Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 1008 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1008 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Jae C. from Canada
Families with young children
Stayed 6 nights in October 2013
nice budget hotel. close to beach and shopping
room design, distance to beach and shopping.
Good overall. Breakfast isn't fantastic but still okay. Staffs are kind and english speaking.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Albert A. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 7 nights in October 2013
We had a nice stay and the staff were nice.
The breakfast was great,Nice to mention the lift operated well,and again the staff were very helpful.
Our stay at the hotel was great will recommend to our friends and family for sure.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Eckardt N. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Superb Room in Great Location
the rooms, the location, the pool
We had a very nice stay at this hotel, the rooms were huge and very nicely appointed. The breakfast had a great selection, something for everybody. The location was very good, in walking distance to the beach, countless shopping,restaurants and bars. Also,to many tour operators, where you can book your excursions. The pool is unique and very big,some rooms even have direct pool access. We had a great time and would return.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

memet D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in October 2013
GREAT BREAKFAST, EASY EXCESS TO THE SHOPS.
breakfast, pool, shops.
it was fine, but the bed was too firm and the wifi was not too reliable. it rained none stop, of course the resort has nothing to do with that.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Leo O. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2013
Everything good except for the unreliable Internet
comfort, price and great food
Everything good except for the unreliable Internet
Reviewed October 09, 2013

Melanie M. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2013
Quick over night stop in clean and comfortable roo
Clean, Comfortable and Great Value
We had a quick overnight stop here, the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was above average, and the hotel was convenient to almost everything.
Reviewed October 09, 2013

ratthaphong W. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Great bathroom & Over-the-treetop seaview!
Value for Money, Comfortable Room, Friendly Front Desk and Tour Staff
I didn't expect the bathroom to be so large. Also, the bed was very comfortable and I think this is the best value-for-money hotel I've stayed in. All in all, I would recommend my friends to stay here if they're looking for arguably the best budget stay not far from the beach. The only down point is bedsheet/quilt weren't spotless with some dirt marks, but they smell clean... hmm... Strongly recommend Buffalo Steak House nearby! Thumbs up!
Reviewed September 27, 2013

chow Y. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
worthwhile stay with less to pay
comfy bed, nice balcony and room design
Nice & sweet. Even thou communication was bit difficult but was expected for it. Will highly recommend to friends and family.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nurhafiza H. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Great stay!
Large room, 7 minutes walk to the beach, close to dining and shopping
We didn't expect for a large room with the price we paid thus we were very surprised with the size and design of the room. It was love at first sight. The balcony was facing the pool and we could also see the beach. The area is pretty quiet and peaceful at night and we enjoyed relaxing at the balcony. There are many eating places and also shopping areas around around the hotel. Don't expect a full buffet spread for breakfast but it's definitely sufficient to fill the tummy first thing in the morning.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hai C. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Value for Money
Affordable pool-access rooms, good in-room lighting, 6 mins walk to beach
It's not a luxurious hotel and they don't pretend to be one. For the price we paid - about US$45 for a pool access room and US$30 for a standard room - it's hard to fault it, although there definitely are faults. The Hotel: The rooms are larger, newer and much better equipped than Kata Beach Resort that costs 3 times more. The room is divided almost equally between the bathroom and the bedroom. The bathroom is open concept. The bathtub is right in the middle of it. Great if you are a couple. Fret not. The shower room and the toilet have doors for privacy. Compared to the Kata Beach Resort that we just came from, the thought to planning the lighting at the The Tropical is really, really good. No harsh light. Nothing glaring that hurts the eyes and yet, it's bright enough to see and read in. The workmanship and the material of the construction isn't the best. There are many rough and 'broken' surfaces. Nothing to be concerned about as long as they function. The only complaint we have is the floor tiles on the pool-access rooms. They may be better quality than the standard rooms, but it's way too slippery when wet. Totally unsuitable to be used in pool-access rooms. The tiles in the standard rooms are more suited. Breakfast is really basic. Juts barely worth the few dollars extra to the room rate but that's it. Service: The front desk and housekeeping staff were friendly enough. The breakfast staff could be better and do with some smiles. We didn't need anything extra nor had issues to be solved, so I can't tell how good they will be when faced with them. Location: It's in the middle of the southern end of Kata beach. Conveniently next to tourists shops and eateries. Beach is about 5-8 mins walk away. Probably one of the nearest hotel to the beach, apart from Kata Beach Resort and Club Med
Reviewed September 23, 2013