My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tropical Resort

62 Kata Road, Tambol Karon, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Chanalai Romantica Resort

Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Reception Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/Terrace Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Line Buffet Tropical Resort Phuket - Meeting Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages
Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room
Hotel Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 65
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
779 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (779)
Sort by:
Belinda P. Couples Australia, January 18, 2013
Fantastic hotel and great location

Having pool access was the best feature
8.3
The hotel is quite and relaxing its nice for couples. The room was great and always kept clean.
Bruce R. Couples New Zealand, January 17, 2013
Good hotel and location.

The room was good. The pool was excellent. The breakfasts were good.
6.7
Close to Kata Beach. Hotel staff were not very friendly apart from one young girl who was very helpful with internet and always smiling. Reception area too small. Room service very good. Breakfasts good and pool was excellent.
Katarzyna K. Couples Poland, January 16, 2013
Nice and comfortable

perfect location - close to the beach and restaurants
8.3
room was clean and spacious. the bathroom looks a bit like a small kitchenette but we liked it. good wifi connection. the swimming pool is nice.i cannot say anything about the restaurant as we prefer to eat outside the hotel and there are a number of nice restaurants and bar with good food. don't bring food to your room as you will immediately find ants. as we boked with agoda we have really good price and the hotel was good value for the money. good place for spending 3-4 days and see around the island.
Sandra M. Groups January 11, 2013
Great location, lovely clean Hotel
6.7
Fabulous swimming pool. Lovely staff.
Hotel Feature Tip: Get your pool lounger early as most of them are broken and there are only about 15 for the whole Hotel. They are not very forthcoming with pool towels.
Amy L. Couples Australia, January 10, 2013
4 star rooms and great service

Really great room and convenient to restaurants and shops in Kata; Great and helpful service from most of the staff
7.7
We arrived around midnight at the hotel only to be told that they have overbooked and have put us in their sister hotel - Serene Resort and was told we got an upgrade to an executive suite given the inconvenience. When we arrived at Serene Resort it was an absolute shock. The place had stained towels, bugs on the bed sheets and urine stains on and around the toilet. Given that it was around 1am, we stayed for one night and went back the next morning asked to be changed back to Tropical (which is what we booked for in the first place). After a lot of discussions we were finally given a room in Tropical. The deluxe room is smaller than the executive suite we were given at Serene but it was relatively new and very clean. There was one staff in particular who was very friendly and helpful which made our stay at Tropical Resort overall a rather enjoyable experience.
Hotel Feature Tip: if they ask you whether you would like an upgrade to their sister hotel, serene resort, do not take it. serene resort is nothing close to 3 or 4 star hotel and what you pay for at tropical resort.
Irina K. Groups Latvia, January 2, 2013
Would not recommend

none
3.7
Will not stay there again, the worst hotel out of 5 hotels I stayed during the trip. Extremely bad welcome .Food is absolutely terrible. I cannot imagine anyone staying there for more than 3 days(one of the days we actually spent elsewhere, so 2.5 days in this hotel was more than enough).
Didier R. Families with young children France, December 31, 2012
hotel ok, but a bit "tourist factory"

size of the rooms, breakfast, cleanness
8.3
the first point to mention is that we booked a room at the tropical resort but we ended up sleeping at the "serene resort", located 200m from there, apparently belonging to the same group: no problem for us we did not really care but it is a bit surprising though. hotel is quite ok (rooms are clean and big, staff is friendly and helpful, big pool in the middle, breakfast is very good for phuket, etc...). however, the hotel has no charm at all (big buidling, what i am used to call factory for tourists).
Melinda M. Couples Australia, December 30, 2012
very poorly run hotel

nothing positive to say
4
first day no hand towels, second day no towels, 3rd day no towels till 3pm, questioned and answered by trouble with laundry. Second day no "pay tv"answered by "Card broken" 4th day admitted bill not paid and pay tv cut off. How bad? your decision, Breakfast Poor. Room average. Russian Manager under emmence pressure.
Ander S. Couples Estonia, December 30, 2012
Great room, Good location, Not so good service

Value, Location
6.7
The room is great but the service is quite awful. The pool is not good and the breakfast is horrible. Almost no staff speaks english but a few staff were quite good on the other hand. Overall, actually enjoyed my stay there.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Rent a Motorbike and go drive to the Big Buddha
Tess H. Groups United Kingdom, December 27, 2012
only good thing about this hotel is the location

location
3.3
Three friends travelling together, we booked a third bed. It was the tiniest room with an ancient fold down bed squeezed in. The bed was so bad we slept on a thin mattress on the floor. The room only had two cups, towels etc, we complained, pleaded took staff to room to explain and it took three days to get sorted. The staff never apologised, they advised us that they were aiming at honey moon couples not families or groups of friends! I would have cried if I stayed here for a honeymoon. We found an amazing hotel along the beach, for a daily fee you can have a little bit of luxury and the fee can be offset against food or drink.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tropical Resort PhuketTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Guest RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - ReceptionTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/TerraceTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Line BuffetTropical Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Tropical Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3C07