or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traveller Homestay

240 Padungan Road, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Borneolife B & B
Traveller Homestay Kuching - Bedroom Traveller Homestay Kuching - Chinatown precinct Traveller Homestay Kuching - Room Traveller Homestay Kuching - Surroundings Traveller Homestay Kuching - Reception Traveller Homestay Kuching - Shared bathroom Traveller Homestay Kuching - Coffee shop seating area Traveller Homestay Kuching - Roof terrace Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Exterior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Bathroom Traveller Homestay Kuching - Exterior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Guest Room
Traveller Homestay Kuching - Restaurant Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior Traveller Homestay Kuching - Interior
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 5

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.7

based on
22 reviews

Value for Money
9.3
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (22)
Sort by:
Karen L. Couples Australia, December 14, 2014
Fabulous homestay environment

Quality for money, Customer Service, Friendly homely atmosphere
9.7
We keep booking in for more nights here. The Traveller is immaculately clean, comfortable rooms and beds, quiet aircon, has wonderful decor, lots of little attention to detail and the owner and staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. It is very secure and great value for money. You wake each morning to the sound of the bustling coffee shop below (always full of diners) and the smell of freshly ground coffee. The location is in an interesting part of Kuching, lots of local small businesses and eateries, a bit of a walk to the waterfront (about 20 minutes) so a little bit away from some of the other touristy places. Highly recommended to any traveller, you won't be disappointed.
Kristian H. Solo travelers Australia, November 17, 2014
A unique homestay

Unique Malaysian experience, Homely feel, excellent service
8.3
I had a great time staying here. The manager Moi puts a lot of personal care into every person who stays here (with fantastic English skills) in making sure they are comfortable and they know where they are going. Breakfast is fantastic and you can get it without time limit, and you eat it downstairs in the family restaurant where you are warmly greeted by everyone there. The location a bit so-so at the edge of town, but walking through the Chinese quarter is always a lovely experience and there's some good food and shopping. I would definately recommend this homestay to any traveller.
Lee Y. Couples Brunei Darussalam, September 10, 2014
Value for Money

Hostel Cleanliness, Location, Value for Money
7.7
This hotel is clean & good location. 24hrs restaurant just next to it. The lady owner is friendly and nice. She provided a good service. Only 1 thing that need to complain is the room which I styed is face to the main road. When car passby is very nosiy. Lucky I do bring my own ear plug so I still manage to sleep. You can choose the room with no window will be better.
Jean B. Couples United States of America, July 26, 2014
Nice shop house

The owner, Moi, is very friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed talking to her and learning about her family and the history of their shop and their home.
9.7
Our room was on the front of the building and there was traffic all night, but we put in ear plugs and it was fine. The accommodations are simple, but clean and comfortable, and the place has character!! Spending a couple of nights here gives you a real feel for the history and culture of the local people which you don't get staying in a large hotel. Great value!!
Birgit S. Families with older children Austria, July 22, 2014
perfect home

moi,the landlady/breakfast/atmosphere
10
this wonderful , simple place is run by loveable moi who will go out of her way to look after her guests.the rooms are small and clean, so are the bathrooms,the house is decorated with style, you get different food for brekkie every day, there are daily newspapers, fruit and water for you and you can even eat in at the downstairs food stall.the city center is in easy walking distance and moi knows reliable taxi drvers and agencies for daytrips.if you want to experience true hospitality and catch a glimpse of everyday life in kuching/chinatown stay there.we simply loved our week there!!!!!
Elson L. Solo travelers Singapore, July 20, 2014
will visit again

cozy quiet comfortable
7
Jayne B. Solo travelers Australia, June 23, 2014
Lovely old shophouse. Clean. Comfy and friendly

The house itself the coffee and moi and her family
8.7
Great. Easy Moi was super helpful. It is on a road so there is traffic at the front. If you want a peaceful stay in a clean room with extra amenities stay here
Marc M. Solo travelers Canada, March 25, 2014
Pleasant stay but be aware of what you are getting

Staff, lounge, cleanliness
8.3
I had a good stay, and Moi and her brother (they manage the place) are really kind and helpful. Two issues with Agoda though: 1- It was not clearly stated in the hotel description nor on the booking page that bathrooms are always SHARED at this place; and 2- Even though I booked several months ahead of time on Agoda, the hotel had not received any email notification from Agoda regarding my reservation. Fortunately, there was a room available when I arrived, but these kinds of things can really spell disaster when you are away from home, and I do expect something more secure when booking through Agoda. Not sure I'll be booking with the same peace of mind in the future.
Sonia P. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 25, 2014
Friendly accommodating staff, value for money

Location, breakfast
8
Located within 10 minutes walk from the waterfront and in a busy new Chinatown area. The owner was very welcoming and friendly and provided good choice of breakfast suitable for my gluten free diet. Room description doesn't clearly state that all rooms have shared bathroom. Both my friend and I thought we are getting en suite. Maybe a tad misleading. It wasn't busy during our stay so it wasn't much of a problem but if it was packed then only two showers could prove inconvenient. Otherwise it was pleasant and there is a roof terrace to sit on. Good for watching Chinese festival if there is one happening. There was one during our stay. Not much to do in Kuching though if it rains or if you are not into wildlife. Otherwise can see orang utans and proboscis monkeys.
Mascha B. Couples Netherlands, March 24, 2014
Wonderful host

hospitality, very clean, feels like home
10
We had the best time here in Kuching. The lady of this homestay is wonderful and so friendly. It truly feels like a home, with a little living room with laptop, newspapers, decoration. It is very cheap too considering what you get, even breakfast included. We had a lovely time and highly reccomend this homestay.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Traveller Homestay Kuching - EntranceTraveller Homestay Kuching - BedroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - Chinatown precinctTraveller Homestay Kuching - RoomTraveller Homestay Kuching - SurroundingsTraveller Homestay Kuching - ReceptionTraveller Homestay Kuching - Shared bathroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - Coffee shop seating areaTraveller Homestay Kuching - Roof terraceTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - ExteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - BathroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - ExteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - Guest RoomTraveller Homestay Kuching - RestaurantTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - Interior


AS-AGWEB-3B08