Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Exterior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Bathroom Traveller Homestay Kuching - Exterior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Guest Room
Traveller Homestay Kuching - Restaurant Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 5
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.7

based on
19 reviews

Value for Money
9.4
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (19)
Sort by:
Lee Y. Couples Brunei Darussalam, September 10, 2014
Value for Money

Hostel Cleanliness, Location, Value for Money
7.7
This hotel is clean & good location. 24hrs restaurant just next to it. The lady owner is friendly and nice. She provided a good service. Only 1 thing that need to complain is the room which I styed is face to the main road. When car passby is very nosiy. Lucky I do bring my own ear plug so I still manage to sleep. You can choose the room with no window will be better.
Jean B. Couples United States of America, July 26, 2014
Nice shop house

The owner, Moi, is very friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed talking to her and learning about her family and the history of their shop and their home.
9.7
Our room was on the front of the building and there was traffic all night, but we put in ear plugs and it was fine. The accommodations are simple, but clean and comfortable, and the place has character!! Spending a couple of nights here gives you a real feel for the history and culture of the local people which you don't get staying in a large hotel. Great value!!
Birgit S. Families with older children Austria, July 22, 2014
perfect home

moi,the landlady/breakfast/atmosphere
10
this wonderful , simple place is run by loveable moi who will go out of her way to look after her guests.the rooms are small and clean, so are the bathrooms,the house is decorated with style, you get different food for brekkie every day, there are daily newspapers, fruit and water for you and you can even eat in at the downstairs food stall.the city center is in easy walking distance and moi knows reliable taxi drvers and agencies for daytrips.if you want to experience true hospitality and catch a glimpse of everyday life in kuching/chinatown stay there.we simply loved our week there!!!!!
Elson L. Solo travelers Singapore, July 20, 2014
will visit again

cozy quiet comfortable
7
Jayne B. Solo travelers Australia, June 23, 2014
Lovely old shophouse. Clean. Comfy and friendly

The house itself the coffee and moi and her family
8.7
Great. Easy Moi was super helpful. It is on a road so there is traffic at the front. If you want a peaceful stay in a clean room with extra amenities stay here
Marc M. Solo travelers Canada, March 25, 2014
Pleasant stay but be aware of what you are getting

Staff, lounge, cleanliness
8.3
I had a good stay, and Moi and her brother (they manage the place) are really kind and helpful. Two issues with Agoda though: 1- It was not clearly stated in the hotel description nor on the booking page that bathrooms are always SHARED at this place; and 2- Even though I booked several months ahead of time on Agoda, the hotel had not received any email notification from Agoda regarding my reservation. Fortunately, there was a room available when I arrived, but these kinds of things can really spell disaster when you are away from home, and I do expect something more secure when booking through Agoda. Not sure I'll be booking with the same peace of mind in the future.
Sonia P. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 25, 2014
Friendly accommodating staff, value for money

Location, breakfast
8
Located within 10 minutes walk from the waterfront and in a busy new Chinatown area. The owner was very welcoming and friendly and provided good choice of breakfast suitable for my gluten free diet. Room description doesn't clearly state that all rooms have shared bathroom. Both my friend and I thought we are getting en suite. Maybe a tad misleading. It wasn't busy during our stay so it wasn't much of a problem but if it was packed then only two showers could prove inconvenient. Otherwise it was pleasant and there is a roof terrace to sit on. Good for watching Chinese festival if there is one happening. There was one during our stay. Not much to do in Kuching though if it rains or if you are not into wildlife. Otherwise can see orang utans and proboscis monkeys.
Mascha B. Couples Netherlands, March 24, 2014
Wonderful host

hospitality, very clean, feels like home
10
We had the best time here in Kuching. The lady of this homestay is wonderful and so friendly. It truly feels like a home, with a little living room with laptop, newspapers, decoration. It is very cheap too considering what you get, even breakfast included. We had a lovely time and highly reccomend this homestay.
Hon F. Solo travelers Singapore, March 14, 2014
good enough as a budget guest house

different breakfast everyday, clean and safe. air-con works well.
7.7
just like every other reviews, owner is friendly. but wifi connection is poor & weak. sometimes no connection. located at the end of Chinatown. 10-15 mins walk to esplanade. no problem with shared toilet. good enough for a simple stay since I was out most of the time. would come and stay here again on my next visit to kuching
Andras S. Couples Hungary, March 14, 2014
Clean, affordable and very friendly staff

friendy, clean, affordable
8.7
A very friendly and cosy place. Moi is a wonderful host. She helps with everything, including food, travelling and programme recommendation. The rooms and the public area are clean, you can have tea, coffee or even some fruit. The aircon does it's job, the room facing the main street is a bit noisy so if you're a light sleeper bring some earplugs and you'll have no problems. There's a restaurant downstairs where locals eat, you can have really good steamed buns, and you can also buy water and even pain killers. The downtown is a light 10 minutes walk away, and there's also a laundry nearby. If you're looking for an affordable place where you can feel at home this is the place for you.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Traveller Homestay Kuching - EntranceTraveller Homestay Kuching - BedroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - Chinatown precinctTraveller Homestay Kuching - RoomTraveller Homestay Kuching - SurroundingsTraveller Homestay Kuching - ReceptionTraveller Homestay Kuching - Shared bathroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - Coffee shop seating areaTraveller Homestay Kuching - Roof terraceTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - ExteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - BathroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - ExteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - Guest RoomTraveller Homestay Kuching - RestaurantTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - Interior


AS-AGWEB-3C03