Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 1010 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1010 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Alan R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 16 nights in July 2013
easy going restfull hotel with all the emenities
Great location smaller hotel close to local restaraunts
great smaller hotel good size room well proportioned bathroom, good storage for clothes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nuredin V. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
ALWAYS A GOOD PLACE TO STAY
Preis - Pool - Zimmer
Always a perfect place to stay came here often and its always totally fine :)
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Molly E. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
A great place to relax and unwind
This is a fantastic hotel that is only 2 years old and is much better then some 4 stars I've stayed in though it's classed as a 3 star.
Our stay at Tropical was blissful and relaxing. Aside from the comfortable rooms the best feature was the pool. Do yourself a favour and spend a little extra to get a pool access room. You literally can get into the pool from your balcony. We did not eat at the restaurant as there are so many other options around but it was full enough at breakfast time so must be decent.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Ketsirin S. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed one night in July 2013
nice bedroom , swimming pool and beautiful beach.
closed to the beach , wonderful swimming pool and nice room with comfortable bed and baht room.
very good i like the location of the hotel very much it's very closed to the beach just 5 mins by walk. but i not recommend about breakfast , not aroy, need to improve.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

William G. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Thai style room meets pool and ocean access.
Pool access room; soft bed; overhead rain shower.
Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe pool access room. Older thai style décor, but very comfortable. Staff is very friendly, some speak "ok" English some do not. Has a very large, fresh water, non-heated pool, of course your in Thailand so I suspect most pools are not heated. Room mattress was soft, but remember traditional thai people grew up sleeping on floors, so they sleep on hard mattresses and a lot of hotels offer that type of mattress, so be sure to ask the hotel for a soft mattress in advance. Room service starts early in the morning, so be sure to hang your "Do Not Disturb" sign the night before if you don't want to be disturbed from your sleep. Local bus system runs every 1/2 hour in front of the hotel on Kata Road and costs 20 baht one-way to the next beach over from Kata, like Karon or Patong beach. We rented a Hondamatic motor bike for the four days we visited and costs 250 baht per day 24 hour rental. Helmets provided. We rented the motor bides from the BluEco Hotel our previous hotel were we stayed. We always ate outside and did not purchase hotel meals. Many street food venders outside the hotel and 7-Eleven has warmed up food ready to eat; spaghetti, chicken, local pastries, etc... Beach is an easy 5 minute walk or 2 minutes by motorbike. Beach lounge chair rental is 100 baht per person or 200 per couple for two chairs. Rip currents are on all beaches, please beware of lifeguard flags as where to swim. Overhead rain shower in shower, wife loved the bath to soak and relax. LCD TV didn't have a lot of channels to choose from, maybe around 25 or so. They rely on satellite dish. There is a DVD player in room as well if you have a movie or two. Overall nice stay, easy access to everything. Pool was so nice to dip in after a being hot. I would stay again. Tip: Time-share scammers riding motorbikes along Kata and other city roads will stop you point blank on the road and say "Hi" I have a great prize for you, all you have to do is take these
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Jerry K. from United States
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in July 2013
Big room and great shower
Clean, great staff, great value in the off season. Breakfast was OK but coffee was terrible. Rooms are very large for the money.
Great stay and we would go back. Didn't have Internet in the room for our first 4 days. Staff said that's the way it is but then on our last day, the Tropical Internet showed up and was fine.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Neil P. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
pleasant enough, handy to shops / bars / beach
Clean room / room size / room staff
good clean hotel, near the beach and bars restaurants and short taxi ride to other areas
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Colin T. from Australia
Groups
Stayed one night in June 2013
Pleasant
The hotel being clean, friendly and providing the facilities offered in the Agoda website.
Over the past few weeks, with a couple of friends, we drove around parts of the southern and central Thailand. Working to a budget and primarily looking for short term accommodation the Tropical Resort, Kata, Phuket was more than adequate for the needs of a sight seeing in transit tourist. The hotel would also be recommend as holiday accommodation.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

caroline C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 9 nights in June 2013
nice hotel. pool was great ..close to shops
rooms size ..clean.. pool
the only thing i can say bad about tropical was the bed ...very hard indeed...the breakfast was basic but fine..
Reviewed July 13, 2013

diane S. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2013
Lovely room. good pool good value
pool, central location, all rooms pool view
Enjoyable stay. Relatively quiet hotel. Close to beach. Breakfast buffet not great but adequate all rooms pool view so opt for superior with breakfast which is the same room as pool view. Good restaurant for thai food at zouth end of beach under the large tree and attached to SKABAR.
Reviewed July 11, 2013