Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traveller Homestay

240 Padungan Road, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.8

based on 35 reviews

26 reviews in English

Value for Money
9.3
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
9.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (35)
Sort by:
Kimberly D. Couples Ireland, February 28, 2016
The best place we have stayed in seven months trav
6.7
Myself and my friend booked into the Traveller Homestay for three nights and ended up staying for eight! We absolutely loved it. Moi made us feel at home and was like a mom to us! She is so kind, helpful and genuinely wants you to have the best experience possible both in her homestay and in Kuching. She serves a traditional breakfast every morning with lots of choices on the menu. She helped us book lots of day trips and sorted out a taxi driver to bring us places and wait for us when there was no bus available. The room, bathrooms and living space were all exceptionally clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a place to stay in Kuching look no further than the Traveller Homestay, definitely the best accommodation we have stayed in over seven months travelling. Thank you Moi!
Report this review
Pawel O. Couples Canada, January 31, 2016
Great Value.
6
Breakfast was delicious. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Shared bathrooms, but not so bad. Location good for food, not the best if you want to go to the river front or carpenter street -20-25 min walk. No sidewalks, hot and humid, and no taxies to speak of in sight. But that goes for the whole city. Overall you won't be disappointed.
Report this review
Sebastien M. Couples France, August 6, 2015
good

location, price, staff
7.7
Report this review
Pawel S. Solo travelers Poland, July 29, 2015
Really feels like home

the owner, cleanliness, lounge
8.3
The stay was quite nice. The place was clean and has got its style. Moi, a lady running it, is really friendly and helpful. The trips I took (3D2N Gunung Mulu National Park and Semenggoh Nature Reserve + kayaking) I booked through her, she was also happy to share information and tips, even walked me to a nearby bus stop. There's a nice lounge, with a collection of books in English and reasonably recent DVDs, plus free bottled water/coffee/tea/tiny but tasty local bananas (and the homestay is over a cafe if that's not enough). On the negative side, my room was quite noisy (street noise + loud A/C). Having already stayed in a converted Chinese shophouse in Malaysia I came equipped with earplugs, though. Also, water pressure seemed not to be high enough to allow two people to take hot showers at once.
Report this review
Benjamin H. Couples United Kingdom, May 17, 2015
Wonderful family run homestay

staff, room, breakfast
10
Superb place to stay in Kuching, cannot recommend enough. Moi was a fantastic host, she was very accommodating, served delicious meals in the family restaurant, helped with buses getting to Bako National park and generally was just very lovely. A true home away from home. We were sad to leave.
Report this review
Yin Y. Solo travelers China, January 14, 2015
Nice little hotel with friendly host

friendly host, clean and nice room, easy to get food
8.3
The host of traveller Homestay is very nice. try to help you different way, I was there for one night only, but she come to pick me up from my previous hotel and called a taxi for sending me to the airport the next day. There is a living room,if your flight is in late evening you can always stay in the living room till near your flight time and go. the ground floor is a restaurant where you can get good food to eat. overall is good.
Report this review
Karen L. Couples Australia, December 14, 2014
Fabulous homestay environment

Quality for money, Customer Service, Friendly homely atmosphere
9.7
We keep booking in for more nights here. The Traveller is immaculately clean, comfortable rooms and beds, quiet aircon, has wonderful decor, lots of little attention to detail and the owner and staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. It is very secure and great value for money. You wake each morning to the sound of the bustling coffee shop below (always full of diners) and the smell of freshly ground coffee. The location is in an interesting part of Kuching, lots of local small businesses and eateries, a bit of a walk to the waterfront (about 20 minutes) so a little bit away from some of the other touristy places. Highly recommended to any traveller, you won't be disappointed.
Report this review
Kristian H. Solo travelers Australia, November 17, 2014
A unique homestay

Unique Malaysian experience, Homely feel, excellent service
8.3
I had a great time staying here. The manager Moi puts a lot of personal care into every person who stays here (with fantastic English skills) in making sure they are comfortable and they know where they are going. Breakfast is fantastic and you can get it without time limit, and you eat it downstairs in the family restaurant where you are warmly greeted by everyone there. The location a bit so-so at the edge of town, but walking through the Chinese quarter is always a lovely experience and there's some good food and shopping. I would definately recommend this homestay to any traveller.
Report this review
Lee Y. Couples Brunei Darussalam, September 10, 2014
Value for Money

Hostel Cleanliness, Location, Value for Money
7.7
This hotel is clean & good location. 24hrs restaurant just next to it. The lady owner is friendly and nice. She provided a good service. Only 1 thing that need to complain is the room which I styed is face to the main road. When car passby is very nosiy. Lucky I do bring my own ear plug so I still manage to sleep. You can choose the room with no window will be better.
Report this review
Jean B. Couples United States of America, July 26, 2014
Nice shop house

The owner, Moi, is very friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed talking to her and learning about her family and the history of their shop and their home.
9.7
Our room was on the front of the building and there was traffic all night, but we put in ear plugs and it was fine. The accommodations are simple, but clean and comfortable, and the place has character!! Spending a couple of nights here gives you a real feel for the history and culture of the local people which you don't get staying in a large hotel. Great value!!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 26 reviews Next page
Traveller Homestay Kuching - EntranceTraveller Homestay Kuching - BedroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - Chinatown precinctTraveller Homestay Kuching - RoomTraveller Homestay Kuching - SurroundingsTraveller Homestay Kuching - ReceptionTraveller Homestay Kuching - Shared bathroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - Coffee shop seating areaTraveller Homestay Kuching - Roof terraceTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - ExteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - BathroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - ExteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - Guest RoomTraveller Homestay Kuching - RestaurantTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07