My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tropical Guesthouse

2, Tengkat Tong Shin, Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50200 (Show on map)

Book now!

Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Walk way to 1st floor Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double Decker Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double Decker Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double Deluxe Ensuite Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Privet Walk way to President Suite room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - President Suite Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Exterior Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room
Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest Room Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Bathroom Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Bathroom Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Interior Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Privet Walk Way to Sexy/Honey rooms Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double Deluxe Ensuite Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double Deluxe Ensuite - Bathroom Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Lobby
Area: Bukit Bintang Number of Rooms: 18
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.1

based on
204 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
5.7
All reviews (204)
Sort by:
Carol M. Groups United Kingdom, June 30, 2014
Ok one night, very noisey, cat poo, lack of privac

Comfy bed. Relatively Cheap for KL. Easy location.
5.7
Its basic. The main door is not locked and is about 5m from the bedrooms. Which have only one key lock and no bolt so it doesn't feel very safe and there is a lot of noise until early morning. Bed is ok. It just feels very exposed to the street. In the morning the bathrooms were unclean and there was cat poo on the floor infront of the bathroom.
Quynh D. Groups Vietnam, May 10, 2014
terrible

nothing
4
this is a terrible one, room is only 6m2, No water, no towels even no blankets.... staffs are unfriendly and overcharge when i stay with 2 more friends in a double room.... with this amount of money, i can stay in many guesthouses next door with better condition!
Garrett D. Couples Ireland, February 25, 2014
Small Guesthouse friendly staff

Staff are accommodating owner is not so basic small rooms
6.3
Needed a place to stay for couple nights with my girlfriend and here was good for the sleep and chat with others except the owner when she shows up very rude to her staff who are doing a great job
Vu T. Couples Australia, December 29, 2013
Cosy, great location with 24 hour access

Location, theme, 24 hour access
6
Guesthouse A cosy guesthouse with great access late into the night. I arrived there at 1:30am in the morning and was greeted warmly when arrived. This was a last minute booking so after booking on Agoda, I'd also sent a heads up email which was promptly confirmed by the hotel. Great and prompt service there which is much appreciated. Please note that to enter the reception and hotel area you need to take off your shoes and leave it at the front. Don't worry, there is always at least one staff member around so you shouldn't lose your shoes. There is also no wifi available at the back of the hotel Location It's located at a great location, where you can walk to the city area within 5-10 minutes. From this street you can walk to most of the key shopping centres in town. There is also great seafood to eat at Jalan Alor late into the night.
Hong T. Couples Vietnam, December 24, 2013
Centrally located budget hotel

Location, price, surroundings
6.3
Our stay was ok. There was not much to praise or complain about the hotel. The room was very small but clean. The bathrooms are big and nicely designed. The staff wasnt very friendly. They didnt greet us or make an attempt to make a conversation during our stay. Within walking distance is the food street, monorail and big shopping malls. Overall, for a budget hotel and somewhere to stay the night when you explore the city in the morning, Tropical Guesthouse would be a good choice.
Ck S. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 22, 2013
Shopping

Shopping
6
Close to the many shipping area
Borje S. Couples Sweden, December 7, 2013
Reconsider your stay here.

Honestly, 3 "best" things is more than what the hotel deserves. It was clean and the location was good.
5.7
There are only two nice things to say about the place. The guest house is clean and the location is good. Also the shared bathroom/showers had hot water. That being said, there are many other hotels in the area that offer these within the same budjet. The rooms are clean, but very small and some don't even have windows. We changed rooms twice and all had bad sound isolation. One has to either wear ear plugs, be drunk or a very heavy sleeper to get any sleep. The noise was coming from all directions. Street noise through the door and a door that kept buzzing from the window, which we could hear even though our air conditioner was on! The people that work at the guest house didn't seem honest and there were some situations, when we felt very uncomfortable, cheated. We have lived and traveled around Asia, so this is not culture shock, but an honest review of a place where we would never stay again.
Sophia N. Couples Indonesia, November 17, 2013
clean room with lots of food nearby

clean, near shopping mall, lots of food nearby
7.7
overall it's good. the host was nice. if you like to drink, they have a table for you to drink together. but i will not recommend the stay for younger kids. however, they have lots of good food nearby. when i say a lot means a lot. haha. they have the whole street full of food, like nightmarket, in jalan alor if i remember correctly. it's juz a distance away with bukit bintang.
Sandeep S. Couples India, November 10, 2013
Good budget hotel, but rooms cramped for a couple

The location, pricing, and design.
7.7
A Good budget hotel with great connectivity to the most happening areas of KUL. Just that the rooms cramped for a couple. Not sufficient space in it for a couple and two bags. But i guess, you cant expect much for that price and in this location.
Ma A. Solo travelers Philippines, October 19, 2013
It felt like a prison cell

clean room, good location, nice vibe
5
The cool, tropical vibe of the hotel was completely ruined by the prison cell-like room. It was absolutely tiny! there was a bunk bed and barely 2 ft of space to walk in and get into the bed. Low ceiling and musky smell as well. The shared bathrooms were alright, although shared 1 bathroom with 8 rooms. If you must stay here, get a room with a window or the double room, but definitely not the bunk beds.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - ExteriorTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Walk way to 1st floorTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double DeckerTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double DeckerTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double Deluxe EnsuiteTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Privet Walk way to President Suite roomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - President SuiteTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - ExteriorTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Guest RoomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - BathroomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - BathroomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - InteriorTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Privet Walk Way to Sexy/Honey roomsTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double Deluxe Ensuite Tropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Double Deluxe Ensuite - BathroomTropical Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur - Lobby


AS-AGWEB-3C07