Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Traveller Homestay

240 Padungan Road, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

9.0

based on 19 reviews

26 reviews in English

Value for Money
9.5
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
9.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
8.6
Couples (19)
Sort by:
Kimberly D. Couples Ireland, February 28, 2016
The best place we have stayed in seven months trav
6.7
Myself and my friend booked into the Traveller Homestay for three nights and ended up staying for eight! We absolutely loved it. Moi made us feel at home and was like a mom to us! She is so kind, helpful and genuinely wants you to have the best experience possible both in her homestay and in Kuching. She serves a traditional breakfast every morning with lots of choices on the menu. She helped us book lots of day trips and sorted out a taxi driver to bring us places and wait for us when there was no bus available. The room, bathrooms and living space were all exceptionally clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a place to stay in Kuching look no further than the Traveller Homestay, definitely the best accommodation we have stayed in over seven months travelling. Thank you Moi!
Pawel O. Couples Canada, January 31, 2016
Great Value.
6
Breakfast was delicious. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Shared bathrooms, but not so bad. Location good for food, not the best if you want to go to the river front or carpenter street -20-25 min walk. No sidewalks, hot and humid, and no taxies to speak of in sight. But that goes for the whole city. Overall you won't be disappointed.
Sebastien M. Couples France, August 6, 2015
good

location, price, staff
7.7
Benjamin H. Couples United Kingdom, May 17, 2015
Wonderful family run homestay

staff, room, breakfast
10
Superb place to stay in Kuching, cannot recommend enough. Moi was a fantastic host, she was very accommodating, served delicious meals in the family restaurant, helped with buses getting to Bako National park and generally was just very lovely. A true home away from home. We were sad to leave.
Karen L. Couples Australia, December 14, 2014
Fabulous homestay environment

Quality for money, Customer Service, Friendly homely atmosphere
9.7
We keep booking in for more nights here. The Traveller is immaculately clean, comfortable rooms and beds, quiet aircon, has wonderful decor, lots of little attention to detail and the owner and staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. It is very secure and great value for money. You wake each morning to the sound of the bustling coffee shop below (always full of diners) and the smell of freshly ground coffee. The location is in an interesting part of Kuching, lots of local small businesses and eateries, a bit of a walk to the waterfront (about 20 minutes) so a little bit away from some of the other touristy places. Highly recommended to any traveller, you won't be disappointed.
Lee Y. Couples Brunei Darussalam, September 10, 2014
Value for Money

Hostel Cleanliness, Location, Value for Money
7.7
This hotel is clean & good location. 24hrs restaurant just next to it. The lady owner is friendly and nice. She provided a good service. Only 1 thing that need to complain is the room which I styed is face to the main road. When car passby is very nosiy. Lucky I do bring my own ear plug so I still manage to sleep. You can choose the room with no window will be better.
Jean B. Couples United States of America, July 26, 2014
Nice shop house

The owner, Moi, is very friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed talking to her and learning about her family and the history of their shop and their home.
9.7
Our room was on the front of the building and there was traffic all night, but we put in ear plugs and it was fine. The accommodations are simple, but clean and comfortable, and the place has character!! Spending a couple of nights here gives you a real feel for the history and culture of the local people which you don't get staying in a large hotel. Great value!!
Mascha B. Couples Netherlands, March 24, 2014
Wonderful host

hospitality, very clean, feels like home
10
We had the best time here in Kuching. The lady of this homestay is wonderful and so friendly. It truly feels like a home, with a little living room with laptop, newspapers, decoration. It is very cheap too considering what you get, even breakfast included. We had a lovely time and highly reccomend this homestay.
Andras S. Couples Hungary, March 14, 2014
Clean, affordable and very friendly staff

friendy, clean, affordable
8.7
A very friendly and cosy place. Moi is a wonderful host. She helps with everything, including food, travelling and programme recommendation. The rooms and the public area are clean, you can have tea, coffee or even some fruit. The aircon does it's job, the room facing the main street is a bit noisy so if you're a light sleeper bring some earplugs and you'll have no problems. There's a restaurant downstairs where locals eat, you can have really good steamed buns, and you can also buy water and even pain killers. The downtown is a light 10 minutes walk away, and there's also a laundry nearby. If you're looking for an affordable place where you can feel at home this is the place for you.
Melissa D. Couples Australia, February 22, 2014
very pleased we found this place

authentic, charming, gracious host
8.7
This place was a great find. A 15-20 min easy walk to the central, along the river. Not too far from the airport. Set above a delicious Chinese restaurant with great local eateries on the street, and a public swimming pool 10 mins walk away.
1 - 10 of 35 reviews Next page
Traveller Homestay Kuching - EntranceTraveller Homestay Kuching - BedroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - Chinatown precinctTraveller Homestay Kuching - RoomTraveller Homestay Kuching - SurroundingsTraveller Homestay Kuching - ReceptionTraveller Homestay Kuching - Shared bathroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - Coffee shop seating areaTraveller Homestay Kuching - Roof terraceTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - ExteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - BathroomTraveller Homestay Kuching - ExteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - Guest RoomTraveller Homestay Kuching - RestaurantTraveller Homestay Kuching - InteriorTraveller Homestay Kuching - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04